We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel in Siem Reap!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Hostel in Siem Reap!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Sickest atmosphere, great sand bar, free shots every hour, amazing pool, day beds, great staff both Khmer and Western - this place is a must stay in Siem Reap!

Food is good here too and they have the best daily events in town!

Located just back from Pub St and right opposite KFC - perfect!

When we were there they had a Pub Crawl come through that we joined on the end of and had our best night out yet!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1wayticket2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest - We are only as awesome as our guests are at any one time - and you were a stunner! Have a great trip - thank you so much for your review it really counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    235
    73
    42
    31
See reviews for
6
141
494
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The location was good and the staff was mostly friendly. Although i enquired about going to the floating village and was told by the staff it's not nice to go there, i was afterwards though told by other travellers that it was amazing-so that was a bit odd. The rooms were ok,the one we had was a bit smelly,but staff came every day to clean and change towels,they could have also given the bathroom a little clean while they were at it.
Drinks and breakfast was really good.
The people who go there are mainly between 18-25maybe so sometimes it feels like in a teenage movie.
The music is way too loud both at the pool and at the bar, you can barley hear each other and have to scream - if you could just turn the music down a tiny bit it would be so much nicer.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ninja1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
It must have been the massive pool, or the free shots or the awesome people that you loved then. Have a super time around Asia - We love you

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely one of The most fun hostels in se asia! It's clean, has a great swimming pool, lounge area for sunbathing, staff is international (sometimes bit cocky). Only downside are the big dorms. I was lucky I stayed in a dorm with only 8 beds but there are also rooms with 14/16 beds orso and they are even more expensive.... Always fully booked, so don't forget to book in advance.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karlijn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest - I am so pleased you found time to write this awesome review - thanks again for staying here and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future we hope :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Relaxing atmosphere in the rooftop bar during the day and some great parties by night, relaxing pool area, fantastic food (everything was top notch), and clean rooms. No complaints at all, great experience all around. All the staff were very friendly as well!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcoooke19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks very much for your gracious review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and had an absolutely awesome time, didn't want to leave. The staff are amazing, really helpful, the hostel itself is a great location. Its got 2 great bars and the one on the roof is just fantastic. Its got a nice big pool that can chill out of a day. The mountain bike experience is well worth doing, the tour guide was faultless. Definitely stay here if you are coming to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommo0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for a really cool review! We had a great time hanging out with you here - thanks for taking the time to jot down your positive comments! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

A great place for low budget travelers and backpackers. Swimming pool and roof bar with restaurant are great places to meet people. I spent two nights in a twin room, which was nice and neat. Not recommended for families as the roof bar closes at midnight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We are very appreciative of your kind review! We do trust you will have an awesome time on your trip and we look forward to your return! Thanks again and dont be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I spent a week at mad monkey and wished it could've been more. Clean cool quiet dorm, fantastic sand rooftop bar and amazing staff that make it super easy to organise activities. The food at banana bar was excellent, loads of good western food like lime cheesecake, breakfast burrito, greek bean salad etc. Would highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are looking forward to seeing you again! In 90% of cases its the guest that defines how much of a great time they have here and you were an awesome guest! Thanks so much - please do come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#43 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#10 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#7 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Aviary Hotel
The Aviary Hotel
#35 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Property: Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most social hostel in Siem Reap! Come stay with 100+ backpackers from around the world. Clean, comfy accommodations (our dorm beds have massive 1.2m mattresses!). A swimming pool and poolside bar - absolutely essential on a hat Cambodian day. A Rooftop Beach Bar with epic sunset views. New events on every night. Tours of Angkor Wat, the countryside, and everything else you came to Siem Reap for. Free wifi. Visa service. We're here to handle everything, so you have the best stay and make the best memories in Siem Reap! Mad Monkey is a socially responsible hostel, too. Your stay will benefit local clean water projects and education organizations. Can't wait to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing