We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Trip.com
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveler rating
401
27
9
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
401
27
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool suite the general manager main pool spa treatments siem reap airport the entire staff cold towels tour guide itinerary khmer cambodia properties
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 444 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2018

We visited southeast Asia in September. This itinerary used Hong Kong as the gateway city with a series of one-way flights from Hong Kong to Hanoi to Luang Prabang to Siem Reap and then back to Hong Kong. Siem Reap is a challenging destination to take in over a short stay, but we felt the below itinerary captured the best sights.

Day 1: Srah Srang Dinner
Our flight to Siem Reap departed at 2 p.m. and arrived at 4 p.m. Amansara picked us up at the airport in a vintage Mercedes limousine. That evening, we had the special private dinner (additional cost) at a traditional (rustic) house owned by Aman – Srah Srang. Musicians entertained us while we sampled many local delicacies overlooking the house’s garden. This is an authentic house is in a village, though, and the neighbors were playing loud music that somewhat detracted from the otherwise pleasant ambiance. The food at both Srah Srang and the main dining room was excellent.

Day 2 Morning: Angkor Wat, Ta Prohm, and Killing Fields (morning) Angkor Thom, and Bayon
The primary reason millions of people journey to Cambodia is to see the amazing ruins of Angkor Wat. We departed the hotel for Angkor Wat at 5 a.m. in an Aman remork. This is an open-air carriage pulled by a motorcycle. Our Aman guide took us to the back side of Angkor Wat, where we had the whole ruin to ourselves at sunrise. It was worth the early start! As soon as the doors opened to the temple proper, we were among the first to enter. Once inside, he guided us to quiet corners before they were overrun with tour groups.

The scale of the overall Siem Reap complex of ruins was much larger than we anticipated. Angkor Wat is huge, but it is only one of several adjacent ancient cities, any one of which would itself qualify as a World Heritage Site. When the tour buses descended on Angkor Wat, our Aman guide moved on to Ta Prohm, which many will recognize from it being used as a set for movies such as Tomb Raider. Giant trees and their roots interlace the ruins of Ta Prohm, creating great photo opportunities.

On the way back to the hotel, our guide—a survivor of Cambodia’s killing fields—took us to the site of his family’s murder and told us his heartbreaking story.

Day 2 Afternoon: Angkor Thom and Bayon
We returned back to the hotel for a late lunch before journeying back to the archaeological complex for an afternoon visit to Angkor Thom and Bayon. We hiked along the walls of Angkor Thom and had one of its imposing gates entirely to ourselves. Then we climbed through the main temple in the low light of sunset. This is the temple of many faces, and the late light was perfect for viewing them. On the way back to the Amansara, we stopped at two smaller and older temples to learn about the evolution of temple architecture.

Day 3 Morning: Banteay Srei
For our morning excursion, we headed to one of the more remote sites, Banteay Srei. It was much smaller than the others, but made of intricately carved sandstone. We also stopped off for a tour of a silk worm farm and factory, which we would recommend avoiding.

Day 3 Afternoon: Tonle Sap Lake Cruise
From there we headed to the Tonle Sap lake, which is a basin flooded by the Mekong River. During the flooded period, the size of the lake increases six-fold. Amansara has its own boat on the lake, which we chartered for a private tour (additional charge). The first stop was a flooded forest. We hopped in a small boat with a woman who paddled us through the canopy. Our guide explained that the canopy had once been full of monkeys but they were hunted to extinction by a nearby restaurant that specialized in serving monkeys to Chinese tourists. The Amansara’s boat then sailed across the lake for an hour to a floating village, where fisherman lived. It was a scenic place, and worth the trip and additional expense.

Day 4: Flight to Hong Kong
The next morning, Amansara took us to the airport in their vintage Mercedes limo, and we flew back to Hong Kong, arriving at 2 p.m.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank strangest_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Incredible place, staff, services, meal. We felt like a part of the royal family. This place used to be a holiday house of royalties. Every morning we got a small gift, breakfast from fresh fruit and european style too and every meal was amazing little piece of art, also visiting of original Khmer House and their cuisine was delicious. We had an amazing tour with tuk-tuk or cross-rover car with Khmer guide. Unforgetable stay. Their SPA was the best I ve ever had. And when we were leaving all staff was standing there and waving until we got away from their view. They even apologize that it is raining once! Really just WOW!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ludka_Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

This is a distinctive property. The former guest residence of the royal family, the hotel is now configured so that you feel as though you are still special guests. From the moment we were met at the airport until the staff all gathered to wave us goodbye, everything was perfect.

The rooms are lovely -- bright, spacious, and tranquil. We enjoyed the grounds and pool while resting in between sightseeing visits and activities. We had some early wake-up calls to beat the heat and crowds. Regardless of the time -- breakfast and hot coffee were always delivered to our room.

The hotel recognizes the importance of seeing the Angkor sights, so they arranged for a guide for us during our stay. Dani was exceptional -- possessing an encyclopedic knowledge of history, architecture, and natural sciences. He was good humored about our shifting priorities, and did everything with us, from guided hikes to a boat ride to a bike ride through the jungle. Moreover, he had the wisdom to allow us periods of silence (trust me -- too few guides know when to let you just absorb your environment). He was outstanding.

Many of the guided activities are included in the hotel rate. We were shepherded throughout the intricate wats and cities, always with our guide, a driver, and chilled towels and water. We opted for the boat ride through the floating village to the lake -- an exceptional experience and well worth the additional cost. For a nominal fee, we took bikes on a ride through a village, farms, and eventually through the jungle to a deserted wat. Really special experience.

The staff and kitchen are all outstanding. Our stay was managed by Vibol, who went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Astrid, the hotel manager, is warm and gracious. She makes the work of running everything so smoothly look absolutely effortless.

I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Siem Reap.

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank MLP0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

Lovely property but to be charged USD 50 per person for a below average quality lunch has definitely put a big dent into my holiday mood. Food was sent back but the lovely staff did not care whether we liked the food or not. The GM was very friendly and we chatted with her. Never a question as to whether we liked the food, i know she was very busy with tour operators. As a foodie and Aman junkie, I don't have an issue paying for good quality food, but unfortunately this was substandard. Being in a holiday mood, I didn't even check the bill - I just paid. It only dawned on me later that i had been ripped off. USD 242 including service and tax plus USD 17 for a 1 litre pet bottle of water. Wow! I love the Aman Hotels and stay their often, but this put a dent into my respect for the group....

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank ICL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AstridCamille, General Manager at Amansara, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear Ivan L,

Chum reap sou from Amansara. Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear you found the Amansara property and staff to be lovely and it was a true pleasure to converse with you.

I am sorry to hear that you and your party were unhappy with your lunch. I would like to discuss your concerns with you and would be grateful if you could provide me an email address where I could contact you to better understand the shortcomings and rectify immediately.

Together with the Amansara family, I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Siem Reap in the future.

With kind regards,

Astrid Killian
General Manager, Amansara
akillian@aman.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

I can’t begin to explain how much we enjoyed every moment of our stay at this hotel. The rooms were beautiful, mid century modern with a private patio and pool. A truly unique and sexy experience. The service was impeccable. We can’t wait to return.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
11  Thank Dsharkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews