We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amansara
Ranked #81 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
epping
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We had very high expectations of this hotel , mainly due to the exceptional reviews on this site . On arrival we were collected at the airport in an original 1960's Mercedes limo , which set the tone for the grace and style that we were to become accustomed to for the duration of our stay . Once at the hotel , we were greeted by Siddharth , the general manager , who introduced us to our "family" (i initially thought this was a little cheesy) . I was very soon converted ! The staff are continually looking after you , but never in your way .

The temple excursions are also exactly as described in previous reviews . We were looked after by our guide "Kong Kea" (nickname MJ) whose love of the temples was still evident . Early starts , secret entrances and local knowledge gained us seemingly exclusive access to the temples at times when crowds were gathered elsewhere . On our tour to the "Citadel of the Sacred Women", which is a rather small temple which requires car transport rather than the remork , we were totally alone , which was an experience that few can surely experience ? But on the drive back we were passed by at least a dozen coaches all on there way there ...... was this by chance ..... i very much doubt it !!

We opted to stay in a suite , rather than a pool suite , which we agreed was the correct choice . The room is even better than it looks on the website and the hotel pool is so classy (if its good enough for Jackie O .....)

The restaurant is a beautifully elegant circular room . The dinner options are maybe a little limited with either a choice of western or khmer set menus . We opted for the khmer for 3 out of the 4 nights , which was delicious . The complimentary "house" drinks were a choice of French wines and premium spirits (Tanqueray Gin / Absolut Vodka etc) .... pleasantly surprised !!

So in conclusion , Siem Reap and the amazing ruins of Angkor Wat and Angkor Thom are a must before tourism here spirals out of control . There are other lovely looking large hotels to choose from , but if you enjoy the elegance and the "family" hospitality that the Aman hotels strive for , this is a must .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobboEpping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    24
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
181
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

From the welcome in the 1960s Mercedes at Siem Reap airport to the final gift as we left, this was a truly amazing hotel and service. Siddarth and his Amansara "family" are so friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is a real oasis of luxury and calm in the midst of busy Siem Reap. The rmok vehicles and our extremely knowledgable guide Bunthan did a great job of showing us all the sites at Angkhor and managed to avoid he crowds by some clever planning. The food was stunning with a choice of western and Khmer food and each evening some form of entertainment was organised. We will definitely return. Some reviewers say it is expensive, but it is certainly worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallWallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

Amansara is really worth a visit during your stay in Siem Reap despite of it's high price, it's just next to Raffle the grand hotel and Victoria Resort&Spa, but you will see the huge difference between them although they're all rated as 5 star hotels. Once you enter the Amansara's gate, you're in this small family and the helpful staff is ready to give you an incredible experience. I love their restaurant and the finest Khmer food they provide, it's not as spicy or salty than those food you find in pub street, but a delicate taste you can feel. Besides, they invite a Cambodian woman (seems to be a blind or disadvantaged person I'm not sure) with a voice from paradise performing some Khmer traditional songs during dinner time, which was a unimaginable experience for me. I really had a great time in Amansara, it will surely be an unforgettable address for me in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanelloppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Having just returned from Amansara for the second time I compelled to write about what an incredible place it is. From the minute we arrived in Siem Reap to the minute we left (very sad and very reluctantly) we were treated like family- with such warmth and care. Siddharth and his Amansara family run like a Swiss watch, never missing a beat. The quality of service and their ability to consistently deliver it with such warmth and exceed our expectations time and again over 5 days was truly impressive.

We were fortunate enough to stay in a Pool Suite which was a haven of luxury, peace and comfort. I love the layout of the Suite and unlike a reviewer who commented on it previously I found that there was ample privacy in the right places. We both appreciated all of the special touches and the surprises when we returned from dinner each evening.

Dining was a delight both at Amansara and on experiences organized by Amansara. We flew to a temple 40 minutes away by helicopter and had a picnic lunch there which was amazing. Another amazing experience was our dinner at The Khumer Village House which belongs to Amansara- a delicious Khumer feast was cooked for us on a coal fire while we sat out on the verandah listening to the evening sounds of the village and gazing at the stars- amazing!

Our visits to the temples were perfect. We managed to avoid all of the crowds and really did not feel overwhelmed by other tourists at any stage. Yes there is a lot of restoration work going on but we were having such a lovely time in general with the most excellent guide, Bhunthan, and the sites were so incredible that it really did not bother us at all. In fact, I think that it is imperative that these wonders are preserved and in some cases restored. Having been there in 2003 for the first time and again now I did not find the restoration work offensive at all. Another fantastic experience that we had was a full afternoon of riding mountain bikes through the countryside, past temples and other ruins, through little hamlets and rice paddies. We had such fun this afternoon and I would recommend this experience for anyone who is interested in seeing how the charming Khumer people live and how welcoming they are in spite of all that they have been through.

We would like to thank Siddharth and his entire Amansara Family for making our holiday wonderful and we hope that we can come and visit you again soon.
J&M

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blitz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

This is what we did on Thursday 6 January 2011. Reception called us at 6am and at 6.15am they delivered coffee and pastries. At 6.30am we went to the gate and met our guide and remork driver and drove up the main drag, past the Angkor Wat lake and, after a while, down a rutted sandy track to the Ta Nei temple, an incredible ruin locked in a fatal embrace with the jungle and looking just like the Angkor that the explorers saw in the Victorian era. We were alone. Then on to another seldom visited temple, then one of the monumental gateways to Angkor Thom. Just as all the tourists hordes were waking up and driving out, we headed back to Amansara, a welcome of cold towels, then a breakfast of mango juice, coffee, rosti potatoes, smoked salmon and perfectly poached eggs. Our room had been serviced and our shoes had been cleansed of Angkorian dust.

We chilled out by one of the two pools, had a lazy lunch, a glass or two of wine, and at 3pm we again met our guide and driver and headed out for the Bayon. There were tourists here, hordes of them, though our guide knew the less crowded areas and the best angles for photos. On to the elephant terrace and back to the hotel at 5.30pm, an order taken for the next morning’s pre-breakfast at 5.15am, then a swim, a shower, a g&t in our little courtyard, and dinner. Beats working, doesn’t it?

The site occupied by Amansara is a distinctive-looking 1960s villa complex once owned by Prince Sihanouk. We actually stayed here in April 1992, when it was seriously run down and called the Apsara Villas. No food was served then, so we went across the road to the semi-derelict Grand Hotel d’Angkor where they had a restaurant but no rooms. I swear there were no more than 50 tourists on the entire Angkor site at that time and just six of us showed up for the sunrise behind Angkor Wat. It was one of our greatest travel experiences. In 1997 Amanresorts took over the then fully derelict Apsara Villas, opening in 2002 with twelve rooms and in 2005 they added 12 pool suites.

Amansara’s current design has the bathroom as part of the living/sleeping space but we think having a ‘sink’ in one’s bedroom summons up memories of seedy B&Bs in places like Blackpool or Clacton. I know this open-plan thing is a fashion trend and maybe if you look like Julia Roberts and George Clooney you might pull off the ablutionary exposure with aplomb, but I think most people prefer to cleanse their teeth and nether regions in a room dedicated for the purpose. The layout also resulted in some serious lapses in overall practicality, so this is the first Aman room we didn’t like, though I have to say that the shower with its glass wall overlooking the courtyard garden was arguably the best shower ever and that all the individual furnishings and fittings in the room were world class. Pool suites, by the way, are identical and have a largish, unheated plunge pool in their courtyards.

Our other gripe, I’m afraid, was the food. While breakfasts were truly excellent, lunches and dinners were on the bland side, with a limited choice which isn’t what you want when everyone is on a compulsory half-board arrangement. There was usually one fish dish, one meat dish and who wants osso bucco and mashed potato as the only meat choice in sweltering heat? They can do things off-menu, however, and the circular dining room is truly beautiful.

Despite our reservations about the room and the food, we were happy that we chose Amansara rather than, say, the Raffles Grand or the Victoria which both looked big and packagey. Amansara is small, elegant, intensely private and offers so much to the guest - most wines and spirits, two customised tours a day to the ruins, trips around town in a remork (a ritzy rickshaw), airport pick-ups in a 1961 Mercedes-Benz (or remerc) and incredible levels of service are included in the room rate. The manager, Siddarth Mehra, is extremely hands-on and gracious and all the staff called us “bong” which means “brother” in Cambodian. That’s because, on check-in, we became part of the Amansara family.

I’d go back to Amansara like a shot but not to Cambodia or even to Angkor where the restoration work in my view has become excessive, turning an archaelogical park into a theme park and catering for such numbers of tourists, half of them from Asia, especially South Korea, that it has become, frankly, a bit of a trial and not much of an inspirational pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Our experience here was fantastic. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I would travel back to Cambodia again just to stay here. Yes the price tag is high, but it was worth every penny. We stayed in a lovely pool suite, decorated in an elegant minimalist style. The staff, especially the fantastic manager, made us feel like we were guests in an elegant home. The service was absolutely impeccable. Our tour guide for our excursions could not have been more professional. He had every visit to each temple timed perfectly so we could get a true sense of the beauty of each place, without being overrun by other tourists. The food, both Western and Khmer, was lovely. This hotel made our Cambodia experience absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt31sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We had an amazing Christmas stay at Amansara. The staff at Amansara were some of the warmest, kindest, most genuine people that I have ever met while traveling. You feel so genuinely taken care of at Amansara that you feel like a member of their family. The location is also fantastic - 7 km from Angor Wat, and walking distance to many great shops and cafes near Siem Reap. The rooms were very spacious and open, and we had our own private courtyard. The rainfall showers are to die for. The property is smaller than other Amans, as it is one of the oldest - and they don't have a fitness center, which is somewhat of a downside. Amansara is very committed to helping the Siem Reap and Angor community, and those feelings of community and warmth make the atmosphere at Amansara. So if you are traveling to Cambodia to see the famous Angor Wat, absolutely stay at Amansara.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#42 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#28 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
2.3 mi away
Phum Baitang
Phum Baitang
#15 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing