We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“borann, l'auberge des temples,siem reap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borann, l'Auberge des Temples

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
Ranked #94 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“borann, l'auberge des temples,siem reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I spent ages looking for somewhere really special to stay in Siem Reap, and we found it here. This is a lovely quiet spot with a pool. The rooms in timber 'Cambodian' chalets are set around trees planted by the proprietor. The rooms are simply decorated using traditional materials, with two huge beds side by side, with white linen and splashes of red and gold towels.
The service is excellent, with several languages spoken.
My husband really loved it, he said he felt so comfortable it did n't really feel like a hotel and we should always try and find somewhere like this!
The French proprietor has a policy where he encourages the employment of disadvantaged locals.
Currently, they do not take credit cards, but do take travellers cheques, there is also a safe in the room for any valuables. Dollars are available from local cash points.

Room Tip: all the rooms looked very similar to each other, we asked for one at first floor so we could look ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire sympathique. Nous sommes heureux de savoir que vous repartez du Cambdoge contents de notre hôtel, de ce pays magnifique et que vous garderez la gentillesse de notre équipe et leurs sourires dans votre mémoire de vacances.
Merci d'avoir choisi Borann et à bientôt.
Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    63
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
120
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is a gem in Siem Reap. The location is perfect and the setting is idilic. Like a jungle lodge with great rooms, restaurant area, and the pool is a delight. All VERY clean and great service from all staff as well.
The Cambodian shower option is fun (water from a huge pot) and the Western hot water shower is easy and faster than at home.
All in all a great experience and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Can:t speak to other areas but we were on the 2nd floor on the side. Not near the pool so no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPOrrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks a lot to have taken time for your nice comments about Borann.
Looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The 20-room contemporary hotel is a continuation of the owner's desire to create down-to-earth lodgings with an informal, free spirited approach. Designed as hubs with private terraces, they provide an open platform for visitors to gather and shape meaningful moments. The result is a hotel that feels like a friend's house, a comforting bohemian sanctuary, unaffected by the outside world.

The hotel exhibits minimalist, airy rooms scattered with local artifacts, in a natural colour palette and accents in red that complements the whitewashed exterior, itself synonymous with the Cambodian landscape.

The property also houses a cantina restaurant, an open-plan 30-seater that focuses on local, organic ingredients and dishes.

Borann offers a serene place to retreat after a day of temple hopping or the exertions of a night out at the Club - to which, naturally, each traveler is entitled to.

FT

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandoTravieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments. Indeed, it is a quiet place where you can relax after the temples. Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxaca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not only the garden is magnificent decorated with a refreshing pool, and the rooms build in a traditional fashion are beautiful with extra details as the Khmer Showers (my favorite!), and the services is helpful and friendly beyond their duty, but you are helping a good cause. The extensive connection of the Hotel with different NGO´s is amazing, for example is you want to have a massage they will contact you with “Seeing Hands” and organization that gives the blind a profession that will allowed them to be self-sufficient. And what to say about “Krousar Thmey”!!! If you get a chance go to visit their exhibition on the Tonle Sap,do it!! is just fantastic!! Really simple but a great example of what can be achieved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pochote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thanks for your nice comment. We really appreciate. Yes, we are connected! I built the hotel to get a living but most of my time is dedicaed free of charge for Krousar Thmey foundation that i created 21 years ago. If interested, you might have a look on the web as the one of the world of children award that i'll receive on October 25th. It will honor our work in Cambodia especailly regarding blind and deaf schools. you may look also into healing cambodia web site.

For your information, the blind masseurs are not coming from Seing hands, but from Krousar Thmey and all the money you have paid for the massage is for them entirely.
Originally, Seing hands did want to train them but they would have had to stay 10 years as employees there. That's why Krousar thmey has helped blind people to be trained for massage but to remain independant. The techniques are different too...as Krousar Thmey masseur do provide relaxing massage, not traditional khmer which may be hard sometimes.

Thank you again for your nice comments and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Benoît DUCHATEAU-ARMINJON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel Borann offers an intimate experience, nicely tucked away, yet close to the canal and city centre.
With an attentive staff who will ensure that your needs are met. The Hotel provides a serene sanctuary to rest and refresh between the visits to explore the magnificent Ankor Wat National Park which is located a 15 minute tuk tuk ride away. Siem Reap offers the charm of the traditional with a contemporary twist and is a much more personal experience than the capitol Phnom Penh.
Freshly made brioche, criossants, jams and juices greeted us each morning. and the pool provided respite from the heat.
Having stayed twice with Hotel Borann in the past two years, I found a destination that delivers an authentic and enjoyable experience and an opportunity to connect with the Khmer cullutre and people.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slipprysirkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks a lot for your review. It is always very pleasant for the team to make their best for the guest to enjoy their stay and to see it works.
We hope to see you again. Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We loved staying at the Borann and, as a family, voted it as our overall holiday favourite. The staff were warm and friendly and so helpful. (The receptionist Bunna even took all our postcards to the post office for us on the day we were leaving as we had run out of time to do this.) They offered great advice on how to spend our 3 days exploring the Angkor Wat area. Our tuk tuk driver Pad who was employed by the Borann was great, a gentle man who drove our noisy family around wherever we wanted to go with good humour and grace. Spending time in his tuk tuk, waving at the many families we passed, was one of our children's favourite activities.

The setting was beautiful, nestled in a lush and tropical garden on the outskirts of Siem Reap. The lovely saltwater pool was particularly welcome after a long hot day visiting the temples. We loved the fact it was chlorine free and we could swim with our eyes open under water without goggles. The children particularly enjoyed jumping in during a heavy monsoon rain shower!

The rooms were very clean and comfortable and we loved the simple, graceful design in fresh white and reds with traditional Khmer leather carvings on the wall. (You could buy these from Little Angels, a great initiative for disadvantaged children in Bakong District, NE of Preah Ko temple). Also, we quickly became converts to the Khmer showers, a big ceramic pot filled with cool water with a bowl to dip in to douse yourself (there was also an electric shower option if you preferred).

The Borann is linked to a humanitarian organisation called Khrousar Thmey. In Siem Reap they have a centre that provides a home for disadvantaged children. They also provide training, such as massage training for blind young people. You could book to have a massage from these blind massuers through the Borann and they came to your room. My husband and I both had a massage and they were fantastic. It was good to feel that in staying at the Borann and also supporting this massage initiative that at least some of our tourist dollars were going to worthwhile causes. We were so impressed by the friendliness and positivity of the Cambodian people that we met, and also by the range of initiatives around that aimed to help the countries most disadvantaged. The Khrousar Thmey centre in Siem Reap is open to visitors, and hosts a free exhibition on Khmer cultural heritage. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit, but would love to next time!

The food at the Borann was also top notch. Fabulous breakfasts (included in the price) of delicious fruits and croissants to rival the french, as well as eggs and bacon if you fancied the full monty. We had a delicious fish Amok (a traditional spiced fish dish cooked in coconut milk) in the evening too. Another treat was an early evening gin fizz sitting by the pool surrounded by the soft hum of the garden's resident crickets and gheckos, watching the children playing in the water.

And as for the temples... epic, awe inspiring and beautiful. Three days just wasn't enough and we would love to go back one day. And if we do we will definitely choose to stay in the Borann again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for you long comment which helps guest to make a difference and have some ideas about us and around us.
We do care about our guest, wishing them to return having a great image of Cambodia. For the past, Cambodia had such a bad image that it needs a lot of effort, including humanitarian and ethic businesses to help it.
I think you'll be glad to learn that my work within Krousar Thmey will be awarded in New York soon. You can check it on World of Children Award.

Thanks and see you again. Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Borann L'Auberge des Temples in August 2012 and very satisfied by the warm welcome of the staff and the excellent advice on the visit of the temples.

Our room was large and very clean, its decoration subtle and authentic. So was the bathroom (which offered the choice between a standard and a khmer shower - so nicely refreshing!)
The beautiful tropical garden is very well taken care of and the swimming pool is a true reward after a long day walking in the temples.

The hotel is set a little bit off the beaten tracks, which is a guarantee for quietness and rest. The center of Siem Reap can be reached in a 5-min tul-tuk drive or after a 15-min walk.

Last but not least, we really liked the social awareness of the management and their will to help deprived people by e.g. arranging massages by blind women or teaching children.

Room Tip: You may prefer a room on the second floor of the two-storey bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks a lot for your nice review.
Yes, indeed, as i am involved in humanitarian activity for the past 21 years, i am trying to raise awareness of guest about problems in Cambodia.
Borann was set up for me to earn a living and not to depend on Krousar Thmey which i create 21 years ago but to continue supporting it paying for my own expenses.
Thanks to have chosen Borann and we hope welcoming you again soon.
Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
0.2 mi away
Heart of Angkor Guesthouse
Heart of Angkor Guesthouse
#270 of 339 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#33 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borann, l'Auberge des Temples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borann, l'Auberge des Temples

Property: Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
Address: Wat Bo Street | Just a 300 meters from the Royal Pavillon, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borann, l'Auberge des Temples 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Siem Reap, Borann l'Auberge des Temples, has 20 large rooms set up in a lush garden. The swimming pool will welcome you after your visits to the temples. The team of Cambodian Staff, would make their best for you to enjoy your stay with us and to love Cambodia as much as we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Borann, l'Auberge des Temples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borann Auberge Des Temples Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing