We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Aman”
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amansara
Ranked #85 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Classic Aman”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

And I’m saying this in a very positive way.
For once, the location of this particular Aman is not out in the sticks as they usually try to surprise you, or they are maximizing real estate value by employing the magic force of their name (never could tell, really!)
On the contrary, it’s right there with the old big boys, across the street from the formerly colonial glory days place (now a Raffles) which has definitely seen better days and the royal palace.
Clean, correct and Amanish to the bone, this zen oasis is the perfect addition to what it’s an incredible experience one will have visiting the temples at Angkor Wat.
Services are without reproach, the restaurant it’s ok but not exceptional (correct comes to mind again) and the rooms are large, lavish, extremely comfortable and well appointed. Although, as any Aman that respects itself, there is no TV, one may have one in 15 minutes if one (like me!) cannot live without one.
The management is always there, mingling with guests and tend graciously to one’s every need and the staff is extremely well trained. I would say without exaggerating that it may well be the best choice in Angkor Wat although one has to cross the street trying one’s best not to be run over by speeding scooters if one cares to use a gym, as one has to go to Raffles. Amansara doesn’t have a gym. No biggie, but I thought id mention this aspect just in case.
All in all, a very rewarding experience.

Room Tip: to me it didnt seem to pay choosing a private swimming pool room. youll be out visiting the temples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes-Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    24
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
183
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Amansara Siem Reap for the weekend to break up a work trip in Singapore. The experience at the Amansara Siem Reap has been incredible!! We took a tour of the Angkor temples with a guide arranged by the resort. The tour started very early to beat the heat and crowds. We started the day with a light breakfast and coffee and the guide was waiting for us at the appointed time. The Amansara staff introduced us to the guide and explained that we would see some of the temples in the morning. Come back to the hotel for breakfast, relax, miss the midday heat and see more of Angkor in the late afternoon. Our guide was very knowledgable, friendly and spoke English (our language).
The temples and grounds of Angkor should be seen, as a written review cannot describe the history, architecture and impression the vast size of the complex leaves on you.
Be prepared to walk a lot and climb many steps. We wore lightweight clothes and sturdy shoes.
Regarding the Amansara Siem Reap.
- The service is AMAZING!! Everyone is very friendly and wants you to have a pleasant experience! My wife and I are fortunate to stay at some really phenomenal places and the Amansara Siem Reap is at the top of the list!
- Rooms: We stayed in a pool suite with a private plunge pool. The furnishings are very nice, there is a soaking tub (filled and waiting upon your arrival from the tour) with flowers floating in the water, a minibar is stocked more than once a day, turn down service with candles in the
room.
- Dining room: Beautifully furnished, service again incredible and the quality of the meal what you find at a five star restaurant in San Francisco!
- Location: Amansara Siem Reap is in the heart of everything and a short ride to the Angkor temples.
I'm sure I've forgotten something...a HUGE thank you to the staff for making our stay a memorable one!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at Amansara while touring Angkor Wat and it was one of the finest hotel experiences --from accommodations to dining to service --that I've ever experienced. The customer service is excellent and no detail is overlooked. Sally, the general manager, is personable and responsive and has trained her lovely staff to do an expert job! The food was absolutely delicious and believe it or not, the most memorable from my entire trip throughout Southeast Asia! The rooms are new, comfortable, quiet… and let's say "luxuriously rustic" to fit your surroundings in Cambodia (i.e: open cement showers, sinks in the bedroom, low beds). We didn't have a view of anything, but we were so happy and pampered by the Amansara staff, I don't think we even noticed --or cared! It is expensive, but worth every penny!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megansleight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our stay at Amansara was a perfect oasis. We were welcomed into the Amansara family by each and every staff member. Each encounter was special. The Cambodian people are a very special culture. I cannot say enough about the food (perfect) Chef Molly's cooking was amazing. The spa manager V-Jay has a very special touch in everything she does. Sally and Audrey 2 very special women making all of our dreams come true. We look forward to returning to this very special resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in a pool "suite", it really was a wonderful place to come back to after our various sightseeing trips around the area. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, and the food was excellent too - good choice available from local dishes to more Western style available (if you wanted some comfort food!).
The whole place is geared to provide peace and calm for their guests, and it works very well. We would definitely want to stay here again if we return to the area.

Room Tip: for a relatively small extra cost, the pool suites offer more seclusion and privacy (if that's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsw_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I can't say enough about the work Amansara does with the local guides to make your experience unique and memorable. I won't get into the specifics as not to ruin it for others - but opt for the early morning tour of Angkor. The resort is spare and serene - the staff and management are lovely. Depending on the time of year I would consider not getting a pool villa - as they are not heated and it was very cool this December (so ours went unused).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed for a week last year en route to Vietnam. The Amansara offers the perfect way to visit Angkor Wat at dawn and experience peace and privacy before the crowds. The hotel offered us a varied itinerary visiting other sites every day. Our pool villa, facilities and service were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piers A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#43 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#29 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
2.3 mi away
Phum Baitang
Phum Baitang
#17 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing