We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gives "party hostels" a good name.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
CH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gives "party hostels" a good name.”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Unlike most half-assed "party hostels" you'll find worldwide that are good for nothing more than cheap drinks, this place is legit. My wife and I loved it. If you are in your late 20s or older, there will be times when you'll feel your age, but who cares, live a little. The rooftop bar has a killer menu of drinks and food, which is slightly pricey for SR, but has the quality and atmosphere to back it up. (I stress "for SR", nothing is truly expensive here for a Western tourist, let's face it.) Their fish and chips are better than what you'll find in 95% of pubs in Switzerland.

The list of organized cultural and/or party activities is extensive and, it must be said, really damn well thought out. I can't imagine the "floating village" and crocodile farm being worth it if you aren't doing it with unlimited drinks and a sunset on the lake, as you get with Mad Monkey's Booze Cruise. Huge thanks to Brian and the rest of the staff for organizing it. I regret not having done more of the activities they proposed, but time was limited.

If there are downsides, rooms on the way to the bar can get noisy, but they are mindful of their guests and close it at not-too-crazy an hour. The music stops shortly after midnight, if I'm not mistaken. The bathrooms, the water pressure of the showers in particular, leave a lot to be desired, but I believe this is a general problem in Cambodia. I seriously doubt it's much better in other establishments at this price range, and chances are slim for the atmosphere being anything close to what you get here. Just don't be surprised when the "bum gun" is more effective for showering than the showers they provide.

But minor gripes aside, Mad Monkey rocks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest - what an awesome review! Do come back and meet with us again soon. We enjoyed your company whilst you were here. Have a great trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    235
    73
    42
    30
See reviews for
6
140
493
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

One of the best hostels I've been too in terms of meeting people. The Mad Monkey has a very laid back and relaxed atmosphere. They have a pool downstairs and a rooftop bar upstairs so there are always chances to meet fellow travellers. The pool is great for just relaxing, I spent days inbetween temple visits recharging by the pool so it's a very welcome addition. Only $6 a night for a dorm room so good value and the mattresses are surprisingly comfy for a dorm room.

The food is also excellent, the kitchen is open from morning until around 9pm at night. I tried a lot of things from their menu and everything was delicious.

Only thing I would say is that if you want a quiet place then the Mad Monkey is probably not for you. Whilst not too raucous, it is aimed at a young crowd and the rooftop bar doesn't close until midnight so if you like to go to be early then either bring ear plugs or find somewhere else. I was two floors below the bar and I could still hear the music.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrkrogers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
I am pleased that you loved your time at The Mad Monkey - Thank you for choosing us and we very much look forward to meeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

from the entrance you might think to yourself, "This is a typical backpackers for the budget traveller", but what you get is so much more than that. The beautiful pool, smiling faces of the staff and the daily activities around the poolside are there to greet you along with the beautiful cambodian sunshine (hopefully on the last one)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanehiroshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
I am so pleased you found the time to write a review - it was a real delight having you stay with us, all the best and good luck for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Mad Monkey hostel has a so small entrance that you can easily miss it. It is big inside though. It has a big sitting/computer room and a rooftop restaurant. The place could be very noisy because the walls are thin and you can be woken up by residents walkingt past your rooms. The rooftop restaurant has sand on the floor, giving it a special atmosphere but it is a pain it you are going out directly, you will have sandy feet.
The room rates are cheap, location is very good, tuktuks are waiting outside all the time and so transport is easy also.

Room Tip: Do not choose one that is near the main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitahk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Your review is awesome and you were really an awesome guest - thanks again for choosing the Mad Monkey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ponsa, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hostel near pub street and with lots of restaurants, tour agencies and shops in the area.
Stayed there for two nights to see Agnkor Wat and the place is perfect! You get a free beer when you check in which makes you feel welcome and the staff are really helpful too, the sorted out are visa for Vietnam really quick and always pointed us in the right direction.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ryancm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing Mad Monkey hostels for your stay - We loved having you here and we wish you the very best for your onward trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This seems to be the place where all the cool kids stay in siem riep. Great place if you like to party, not so much if you are looking for a quiet place. The rooms are very clean and very comfy beds. If you want to stay here during high season, make sure you book ahead for your entire stay, we were not able to extent our stay because they were full..

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlijn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for an awesome review! We hope you come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

My girl friend and I recently stayed in a private dorm at Mad Monkeys. The staff were very friendly and speak good English, the location is fantastic being only a 5 minute walk to 'pub street'. The backpackers has a really fun social environment with a roof top bar, music and bar by the pool! There are also Awesome activities planned for everyday including beer pong tournaments, boat cruises and other tours! The only negative comment I have would be the bathrooms are quite dirty, after having a shower the water does not drain quickly meaning you cannot go in without soaking your feet! But this is what I expected for the price! Overall, awesome experience!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest - thank you for your kind review - it makes this business all the more pleasurable when we have lovely guests like you and your party staying with us, do enjoy your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#45 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#11 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#8 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Aviary Hotel
The Aviary Hotel
#36 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Property: Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most social hostel in Siem Reap! Come stay with 100+ backpackers from around the world. Clean, comfy accommodations (our dorm beds have massive 1.2m mattresses!). A swimming pool and poolside bar - absolutely essential on a hat Cambodian day. A Rooftop Beach Bar with epic sunset views. New events on every night. Tours of Angkor Wat, the countryside, and everything else you came to Siem Reap for. Free wifi. Visa service. We're here to handle everything, so you have the best stay and make the best memories in Siem Reap! Mad Monkey is a socially responsible hostel, too. Your stay will benefit local clean water projects and education organizations. Can't wait to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing