We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in Cambodia!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Cambodia!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I mean central location, good value for money, friendly staff, delicious food and roof top beach bar...it does not get better, this hostel is one of the best I have ever been to. Every night at the bar there is something different going on, and you ll end up knowing everyone in there before you know it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5lex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks very much for your gracious review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    235
    73
    42
    31
See reviews for
6
141
494
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The team at Mad Monkey are ace! They are very friendly, willing to show you a good time and happy to have a chat. They live up to their awesome reputation so you do need to book quickly. Even if you make a mistake with your booking (which I did) they will do their best to accommodate your needs based on their current availability if you want to change it.
My Aussie mate and I stayed in a twin room which was awesome. There is always hot water, not that you really need it in the Cambodian heat. It was also extremely clean and housekeeping cleaned our room for us everyday which we weren’t expecting after other hostel experiences. Another major positive was the rooftop bar where you can escape for a few drinks even if you don’t live at the guesthouse. The hostel isn’t far from Pub Street so you can head over after dinner for a few pre drinks. The bar staff bring the beach to you with a rooftop bar full of sand, hammocks, a very nice deck and a decent happy hour. The bar staff are more cheeky monkeys than mad monkeys haha.
They told us a pool should be finished by October. The big name hotels in the area will have some competition as MM will have it all at very affordable rates!
I cant say it enough but the team are awesome and some staff occasionally visit their Phnom Penh sister hostel. They keep in contact with any travelers/volunteers here so you can count on seeing a friendly face from MM again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Well we were delighted to host you! We love cool guests that enjoy their stay here - 95% of our guests have a great time so i am ecstatic that you are in the majority! Have a fab trip around Asia ! Take care and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Mad Monkey is very backpacker-friendly, everything is available to make our lives easy and comfortable: super clean dorms, large and comfy beds, large lockers, laundry, post, money exchange services, tours on offer, bus booking. The only thing is that the common area is the Mad Monkey's restaurant and rooftop bars which really feel as such, rather than areas where you can hang out comfortably. I didn't find it was as conducive to meeting people as in other hostels. Lovely staff, always ready to help.

Room Tip: The twin bedroom has no window, I much preferred the mixed 'Gibbon' dorm which conveniently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
What a gem of a review! Good people have a good time here and you were a fantastic guest! Thanks again and we really hope you enjoy your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I spent my time in Siem Reap with the monkeys after an amazing time in Phnom Penh with the monkeys as well! The beach bar on the roof blew me away and the staff were genuinely amazing again! Made a mistake and booked my coach tickets with an external co (regret), but the staff were still so helpful when they didn't have to help me with the follow ups! Will book everything with them in the future! Will visit the place if I ever go back!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are very appreciative of your kind review! We do trust you will have an awesome time on your trip and we look forward to your return! Thanks again and dont be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The dorms are clean, well air conditioned, and reliably priced. In terms of dorms I don't think it gets much better. What really impressed me though was that it seems like the local. staff is treated very well and is very happy to be employed there. I think management genuinely cares about their employees, and it really shows in how friendly and helpful they all are. It's reassuring to know and makes your stay a lot more enjoyable, as this isn't always the case in a lot of places. I would definitely recommend it to anyone coming through the are.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are looking forward to seeing you again! In 90% of cases its the guest that defines how much of a great time they have here and you were an awesome guest! Thanks so much - please do come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have been travelling for years now and this is the 2nd time I am stuck in a place. This place is the 2nd best hostel I ever been after one in Chengdu, China.
The best : great service, very nice staff, very friendly owners... what else, the room are very nice, comfortable and CLEAN ! The smell of the bedsheet after a long day in the temple make you sleep like at home ;)
I would recommend the Mad Monkey Hostel to everyone. The only think I didn't like is I came too early because a swimming pool is almost finish. I is going to be even better.
I really hope I can go again to have a drink or two on the roof top and watch the sunset !
Thanks to the Mad people from Siem Reap :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Régis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for an awesome review! We hope you come back and visit us soon! These reviews really do matter to us and they are always read and considered. We are pleased you had a great time here, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

After having the time if my life in the other mad monkey- I was so excited to experience this one.
Unfortunately was not as good at all!!!! Dorm was far more smaller and cramped with cot beds all beside each other in a line- unlike the other mad monkey where one side of your bed is always against a wall.
Air conditioner broken!
Although that's not the reason I marked this hostel down so low...
The main reason was the food!!!
In the other mad monkey sure- it was expensive but always good-
Here in siem reap I ordered narchos for almost $4! The were corn chips covered in cheese with two jalapeños and about one table spoon of Refried beans and one teaspoon of salsa. SOOOO DISAPPOINTING!!! Next night ordered beef fillet for $6. It was absolutely awful. Thin as paper like a shintzel, cut into strips. Well done (although I asked for rare) it was not by any stretch of the imagination a fillet steak.
Sure they say complain and they'll redo it- but the language barrier plus the obvious fact that that was how the dish was made there just made me not bother.

Most of the staff were lovely but the young girl I interacted with most was rude. Not only to me but everyone. I even smiled at her many times and she just ignored me.

Totally over priced. Awful food. Just nothing like the other mad monkey at all.
I'm still really annoyed by that "steak" $6.....i never spend that much! just wanted a treat and boy what a let down. the people I was sitting with were horrified by it too and mentioned they never ordered food here because so poor quality and over priced.

Feel awful writing a review like this but is simply the reality.
Wrote a great review for the other mad monkey...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violetgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am the founder and one of the owners of Mad Monkey, firstly I wanted to thank you personally for your review and feedback, please be assured that i listen and act on all of our guest feedback. I am genuinely sorry that unlike 95% of our gusts you didn't have a fantastic time here. I wanted to address all of the issues individually, regarding the F&B issues I am personally reviewing the menu with our chef today, obviously for $6 you are not going to get a premium beefsteak, that being said if its not up to standard I will remove it from the menu, the same with the Nachos. The beds we have in Siem Reap are exactly the same specification we have in Phnom Penh. Had you told us the AC was broken the same day we would have fixed it the same day. The key thing that I was concerned about was the staff member being rude to you, I was so concerned that i personally spoke to the member of staff in question today, as I understand it, you were really not very polite to her and pretty mean, that being said I have asked her to just smile more when guests are mean to her, even though she probably wanted to Karatie kick you in the face, she just doesn't have the skills, I have given her some Chuck Norris videos but she still cant quite get her leg up high enough or fast enough to really make an impact, so we figured smiling more was probably just a better strategy for everyone. I really hope you enjoy your travels, thank you for staying at The Mad Monkey, have an awesome time and enjoy every moment! Thank you XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#43 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#10 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#7 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Aviary Hotel
The Aviary Hotel
#35 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Property: Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most social hostel in Siem Reap! Come stay with 100+ backpackers from around the world. Clean, comfy accommodations (our dorm beds have massive 1.2m mattresses!). A swimming pool and poolside bar - absolutely essential on a hat Cambodian day. A Rooftop Beach Bar with epic sunset views. New events on every night. Tours of Angkor Wat, the countryside, and everything else you came to Siem Reap for. Free wifi. Visa service. We're here to handle everything, so you have the best stay and make the best memories in Siem Reap! Mad Monkey is a socially responsible hostel, too. Your stay will benefit local clean water projects and education organizations. Can't wait to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing