We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money, clean and efficient service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money, clean and efficient service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Great value for money. Stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed everyone! Superb service. Organised laundry, excursions and transport all from the front help desk. Would definitely recommend anyone travelling on a budget to choose these guys! Awesome rooftop beach bar too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedwards321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks very much for your great review! We are happy you had an awesome time at The Mad Monkey! Enjoy your travels! Love from the Monkey team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    227
    72
    41
    27
See reviews for
6
139
480
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were reccommend through a friend, booked for 1 night and didn't want to leave. I've never written a review before but feel this place needs to be shouted about. The rooms were expectionally clean with everything you would possiblly want at a good price. The roof top beach bar was the best place in town to be. It made drinking, eating, meeting new people and playing games so much fun. It really is the place to be, we as girls felt very safe and protected. The staff were so helpful and friendly always going that extra mile to make their guests feel right at home. There really is no place like mad monkey!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlsexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks very much for your great review! Your feedback is really important! Have a great trip and come back and see us! Love from us all at The Mad Monkey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The Mad Monkey is a place for you if you're looking for a clean, perfectly located place for a reasonable price. :-) Dorms are great with big, comfy beds. It's clean. Staff is really nice. Rooftop beach bar makes it all even better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delicjaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks very much for your great review! Your feedback is really important! Love from us all at The Mad Monkey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We initially planned to come to Siem reap for 3 nights, however ended up extending our stay for 8 nights in total. Not only was Siem reap an especially great place to be but the mad monkey ticked all the boxes. We stayed in a number of rooms whilst here all of which were clean and spacious, the staff were particularly helpful and all have a great sense of humour. The owners are always around to offer any help or answer any questions about where to go, where to eat etc etc. The rooms are cheap, and there is a restaurant which serves yummmmmyyy food. The communal area is great, comfortable and lively in the evening. The hostel accommodates all your needs you can rent bicycles, book buses to further destinations, book day trips etc etc. This hostel suits a range of ages young backpackers to those who enjoy a quiet drink of an evening, it is very close to 'pub street'night life and is surrounded by restaurants and shops, even better is the fact the nightlife is far enough away for you to get a good nights sleep! Definitely stay here when you make a trip to Siem Reap!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrae N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your great review! We are always delighted when one of our guests loves the hostel! Have a great trip and we hope to see you soon! Love The Mad Monkey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Been staying in mad monkey now for over 2 months, keep meeting so many awesome people Ive found it hard to leave cos i feel like im gonna miss out on something if i were to leave. The Staff are so friendly, the owners are brilliant, constant games of beer pong and flip cup going upstairs at the roof top bar, the room's are really good the dorms are pretty spacious with big beds! affordable prices, the food is really good and most nights you get free shots which is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It is always great when we have a good mixture of long term guests that get "Stuck" in The Monkey! Thanks for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We found the name for Mad Monkey's on Hostelbookers and wanted somewhere close to the centre of town and Ankhor Wat. I'm so pleased we decided to go with them. We payed just $3 a night for a fan dorm room (special offer as it was still being refurbished), but we all had double beds, a new bathroom and lots of space and it was much nicer than the majority of rooms we had stayed in before. The people who work at Mad Monkey, from the cleaners to the owners all make you feel like you're at home. We made really good friends there, the hostel has a beach bar on the top floor and the owners make sure guests meet eachother so despite having been to Siemp Reap before and finding that it only had the temples to offer, it was actually one of the highlights of my trip. The feel of the place is awesome. We were asked to paint a wall, as the hostel allows artists to decorate (as they're fairly new) if they like what you do, and this was such a cool experience. I genuinely didn't want to leave and for the two weeks remaining after our stay I was name-dropping Mad Monkey to everyone.
By any standards for a hostel, it's fantastic...for a hostel that's only three months old? Well, they're heading for something incredible. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your great and lovely awesome super fantastic review - See you soon Mo Fo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here after staying at the sister hostel (Top Banana) in Phnom Penh. Top Banana was brilliant so it seemed logical. We booked in advance and it cost us $15/night for a twin room with aircon. We paid $9/night in Top Banana for a double room with a fan. Although we paid more the room was smaller and the bathroom in Top Banana was brand new and hence a lot nicer. The rooftop bar is also not as nice. The one at Top Banana was cool and funky. Mad Monkey have tried to do the same and have tried to make a beach bar (with sand on the floor) but I felt hadn't quite pulled it off. Drinks were also more expensive than on 'Pub Street' (which is about a 10 minute walk away).

In all we were just a bit disappointed and have offered a word of warning to those who think they will be getting a Top Banana but in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks for your review, although I dont consider it fair I do listen to all of our guests feedback.

Top Banana has been running for over ten years, The Mad Monkey Phnom Penh for just over a year and the Mad Monkey Siem Reap for just over two months so I am confident with time we will be at least as good as Top Banana.

Thanks for staying with us at Top Banana - have a great time on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#7 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#38 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#11 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Property: Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most social hostel in Siem Reap! Come stay with 100+ backpackers from around the world. Clean, comfy accommodations (our dorm beds have massive 1.2m mattresses!). A swimming pool and poolside bar - absolutely essential on a hat Cambodian day. A Rooftop Beach Bar with epic sunset views. New events on every night. Tours of Angkor Wat, the countryside, and everything else you came to Siem Reap for. Free wifi. Visa service. We're here to handle everything, so you have the best stay and make the best memories in Siem Reap! Mad Monkey is a socially responsible hostel, too. Your stay will benefit local clean water projects and education organizations. Can't wait to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing