We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The villa rooms are lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Ranked #134 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“The villa rooms are lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

We spent 3 nights here, and were very pleased. We had requested a superior room and were upgraded to one of the pool villa rooms. I'm not sure what the cheaper rooms are like, & they may not prove to be as good a value. But if you spring for (or get upgraded to) the pool-villa room, it is LOVELY! Gorgeous room with a nice window-seat & comfy bed, efficent air-con, and a small balcony overlooking the pool.

We didn't use the balcony much in the evenings - it is quite small and evening mosquitos were very present. Mozzies were also a problem in the lobby - mozzie-repellent was necessary in order to use the very slow computer available there!

Very nice pool-area, surrounded by just enough plants & with a small but adequate pool for a quick dip. The pool's water did irritate my eyes for a while afterwards, however.

The staff was easy to communicate with, very friendly, and made it very easy to set up our drivers and a tour guide during our stay. We had Mapt (not sure of spelling) as our tuktuk driver for all days of our stay - he picked us up at the bus station for the hotel - we highly recommend him, very nice fellow! We also hired a tourguide for one day - we were with Arun Reatana, also recommended.

The location was great - fairly quiet street, but easy walking distance to the mayhem of "Bar Street", etc., for meals.

The restaurant was only average for lunch/dinner meals, but their included breakfast was one of the best of all the included breakfasts we had on our trip . ..baguettes with marmalade, coffee and a set plate of crepes or fruit or eggs, etc. We were surprised to find that our orange juice cost extra - not much more, but a surprise nonetheless when we settled our bill on day 3. Penny-pinchers might be annoyed by this - maybe we just missed the message that it wasn't included.

Overall, a lovely stay, aside from mosquitos in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malkoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    123
    37
    17
    6
See reviews for
77
130
45
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

We had big problems in this hotel. First, we had to wait for a very long time on the airport before we were picked up. Then we had a leakage in our room and we were the only ones who cared (it happened during the night, but only the next evening someone came to have a look), laundry was forgotten (which was again only our problem, staff couldn't care less). If you insist on staying here, try to find the tuk-tuk driver Ho who toured us around for three days and did a great job!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacktulipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

This was a great place to stay with nice accomodations, extremely friendly staff, and a pool that was a very welcome destination at the end of hot and humid days! The hotel is within walking distance to the night market and plenty of restaurants.

We were a large group, and the hotel was able to arrange for the hotel's van to take us + a guide around to many of the temples in the area. The staff was very accomodating and friendly!

Note that when we stayed there, internet access was best in the lobby and moderately accessible on the 2nd floor. My room on the third floor had no wireless reception at all.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCalDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

I visited Siem Riep this summer for two weeks and I stayed here. This place was really nice. It was really clean, the staff was really courteous and friendly, and the prices were pretty amazing. The location was great, not right in the middle, but close enough to central Siem Riep. I will definitely be visiting and staying here again.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nakedtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Any hotel that requires payment up front for all nights either has had lots of runaways or knows that when you see the competition you'll want to switch - I think this hotel is the latter. A large notice makes it clear that there are no refunds on room payments except for emergencies. Its a large gloomy place with gloomy staff. The Villa Siem Reap across the street looks much brighter and more cheerful. It feels like it would have been good 5 years ago but now there's so much more , and better choice and they have fallen behind. We paid $68 for two rooms , so other reviewers are right it is good value. The pool is fine, small but functional. I just think they need a little more light and cheer in the place. Breakfast was adequate, but no water or fruit juice offered. Inmternet access ic charged.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KivuG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

We and many of our friends have stayed here a number of times and find it to be a great value, great location in the center of a town, and really friendly. The deluxe rooms and the villas at the back are very spacious and good value for a 2-star hotel. The swimming pool area has a nice relaxing ambiance.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisophonhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao PauloBrasil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

I have been to Auberge Mont Royal a few times and this is a very nice place to stay. Quiet location and at the same time very central. Wonderful Staff, always very helpful. Great Food. I recommend it and I will be back soon

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaoHoefel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
#150 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#78 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
#76 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#68 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
0.5 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor

Property: Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Address: 497 Taphul St. | PO Box 34, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#96 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The grandeur of Angkor. The charms of Auberge Mont Royal. A small, family-run hotel that welcomes you with open arms. Boutique inn-style accommodation in a quiet, but convenient corner of Siem Reap. Easy access to Cambodia's famed temples of Angkor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Mont Royal d Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing