We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service + best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Really great staff in this hostel. Fancy rooftop beach bar which I have not yet seen in such a hostel, thus a great place to meet other travelers and to team up.
Great location in the centre, which allows a 10 min bike ride to the angkor temples...
I experience the superb service, when I lost my credit card and had no money left - they organized my airport taxi and paid for it in advance and also gave me a receipt, so that I could pay for my room later...
Definitely one of the best hostels I`ve been at so far!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your good review! It was a pleasure having you stay here with us in Siem Reap! Have a great trip and we hope to see you soon! Love The Mad Monkeys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,618 - 1,624 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great atmosphere, wicked party hostel, rooftop beach bar! Clean rooms, mid range price, really friendly staff, great place to meet other travelers and Locals!

Definitely the best hostel in Siem reap


I have to fill this review with a 200 character minimum I really can't be bothered I'm about to go to Bangkok. Soooo....

Fnfuejdnfheiekdnfhfhfufyrieowjsqdbfnrjeiahdbrnfidhebrhfufnfndhvufmfnggyruwidiowjfkeofe

Room Tip: Dorm unless u wanna get jiggy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your great review! We are delighted that you like 90% of our other customers rated the Mad Monkey as an awesome place to stay! Love the Mad Monkeys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice place to stay. Ten minutes away from Pub St. Really clean. Very friendly staff! The rooftop bar is really good. Everything is a bit pricy compared to what you get in other places. While it's not the middle of the action, this is definitely a party hostel.

Can't say I want to get drunk every single night like most of the people staying though. I enjoyed my stay, but it gets old. This is why I checked out after 4 days and into another place in Siem Reap. That's when I discovered the much cheaper area of Sok San Road. Closer to the action, surrounded by cheap eateries and still quiet.

Two things: Lockers would be nice. Also, if a roommate checks out early she manages to go out quiet and let the rest of us sleep, but then the staff comes in at 7 am cleaning the bed, moving the bed and cleaning the ensuite bathroom.

Seriously? Please let me sleep and wait until people are out or until checkout time at least.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witte_Aap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks very much for your great review! Your feedback is very important to us! We will re-evaluate our food prices although many people seem happy from our current reviews - We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and partied with us for at least a few nights! Love from all of us at The Mad Monkey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Great value for money. Stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed everyone! Superb service. Organised laundry, excursions and transport all from the front help desk. Would definitely recommend anyone travelling on a budget to choose these guys! Awesome rooftop beach bar too!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedwards321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks very much for your great review! We are happy you had an awesome time at The Mad Monkey! Enjoy your travels! Love from the Monkey team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were reccommend through a friend, booked for 1 night and didn't want to leave. I've never written a review before but feel this place needs to be shouted about. The rooms were expectionally clean with everything you would possiblly want at a good price. The roof top beach bar was the best place in town to be. It made drinking, eating, meeting new people and playing games so much fun. It really is the place to be, we as girls felt very safe and protected. The staff were so helpful and friendly always going that extra mile to make their guests feel right at home. There really is no place like mad monkey!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlsexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks very much for your great review! Your feedback is really important! Have a great trip and come back and see us! Love from us all at The Mad Monkey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The Mad Monkey is a place for you if you're looking for a clean, perfectly located place for a reasonable price. :-) Dorms are great with big, comfy beds. It's clean. Staff is really nice. Rooftop beach bar makes it all even better.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delicjaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks very much for your great review! Your feedback is really important! Love from us all at The Mad Monkey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We initially planned to come to Siem reap for 3 nights, however ended up extending our stay for 8 nights in total. Not only was Siem reap an especially great place to be but the mad monkey ticked all the boxes. We stayed in a number of rooms whilst here all of which were clean and spacious, the staff were particularly helpful and all have a great sense of humour. The owners are always around to offer any help or answer any questions about where to go, where to eat etc etc. The rooms are cheap, and there is a restaurant which serves yummmmmyyy food. The communal area is great, comfortable and lively in the evening. The hostel accommodates all your needs you can rent bicycles, book buses to further destinations, book day trips etc etc. This hostel suits a range of ages young backpackers to those who enjoy a quiet drink of an evening, it is very close to 'pub street'night life and is surrounded by restaurants and shops, even better is the fact the nightlife is far enough away for you to get a good nights sleep! Definitely stay here when you make a trip to Siem Reap!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrae N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thanks for your great review! We are always delighted when one of our guests loves the hostel! Have a great trip and we hope to see you soon! Love The Mad Monkey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 325 in Siem Reap
2,463 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 325 in Siem Reap
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 325 in Siem Reap
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#46 of 325 in Siem Reap
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siem Reap Pub Hostel
Siem Reap Pub Hostel
#11 of 325 in Siem Reap
422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lub d Cambodia Siem Reap
Lub d Cambodia Siem Reap
#19 of 325 in Siem Reap
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $13 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most social hostel in Siem Reap! Come stay with 100+ backpackers from around the world. Clean, comfy accommodations (our dorm beds have massive 1.2m mattresses!). A swimming pool and poolside bar - absolutely essential on a hat Cambodian day. A Rooftop Beach Bar with epic sunset views. New events on every night. Tours of Angkor Wat, the countryside, and everything else you came to Siem Reap for. Free wifi. Visa service. We're here to handle everything, so you have the best stay and make the best memories in Siem Reap! Mad Monkey is a socially responsible hostel, too. Your stay will benefit local clean water projects and education organizations. Can't wait to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing