We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amansara
Ranked #95 of 345 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Amansara is in another league to most luxury hotels. The hotel is set in a former royal guest residence built in the 1960s, and retains all the style of the era on the exterior while bringing the interiors bang up to date. This is a very small hotel with a high ratio of staff to guests. My family stayed in two neighbouring suites each with private pools. The decor is comfortable and very stylish, and the food is great, served in the curved main hall. You can choose from the local menu or a European menu. And you can eat at whatever time suits you. We would often leave early to hit the temples before the heat of the day, then return to have breakfast at 10 am, and this was no problem for the staff - in fact they sent pastries and coffee to our rooms at 5 am to fuel us for the morning's explorations. In fact the service all around is tops. There are many activities from the hotel menu you can take advantage of - cooking courses, temple tours, complimentary spa treatments . . . Do watch out for mozzies though - the hotel supplies an effective and nice smelling bottle of moz repellant in the rooms. Also, I got traveller's tummy and this may have been from ice or brushing my teeth with the many times filtered water of the resort - I did not eat or drink anything off the resort. So do be careful, even at 5 star resorts. Best to stick to bottled drinks and say no to ice. I am sorry to mention this because this is one superb hotel experience, but better safe than miss a day of an excellent holiday. The whole place has a wonderful atmosphere - this is not a cheap option but such a treat if you feel like lashing out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beauchamptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    24
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
183
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stay here! The whole experience was fantastic. The vintage Mercedes from the airport, the service, the food, the guide.

The hotel is a little oasis of calm in Siem Riep, the former King's guest villa. The rooms are spacious and there is a great 25m lap pool tucked round the back. The restaurant serves as a kind of lounge as well with tea, cakes, a bar. The Khmer food option each night was delicious and I'm surprised more people weren't trying it. The museum is opposite and well worth a visit, allow at least 2 hours.

5/5 for value because everything is paid for (except tips for guide and drivers), there is a staff tip built into the rate which I think is a great idea, you don't need lunch because two breakfasts are provided! The day started early with a wake up call followed by a tray of fruit/pastries/tea and then second breakfast followed the morning visit. Bikes are provided to explore locally (but the traffic doesn't seem to have normal rules!) If nothing else then the guide justifies the price, several times we asked why the other 5000 guides weren't at our temple and I'm still not sure of the arrangement but the guide says "that's what you're paying for"! I don't want to ruin it but we were frequently the only people around, entering from back entrances, the jungle and one memorable morning as the three of us walked round one of the better known temples in the dark, in isolation.

If anyone from Aman resorts reads this, thanks to the excellent GM Siddharth Mehra and all the staff, we'd definitely stay at another Aman hotel.

As a tip, the dollar is the functioning currency and have a few dollar bills in your pockets.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

As the 3rd hotel of our trip around the world we stayed at Amansara for 4 nights. We are very very spoiled but this hotel was just wonderful in everyway. They offer you a very unique experience in the most beautiful and exclusive setting. It is different in every way. An example for many hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCvandeRiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

An exceptional hotel. Flawless service, lovely staff, good guides and gorgeous rooms. And so relaxing. A hotel that can create an experience in which a two year old and a six year old positively enjoyed visiting at least to a dozen temples in three days is a quality outfit. So professional and so seemingly effortlessly done - and so flexible too. A home from home feeling too (if only my home was so gorgeous though!) Worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We just got back from a 3 nights stay at the Amansara. It was our first Aman experience and it was love at first sight! The hotel's staff is incredibly attentive. We loved the personalized touches. Their excursions to the temples are well planned. They know when to take you in order to avoid the crowds. The hotel had created many 'magical moments' for us through their personal touches at the excursions (For example afternoon tea at one of the temples). The food was exquisite. Every single meal! The Spa was also exceptional . The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We felt we were guests at someone's home. They know how to pamper their guests. We absolutely loved it and highly recommend it. A wonderful and memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2010

The point of going to Siem Reap is to see Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples. You could ask for no better service with everything thought through by Amansara so you see and experience this magical location at its best. The guides and transport were outstanding, the itineraries well thought through, and the little touches of cold towels and drinks were timed to perfection just as you were about to wilt. The guides even told you the best spots for photos in temple after temple. Extraordinary.

Amansara has wonderful suites - as you would expect from an Aman. But it is a small space and lacked the warmth of other Aman's in cultural centres such as Amandari. The food was fine. The spa was excellent. But the hotel is a little clinical and the service from the GM on down was a tad mechanical. The pool is small and any child's slightest noise was heard reverberating around the resort. Does it matter - not really, as you spend the most time away from the hotel.

No better place to stay to see Angkor, but

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCubano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This hotel is wonderful - it is a fascinating 1960s design which was King Sihanook's Summer palace. Nothing is too much trouble here for the brilliant GM, hios assitant and the staff. Siddharth (GM) and Budi (assistant) were so good that they would seemingly read our minds. When we were a bit disappointed withy our guide for the beautiful cambodian temples on our first day, they sensed it, and immediately replaced him with the owner of the tour guide company, who knew everything about Cambodia, its temples and its history, and was an absolutely delightful man. The food is delicious, and if you wnat it to, the hotel will provide you with an intinteray of sights to see for every day of your stay, which runs like clockwork. We absolutely loved this hotel, which is the only place to stay in cambodia. More expensive than other hotels, but absolutely everyting is included in the price, from food, travel and mini bar, so it works out to be a very competitive price. But even if this cost twice the price, I would go.We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JolPards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 345 in Siem Reap
676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 345 in Siem Reap
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
0.3 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#47 of 345 in Siem Reap
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing