We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mad place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Staying at the Mad Monkey was not a good experience. The staff was rude and we even got shouted out. They have a confusing billing system and we ended up having to pay for things we did not order. Rooms are just basic. In one of our rooms, the washbasin had a leaking problem. Despite our complaints it never got fixed and in the end we were told "that's how it is". It was not an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shyless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Guest -

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that unlike 98% of our guests that you did not enjoy your stay in The Mad Monkey, in this specific instance we explained to you that the Cambodian Standard pluming requires all sinks to drain into the grey water drain located in the corner of the room, this is pretty much standard for Cambodia. I am sorry you did not feel like enjoying any of the activities in the hostel, as we state clearly in the description the hostel has an active bar, please understand that as a business we can not close the bar at 9pm simply because you have an early start and want to get some sleep when we have 70 other backpackers enjoying themselves in the bar (as in this instance) had you decided to be a little more participative I am sure you would have enjoyed your stay so much more. However we wish you the best on your travels and hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,575 - 1,581 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. Really cool vibe and the beach bar is a good place to relax or drink. Stayed in a double room on the ground floor. Although we initially described it as a cell because it was a tiled room with only a bed and a flickering light, we grew to really like it. There was so much space in the room and really, all you need is a bed and a bathroom. For the price it is such good value

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Australian-anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks for an awesome review! We hope you come back and visit us soon! These reviews really do matter to us and they are always read and considered. We are pleased you had a great time here, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

From reading the reviews and my obsession with the beach bar me and my girlfriend decided to book the place for 4 nights. We was a bit worried about the rooms but was nicely surprised with good air con, massive beds and plenty of power lets along with an awesome shower. We only spent one night in the beach bar met some ace people and ruled at beer pong. The other 3 nights we had early mornings so went to bed at a reasonable time, on the second floor we had no problem sleeping and no noise from the beach bar. Another nice surprise. Staff were cool, room was ace. Cool tuktuk drivers for the hostel. Defiantly best place I've stayed in my travels across Asia so far! A must see!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbo712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

I am so pleased you found the time to write a review - it was a real delight having you stay with us, all the best and good luck for your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on my recent visit to Siem reap. I always try and stay somewhere sociable as I'm girl travelling alone, and this place really hot the nail on the head. I felt really safe, the staff were wonderful, friendly, helpful and the whole place has a really great vibe. Location wise it's perfect close to everything you need really. The roof top bar is the place to be and on this visit I never actually went out socially anywhere else! The food is great with a varied menu and freshly prepared. I stayed in a private room and it was spotless and really good value for the price. Highly recommend you stay here it will make your visit to Siem reap

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

I am pleased that you loved your time at The Mad Monkey - Thank you for choosing us and we very much look forward to meeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just arrived home from Cambodia this morning, and felt the urge to write a review about this place immediately. I absolutely loved it, and had a ball! Last weekend was awesome as all the owners from Mad Monkey Siem Reap and Phnom Penh were there and I met them through a friend of mine who lives in Cambodia at the moment - they're such a great bunch of people, and staying here it feels like everyone in the hotel is your friend who you're travelling with instead of just other hostel patrons. The hostel organises things to do as a big group such as a boat party each week with free beer, BBQ's, day trips to Phnom Kulen, and also quad biking. There was something going on almost every night at Top Banana (the rooftop bar which has sand, hammocks and beer pong!), and it's always fun as they have an ongoing competition between countries about who can do the most grenades - get there and find out what they are!!!
This is the first time I've ever stayed in a hostel, usually I'm the hotel type of girl, but it was more than I expected. Everything was so clean! Oh and the food upstairs is fantastic!!!!!!
The hostel is located within walking distance to pub street, which is the main tourist spot in the middle of the city where all restaurants and clubs/bars are situated. Prices at the hostel are great and you'd be MAD to stay anywhere else!! I can't wait to go back!!!
Thank you Alex, Lea and Ollie - Had a fabulous time! --Louisa

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review on trip advisor - we are pleased that like 97% of our guests you loved your time here. Enjoy your trip and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Best hostel we stayed at during our 16 day adventure! Be prepared to end up extending your stay once you get here!

The location of the hostel is perfect for shopping, partying and of course, Angkor Wat. Its within walking distance to pub street (for partying) and old market and the night market (for shopping!). The hostel helps to arrange tours/tuk tuks as well. The staff are really helpful if you've got no idea what you want to do in Siem Reap.

Also, the staff were really helpful when we made a last minute decision to extend our stay, especially since there were 3 of us.

The rooftop beach bar is the perfect place to have a couple of quiet "cleansers" during the day and to meet people (even from other hostels) during the nights! Of course not forgetting nightly beer pong games and occasional free shots at the bar.

Epic pictures of their outings on their FB page also highlight what a great place this is to meet new people.

Room Tip: We stayed in a mixed dorm and transferred to a private room. Both were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranjini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear guest - what an awesome review! Do come back and meet with us again soon. We enjoyed your company whilst you were here. Have a great trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I booked for 2 nights and stayed for 3 1/2 weeks! Absolutely love this place and the staff. The staff here are really helpful with anything you need and make sure you have a good time. The private rooms are clean and water pressure n temp are good. The dorms have comfy wide beds and they keep the air con on so u can relax in the heat of the day if u had a big night on pub street. lockers are available in all dorms for your values.
Chilling in the the roof top beach bar (its actually a beach bar so go upstairs) and having drinks before going out on Pub street is the perfect setting to get to know everyone in the hostel.
I also urge all Aussies to go and have a grenade for your country to keep us on top of the leader board.
Also book ahead to ensure u get a spot in this lively new hostel. I'ts previously established big sister in Phnom Penh is also great.

Room Tip: Gorilla dorm is the biggest dorm with 12 beds but not cramped and it is the most most social. if ur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 315 in Siem Reap
2,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 315 in Siem Reap
1,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 315 in Siem Reap
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#50 of 315 in Siem Reap
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#71 of 315 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Golden Gecko Villa
The Golden Gecko Villa
#1 of 315 in Siem Reap
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 315 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $11 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most social hostel in Siem Reap! Come stay with 100+ backpackers from around the world. Clean, comfy accommodations (our dorm beds have massive 1.2m mattresses!). A swimming pool and poolside bar - absolutely essential on a hat Cambodian day. A Rooftop Beach Bar with epic sunset views. New events on every night. Tours of Angkor Wat, the countryside, and everything else you came to Siem Reap for. Free wifi. Visa service. We're here to handle everything, so you have the best stay and make the best memories in Siem Reap! Mad Monkey is a socially responsible hostel, too. Your stay will benefit local clean water projects and education organizations. Can't wait to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing