We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful haven of pure indulgence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amansara
Ranked #81 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, UK.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven of pure indulgence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I would highly recommend the Amansara to anyone travelling to Siem Reap to see the Angkor temples. It is pricey but worth every penny.

Their guides are the best and you will be able to see the temples, in the main, away from the madness of the crowds. The hotel is tucked away discreetly compared to the more vulgar 5 star ones surrounding it, the service is impeccable, the food delicious and the rooms luxurious and comfortable.

Nothing is too much trouble at the Aman and you be completely spoilt. The GM, Sally is exceptional. We only had 3 nights there but we left feeling enlightened, relaxed and definitely wanting a little bit more.

The Aman is an exceptional group of hotels and having had the pleasure of staying in two now, I am seriously considering planning my next holiday around the Aman group and their destinations!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with the gardens or if you're feeling very decadent get your own privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    24
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
181
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights over Christmas 2012 an this must be the most modern and expensive hotel in Siem Riep. The rooms were beautiful and we were upgraded to a pool villa.the food was interesting and generous but the staff had difficulty understanding requests for vegetarian or sugar free requests. that is unacceptable for such a pricey hotel. The wines and cocktails were supposed to be included in our rate, but on the bill, some cocktails were charged and others were not. The credit card deposit was also banked and it was a hassle getting them to refund it. The management offered two complimentary massages which were excellent. It was a beautiful place to stay if money is no object.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I had the most incredible stay at the amansara.. The resort is small, personal and stylish .. The food is incredible ! What makes the stay sooo special however is the incredible hospitality of their staff . Their wonderful natures and smiling faces and nothing is too much trouble .. They dont expect to be tipped .. It's all very gracious and subtle .. We especially LOVEd our guide Tonghan , who spoke beautiful English and had extensive knowledge of the temples .he also took us for unique , specialised price sunrise And sunset tours to the temple in which u practically had it for yourself !! It felt like u were indiana jones ! His email is tonghann012@yahoo.com ,tel 855(0)89 986 497 We could not recommend him enough!!! He is gracious kind ,well educted , incredibly humble and passionate about explaining the history of his country .. We loved it here 5 well deserved stars!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandall1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
195 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Angkor is probably one of the most amazing Unesco site and a temple full of spirit but it's very touristy. Sometimes, even early in the morning, there are thousand of people walking on these historical stones. Avoid it and follow your Amansara guide and driver who will help you to discover Angkor in style and with almost nobody else around. Sure you'll have to make an effort but don't miss the exceptional and simply unique planning the Amansara family will have plan just for you.

There is nothing compared with discovering Angkor with your own remork with the best guide you can expect and we have been totally under the charm of the morning atmosphere on the road going to Angkor. There is something like mysterious and what a pleasure to discover such a major temple. Your guide will show you some secret parts of Angkor the massive tourism doesn't see and you'll feel like somebody so special to have this incredible privilege.

But let's come back on the property, this very discreet Aman is probably one of the most wonderful. Smaller than all the other properties, Amansara is an intimate and so charming property. Don't expect to have a breathtaking view or architecture like at Amankila or Amanjiwo because Amansara will charm you more slowly to make you finally so in love. Amansara is the former residence of the guests of Sihanouk and has welcomed so many celebrities. It has been turned into an Aman 15 years ago and is now the very best place to stay in Siem Reap. From outside, you can't hardly figure how beautiful is this little property but right away the vintage Mercedes enters into this small heaven, you realize how amazing is Amansara. Flowers are everywhere, architecture is elegant and design is modern and a bit minimalist but not cold at all. Justly, the very warm atmosphere is one of the best aspect of Amansara and suites are not too big but so comfortable and with a great layout giving to the guests the possibility to feel like at home very quickly. Suites are basically an open space with a marvelous bedroom facing a cosy living area and a few steps down is the bathroom area absolutely gorgeous. This luxurious Aman offers suites with a courtyard and some with a private stunning private squared pool and for a few hundreds dollars more, choose one with a pool cause this is quite "sexy" and so nice to deep in your own pool after a long day of excursions.

One of the most amazing point of Amansara is the staff, the incredible Amansara family always ready to make you happy and comfortable, always smiling like nowhere else, always providing the most fantastic standard of service. For example, one of us has been sick during the stay in Cambodia and to recover, one of the guy working at the front desk organized a blessing with a monk in the middle of the garden. It was so special and only Aman is able to treat you so well. We will never forget it. I've been very impressed as well by the efficiency of the management staff. There is always somebody on site to exchange a few words. We've travelled a lot in the best hotels of the world but never we found this level of service... impressive.

The spa is not to be missed as well. Peaceful and ultra relaxing, it will be the place where to run after excursion. Therapists are so nice and they know the best technics to make your tensions released. I miss my therapist already cause he was perfect.

This review would be not done if i don't talk about the food, innovative, delicious and changing everyday, this is maybe the Aman offering the best food. In the afternoon, in the restaurant, don't miss the yummy cakes and biscuits and in the evening, you'll have the options of European or Khmer cuisines, both excellent.

Just a word to conclude this very detailed review... JUST GO, it worth every penny.

Room Tip: choose a pool suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Arriving at Amansara we were totally blown away. The suites are both simple and luxurious, clean and beautiful. A few other reviews mention that the style isn't to everyone's taste, but we loved the 1960s styling (which is carried forward in lots of other details, including the music, Mercedes etc), the clean lines and the airy feel. That said, the photos of the property don't do it justice as to what a truly stunning property this is to stay at. It goes well beyond what you can physically see and the service is superlative - the staff have an uncanny ability to know when you are heading out of your room and must have serviced our room 6+ times/day, not a detail is out of place (whenever you want something you reach and it is there!), Sally the General Manager has the perfect balance of friendly, personable service and is a true pro, there are private tuk tuks laid on for you if you wish to visit Siem Reap at night (the driver waits for you and takes you onto the next cocktail bar!)... the list goes on. The hotel also puts on an interesting range of talks, music, films etc which bring to life the full context of the country. I also really enjoyed the spa and had one of the best facials of my life there (pricey, but definitely worth it). A stunning hotel to visit one of the world's most stunning tourist sites. If you feel you've travelled extensively and seen it all, come here: your breath will be taken away all over again.

Room Tip: Pool suites are divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misselaneyous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigswinter, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our first stay in an Aman Resort and we are positively suprised. If you are in Siem Reap and want to see the wonderful temples the Aman resort should be the first choices.
A nice location wonderful staff with a perfect service.

The most important point is that the visit to the different temples are perfectly organzied by the Amansara team. We had very friendly, proffesional english guide, our own "tuktuk" driver and all trips preplaned. Due to this perfect preplaning by Amansara we saw most of the temples nearly alone by us and our guide. Of course we started very early in the mornign around 5.30 AM but we saw wonderful sunrises of the temples. Arround 10AM we returned
to the Hotel and enyoy a second breakfast and relaxed during the hot lunch time at our pool.
The afternoon excursions started at 15:00 hrs until sundown around 18:30. So you can really see a lot during a day with the two trips and we never felt exhausted thanks to our long lunch break. Furthermore for our evening excursions to downtown Siem Reap the Amansara provides us with our own "tuktuk" with our personal driver. Just perfectly well organized.
The staff and team of Amansara is very friendly and proffesional. We always felt well and secure and very well treated.
The best Hotel for visiting Angkor Wat.
Be aware that Angor Wat is full of tourists but thanks to the Amansara tour planing we felt like
explorers to temples.
The team Amansara is the second best in Cambodia after the Song Saa team.
But is more then friendly and just perfect. Highly recomendable.

Room Tip: A pool villa is helpful, due it becomes really hot during the day, and a little refresh in our pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudolf V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in a pool suite and I simply do not know enough ways to communicate what a wonderful hotel this is. The service is IMPECCABLE. The staff is simply amazing. From the gardeners, to the housekeeping staff, to the restaurant crew, to the spa staff, to the drivers, they all have smiles on their faces 100% of the time. Serving you seems to be their greatest joy. They have an uncanny way of knowing the moment you leave your room and they scurry in to straighten and freshen everything up. We've never seen anything like it. The food in the all-day dining, dining room was never a disappointment: the menu was always creative and delicious. On top of all of it, Sally, the General Manager, is a seasoned professional who is an absolute delight. The only slight complaint is that the suite was small compared to comparably prices suites at other resorts. I cannot recommend a hotel more highly. It was virtually perfect! Bravo!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#42 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#28 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
2.3 mi away
Phum Baitang
Phum Baitang
#15 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing