We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Amazing”
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amansara
Ranked #95 of 345 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty Amazing”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our trip through Cambodia, and this place is pretty amazing.

First we were greeted by an imigration officer the led us through the lines to get us through as fast as possible, while everyone else wated in line. We were then picked up in an old school benz which was pretty sweet.

The welcoming of amansara was great, food was really nice, and the management was top notch. They took care of us in first class style.

The rooms were also very nice, and modern, which we love.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    24
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
183
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Upon arrival, someone greeted us at the airport and assisted us with immigration. The airport transfer to Amansara in a vintage Benz is a nice touch. The view of the surroundings from the car made us feel like we are in a different era. So surreal.

Location -The entrance of Amansara is very subtle. It is not far from the airport and close to the main strip (Pub Street). You would think it is just a residence in a gated community. It is nice to know many famous people have stayed here.

Dining - The meals were wonderful. The lady singing for us while we dine in the evening had a very enchanting voice. We even bought her CD. If you look closely, you'd admire her even more. She can't see but her voice can lift mountains. The food is a cross between Vietnamese and Thai. Not as spicy. We came home wanting more Khmer food. The Village house breakfast was a nice experience, too. We also tried Khmer BBQ. Sally recommended a good restaurant to us. It was so good! The breads,cakes and pastries are so yummy!

Spa - The massage therapists know what they are doing. We enjoyed the services we had. Highly recommend their spa treatments.

Room - The room is lavish, clean and smelled good all the time. We wanted the Suite but it wasn't available so we had to spend more for the Pool Suite. It was a blessing! The pool suite felt very private and the view of the pool from the bedroom is so relaxing. It was worth the splurge.

Tours - We pre-booked our tours with the reservations agent. When we arrived, we saw our revised itinerary in a small binder/diary. Everything is very personalized and the details will make you feel very special. We would do early morning and afternoon tours. They prepared a quick breakfast for you in the morning and you return to the resort after the tour for your real breakfast. We were only there a few days. They rearranged our itinerary so we can get the most of our stay. The visit to the Temples and shrines were so captivating and inspiring. We visited Angkor Thom, Bayon, Citadel of the Women, Ancient Angkor and Temples in the Jungle. One of the best places we've seen. Our tour guide was very patient and spoke good english. We traveled with our son and he totally enjoyed it. We were all in awe. They have bikes at the resort for you to use, or the private Tuk Tuk are also available for you anytime.

Staff - Sally (GM), Audrey, Thany, Thum and Tiu to name a few were always there for us. They allowed us to check out later and avail of the spa before we head out for our late evening flight. Saying goodbye was hard. We felt like we were leaving our family. While in the car leaving the resort, we turned to see the staff waving at us. I would come back the next time we return to Siem Reap. P.S. If you're lucky, you'll meet Lily. I hope I got her name right. She was delightful to see. She seemed to be making sure that you happy there.

Thank you, Amansara, you made us very happy.

Room Tip: Choose the Pool Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MimitheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

And I’m saying this in a very positive way.
For once, the location of this particular Aman is not out in the sticks as they usually try to surprise you, or they are maximizing real estate value by employing the magic force of their name (never could tell, really!)
On the contrary, it’s right there with the old big boys, across the street from the formerly colonial glory days place (now a Raffles) which has definitely seen better days and the royal palace.
Clean, correct and Amanish to the bone, this zen oasis is the perfect addition to what it’s an incredible experience one will have visiting the temples at Angkor Wat.
Services are without reproach, the restaurant it’s ok but not exceptional (correct comes to mind again) and the rooms are large, lavish, extremely comfortable and well appointed. Although, as any Aman that respects itself, there is no TV, one may have one in 15 minutes if one (like me!) cannot live without one.
The management is always there, mingling with guests and tend graciously to one’s every need and the staff is extremely well trained. I would say without exaggerating that it may well be the best choice in Angkor Wat although one has to cross the street trying one’s best not to be run over by speeding scooters if one cares to use a gym, as one has to go to Raffles. Amansara doesn’t have a gym. No biggie, but I thought id mention this aspect just in case.
All in all, a very rewarding experience.

Room Tip: to me it didnt seem to pay choosing a private swimming pool room. youll be out visiting the temples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes-Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Amansara Siem Reap for the weekend to break up a work trip in Singapore. The experience at the Amansara Siem Reap has been incredible!! We took a tour of the Angkor temples with a guide arranged by the resort. The tour started very early to beat the heat and crowds. We started the day with a light breakfast and coffee and the guide was waiting for us at the appointed time. The Amansara staff introduced us to the guide and explained that we would see some of the temples in the morning. Come back to the hotel for breakfast, relax, miss the midday heat and see more of Angkor in the late afternoon. Our guide was very knowledgable, friendly and spoke English (our language).
The temples and grounds of Angkor should be seen, as a written review cannot describe the history, architecture and impression the vast size of the complex leaves on you.
Be prepared to walk a lot and climb many steps. We wore lightweight clothes and sturdy shoes.
Regarding the Amansara Siem Reap.
- The service is AMAZING!! Everyone is very friendly and wants you to have a pleasant experience! My wife and I are fortunate to stay at some really phenomenal places and the Amansara Siem Reap is at the top of the list!
- Rooms: We stayed in a pool suite with a private plunge pool. The furnishings are very nice, there is a soaking tub (filled and waiting upon your arrival from the tour) with flowers floating in the water, a minibar is stocked more than once a day, turn down service with candles in the
room.
- Dining room: Beautifully furnished, service again incredible and the quality of the meal what you find at a five star restaurant in San Francisco!
- Location: Amansara Siem Reap is in the heart of everything and a short ride to the Angkor temples.
I'm sure I've forgotten something...a HUGE thank you to the staff for making our stay a memorable one!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at Amansara while touring Angkor Wat and it was one of the finest hotel experiences --from accommodations to dining to service --that I've ever experienced. The customer service is excellent and no detail is overlooked. Sally, the general manager, is personable and responsive and has trained her lovely staff to do an expert job! The food was absolutely delicious and believe it or not, the most memorable from my entire trip throughout Southeast Asia! The rooms are new, comfortable, quiet… and let's say "luxuriously rustic" to fit your surroundings in Cambodia (i.e: open cement showers, sinks in the bedroom, low beds). We didn't have a view of anything, but we were so happy and pampered by the Amansara staff, I don't think we even noticed --or cared! It is expensive, but worth every penny!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megansleight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our stay at Amansara was a perfect oasis. We were welcomed into the Amansara family by each and every staff member. Each encounter was special. The Cambodian people are a very special culture. I cannot say enough about the food (perfect) Chef Molly's cooking was amazing. The spa manager V-Jay has a very special touch in everything she does. Sally and Audrey 2 very special women making all of our dreams come true. We look forward to returning to this very special resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in a pool "suite", it really was a wonderful place to come back to after our various sightseeing trips around the area. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, and the food was excellent too - good choice available from local dishes to more Western style available (if you wanted some comfort food!).
The whole place is geared to provide peace and calm for their guests, and it works very well. We would definitely want to stay here again if we return to the area.

Room Tip: for a relatively small extra cost, the pool suites offer more seclusion and privacy (if that's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsw_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 345 in Siem Reap
676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 345 in Siem Reap
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
0.3 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#47 of 345 in Siem Reap
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing