We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Aviary Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arunnotey Spa(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,765)
Filter reviews
1,765 results
Traveler rating
1,354
249
84
44
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,354
249
84
44
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barbooze cruisebeer pongfree shotsbanana barsand floorpub streetdrinking gamesprivate roomcheap drinksa great place to meetbean bagsbed dormgood vibessolo travellerawesome poolrooms are clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,571 - 1,576 of 1,765 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Mad monkey was a fantastic hostel. Clean rooms and bathrooms, the odd bug got into the room but to be expected in Asia. Nothing big just a few mossies and cockroaches. Rooftop bar is perfect for chilling out on a hot day and great to meet people in too. We stayed in a private for $6 pp/per night with own e suite. Exceptionally for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your review - it really helps us and we always listen to our customer. All of our management team check this 2-3 times a day - thanks for the feedback and we are happy you loved it here. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

While the hostel rooms are standard, the rooftop beach bar is outstanding! We had so much fun! Literally the funnest place we stayed at in all of southeast asia. Also a good location, just a 5 minute walk to Pub Street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orinda4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thanks for an awesome review! We hope you come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Mad monkey siem reap is the place to be! No point in even considering anywhere else... Stay clear of the short English manager they call oil though as we found him sleeping in the hotel lobby in a pair of pants most nights. During the day no problem lovely guy.. But Soon as we noticed the him sipping his glass of rosé wine in the early evening out came the y fronts, entertaining to say the least!

Thanks to all the mad monkey team for making our trip one to remember!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-Man_Gazza_yeabuday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Your review is awesome and you were really an awesome guest - thanks again for choosing the Mad Monkey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited Siem Reap last week and was extremely impressed with the Mad Monkey!

Although it's entrance may not be the grandest, do not let this deceive you as hidden inside is a gem of a hostel and bar!

It consists of a few floors of accommodation, then on the top floor a great, funky relaxed bar with just the right about of music to chill out space. Whatever mood your in..... whether you want to drink with your mates, chill in the corner or watch the sunset on the new roof top deck (which is amazing by the way) it caters for all.

Even if you’re not staying there, it is worth a visiting for a drink just to experience the sand covered beach style bar where you can grab a beer for a dollar!

You really can't argue with the price of the accommodation either, it is located within walking distance of pub street (or a $1 dollar tuk tuk ride if your feeling lazy).

They can also help you with an array of excursions, including temple visits by bike ride or tuk tuk, quad bike adventures etc.

The staff are fantastic, always friendly and welcoming and an asset to the guesthouse.

Mad Monkey adopts ethical practices, paying its staff above the industry average and providing them with private health care and assisting their children with education. They also have a guesthouse in Phnom Phen so you can link in with your travels across Cambodia.

If you're considering a great value place to stay that is a little different from the standard back-packers re-treat, look no further, Mad Monkey is the place to be!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review of The Mad Monkey - we are delighted you enjoyed your time here ! We hope to see you again soon for more cocktails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had an amazing stay at the Mad Monkey Hostel, in Siem Reap. Our room was clean, comfortable and a good size, the staff would never fail to greet with a smile and the beach bar made for a good beginning, middle and sometimes end of a night!! The restaurant serves clean, tasty and a good variety of Khmer and western style food at a reasonable price. The Vietnamese coffee (hot and cold) is the best in Asia!!! The music played always fitted the mood at the time, and the bar staff were always very playful! The tut tut drivers were always avalible, spoke good english and really helped make the temple tours special (no pressure on how much time you spend in each temple) We also booked onwards travel through reception which was fairly priced and delivered as promised.

Even if your not staying here, the bar and restaurant is well worth a visit.

Thanks for such a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRD12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

It was a real pleasure to host you here with us - do find the time to come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews