We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Trip.com
Vio.com
$1,450
Breakfast included
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
mjsmith0420
Windermere, Florida
A bit underwhelmed
Review of Amansara
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 16, 2019via mobile
We stayed for 2 nights and it was our first experience with an Aman. I decided to spend the extra money as we were wanting to enjoy Angkor Wat and Siem Reap beyond just a nice hotel. The excursions we took were very nice. But the resort had very little to offer......especially for the money. No gym. Very limited spa menu. Limited dining options. I wonder if it was just our experience but can’t say I’ll spend the money for an Aman again if this is all you get for such a huge cost.
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$52
  • Expedia.com
    $74
  • Vio.com
    $38
  • Hotels.com
    $74
0.9 miles from Amansara
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$52
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $69
  • Agoda.com
    $45
  • Hotels.com
    $57
0.9 miles from Amansara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$110
  • Priceline
    $179
  • Agoda.com
    $93
  • Vio.com
    $96
0.7 miles from Amansara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$92
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $83
  • Agoda.com
    $66
  • Hotels.com
    $84
0.9 miles from Amansara
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$66
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $60
  • Agoda.com
    $49
  • Expedia.com
    $60
1.1 miles from Amansara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$72
  • Expedia.com
    $70
  • Agoda.com
    $59
  • Hotels.com
    $70
0.9 miles from Amansara
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$29
  • Vio.com
    $24
  • Agoda.com
    $24
  • Expedia.com
    $37
0.4 miles from Amansara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$82
$71
  • Expedia.com
    $78
  • Hotels.com
    $79
  • Trip.com
    $72
0.5 miles from Amansara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$23
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $28
  • Agoda.com
    $20
  • Expedia.com
    $23
1.5 miles from Amansara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$32
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $53
  • Agoda.com
    $23
  • Expedia.com
    $36
0.8 miles from Amansara
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Siem Reap
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveler rating
402
27
9
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
402
27
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool suite the general manager main pool spa treatments siem reap airport the entire staff cold towels tour guide itinerary khmer cambodia properties
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 445 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

Typing this review at the end of our stay in Siem Reap Cambodia.

Imagine sitting poolside on a beautiful morning listening to some wonderfully soulful Cambodian music coming from the park across the street while eating a delicious bowl of num bahn chok! Heaven! I’m here right now...

Once again our stay at an Aman Hotel exceeds our expectations. My wife and I travel extensively on our journey to 100 countries together...with Cambodia being number 75 on our 30th anniversary. We always stay at luxury hotels...typically small and intimate. I can honestly say that the seven Aman Properties we have stayed at all rank in our top 10 hotels.

And Amansara now joins that list!

The Amansara property location is ideal for visits to Angkor Wat and other archeological sites in the area. This property is far better than any of the other hotels in the city. The property is very quiet offering very large soundproof private rooms and public areas in the heart of a very fun and busy city.

The guided service to Angkor Wat is well worth the price. Our fantastic guide for four days spoke and understood English well. And just as importantly his expertise, training, enthusiasm and honesty for his country’s history is contagious.

Transportation is truly unique. Picked up at the airport and efficiently ushered through immigration and customs only to have a vintage 1931 Mercedes limousine that once belonged to the king drive us to the hotel was a nice start. We have subsequently been given transport in a classic military jeep, a “tuk tuk”, and a brand new air conditioned luxury SUV for our longer excursions. All professionally and courteously driven.

Food? Always great and served in your choice of a wonderful restaurant, outside by the pool, or in a picnic basket for trips to the archeological sites. Both typical western fare and traditional Khmer fare are offered, vary day-to-day, and never failed to please. And the wonderfully customized 30th anniversary desert was really as they say “icing on the cake”.

But the biggest differentiator of Aman hotels to me has always been the “staff”. I hate to use the words “staff” and “service” when describing Aman hotels. From the moment we were greeted at the Siem Reap airport we were referred to as “bong Eric” and “bong Kimberly”...an affectionate Khmer term meaning brother and also generally applied to a woman meaning sister. You truly feel as if you are part of a large family. And in these days of employee exploitation it is wonderful to see the full Aman staff being treated with love and respect as full peers in a close family. Everybody from security to the general manager at Amansara great you and themselves with happiness and care that again is truly contagious. Guests become more interactive with each other as your Aman family grows. We have met many people at Aman properties over the years that we continue to interact with after we left and have found even more friends during this stay at Amansara.

Aman...thank you for sharing your Siem Reap property and family. It truly made our stay in Cambodia something we will always cherish!

Eric and Kimberly Melvin

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank ericmelvin1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

Our family fell in love with Cambodia and our new home away from home...Amansara. The staff went above and beyond during our stay and actual months beyond our departure. During our stay, I purchased some pottery outside of Angkor Watt and the hotel had help to coordinate the shipping home(to Hawaii) for us. When we returned from the trip, we discovered our pottery had arrived but was totally destroyed. After alerting the hotel of what happened, they jumped in to resolve the problem. Astrid their amazing GM and her team contacted DHS, managed the shipping damage claim for us and once processed their team re-purchased the pottery for us and DHS shipped (correctly this time) the whole order again to Hawaii...from Cambodia! WOW! Months later I am still blown away by that level
of service. Each time we enjoy a cup of tea or meal in the beautiful pottery I am reminded of Amansara. Thank you Astrid & team!

While we were staying at the property our experience was perfection as well. We were traveling with our two young children, an although it was a luxury property not designed for families, they went out of their way to accommodate us. I felt as though we were staying at the private residence of a high government official - we felt secure, private and the level of service was impeccable. We also highly recommend booking tours and activities through Amansara - our temple tour guide was fabulous...and knew all the tricks for avoiding the crowds. He even coordinated special mountain bikes with seats for the children so we could bike to the temples and the jungle....wonderful family adventures and memories! We will return again soon I am sure of it. Thank you Amansara!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank noelshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 6, 2019

I did not know what to expect about Siem Reap or the Amansara- it was part of our first trip to Asia and it was a last minute add-on. Amansara was incredible in every way. The place is beautiful- every detail is thought out. The decor is so calming and something you would want to live in.

From the minute they pick you up at the airport until they are all waving good-bye when you leave, the service is the star. They think of everything. I have never had things thought of before I even knew I needed them. Pillows in the car for napping when you get in after lunch, so many cold towels waiting, your remork and driver waiting to drive you to and from dinners out, constant but unobtrusive and impeccable service at every turn-- and they are all so happy and friendly and genuinely kind. We were in temples hours before the public, we had access to places no one else has.... it was just remarkable.

We loved it so much that we came home and started booking trips where there are Aman Hotels. Highly, highly recommend.

Room tip: We got a room with a pool and it was wonderful after a day at the temples.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 27, 2019

It is true that Aman is very expensive. But they really offer a different service and keep finding new ideas to be different from other places.
The experience starts at the airport where they come to take you at the gate and through the police ans customs formalities, to be sure you do not lose time. Then they drive you to the hotel with those fancy old Mercedes.
Visiting Siem Reap is of course about Angkor. At Aman you can be sure you will get the best advices about how to visit, at what time, what temples, through which access, with what vehicle, in which order, so that you get the best visit. You could even be alone in some places (a sort of a miracle in Angkor). Some excursions are exclusive for Aman such as the sunset boat trip on the new reservoir to reach the water temple.
We were traveling as a family, including young kids. Aman was very helpful with the children, so was our guide during the visits, really taking care of them so that they do not get bored.
Rooms are huge and comfortable, although not luxurious (especially the cupboards), the restaurant serves very good food, Cambodian or international and this must be mentioned since it is certainly not easy to find high quality products in Siem Reap.

Room tip: No need to choose a swimming pool suite if you travel in winter
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KUSNACHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 3, 2019

The 1962 Mercedes sedan approaches the entrance to Amansara; you are met by your Amansara family who greets you with the phrase,Chum Reap Suo. Welcome home. Thany escorts you to your room and presents you with a custom, proposed itinerary of tours which you are invited to modify to your tastes. We stayed in a pool suite which was beautifully appointed in a French 1960s style. Romain hosts the dining room where there are Khmer and Western cuisine choices; the food is delicious and well-prepared. The warmth and friendliness of the Cambodian staff shines through; any request is met with a smile, and each staff member persists until he or she recognizes that you are satisfied.
Astrid, the general manager, runs a tight ship with attention-to-detail that extends throughout the manicured property and into the finely-curated boutique. The highlights of our stay were our daily tours with Bunthan to the Angkor Archaeological Park. Bunthan, recognizing my love of delicate sculpture, suggested we visit Banteay Srei, a temple of pink sandstone. Thank you, Bunthan, for your observant nature that brought me great happiness! The Amansara guides incorporate the research of Roland Fletcher, an instigator of the Greater Angkor Project, into their descriptions, so you are presented with the latest theories. Indeed, we were fortunate to meet Professor Fletcher and speak with him about his work. We also enjoyed our breakfast at the Khmer Village House and our sunset cruise on Tonle Sap. One question: how do you engineer a bathtub full of lotus blossoms at the perfect temperature when we return from our morning tour? The secrets of perfection...

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patriciamS2462UF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews