We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,054)
Filter reviews
2,055 results
Traveler rating
1,624
262
86
45
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,624
262
86
45
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar booze cruise free shots beer pong beer bike banana bar grenade challenge pub street social hostel drinking games great party hostel private room cheap drinks a great place to meet khmer staff solo traveller good vibes
Filter
Updating list...
1,940 - 1,945 of 2,055 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The Mad Monkey is a place for you if you're looking for a clean, perfectly located place for a reasonable price. :-) Dorms are great with big, comfy beds. It's clean. Staff is really nice. Rooftop beach bar makes it all even better.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delicjaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks very much for your great review! Your feedback is really important! Love from us all at The Mad Monkey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We initially planned to come to Siem reap for 3 nights, however ended up extending our stay for 8 nights in total. Not only was Siem reap an especially great place to be but the mad monkey ticked all the boxes. We stayed in a number of rooms whilst here all of which were clean and spacious, the staff were particularly helpful and all have a great sense of humour. The owners are always around to offer any help or answer any questions about where to go, where to eat etc etc. The rooms are cheap, and there is a restaurant which serves yummmmmyyy food. The communal area is great, comfortable and lively in the evening. The hostel accommodates all your needs you can rent bicycles, book buses to further destinations, book day trips etc etc. This hostel suits a range of ages young backpackers to those who enjoy a quiet drink of an evening, it is very close to 'pub street'night life and is surrounded by restaurants and shops, even better is the fact the nightlife is far enough away for you to get a good nights sleep! Definitely stay here when you make a trip to Siem Reap!!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrae N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thanks for your great review! We are always delighted when one of our guests loves the hostel! Have a great trip and we hope to see you soon! Love The Mad Monkey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Been staying in mad monkey now for over 2 months, keep meeting so many awesome people Ive found it hard to leave cos i feel like im gonna miss out on something if i were to leave. The Staff are so friendly, the owners are brilliant, constant games of beer pong and flip cup going upstairs at the roof top bar, the room's are really good the dorms are pretty spacious with big beds! affordable prices, the food is really good and most nights you get free shots which is awesome.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

It is always great when we have a good mixture of long term guests that get "Stuck" in The Monkey! Thanks for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We found the name for Mad Monkey's on Hostelbookers and wanted somewhere close to the centre of town and Ankhor Wat. I'm so pleased we decided to go with them. We payed just $3 a night for a fan dorm room (special offer as it was still being refurbished), but we all had double beds, a new bathroom and lots of space and it was much nicer than the majority of rooms we had stayed in before. The people who work at Mad Monkey, from the cleaners to the owners all make you feel like you're at home. We made really good friends there, the hostel has a beach bar on the top floor and the owners make sure guests meet eachother so despite having been to Siemp Reap before and finding that it only had the temples to offer, it was actually one of the highlights of my trip. The feel of the place is awesome. We were asked to paint a wall, as the hostel allows artists to decorate (as they're fairly new) if they like what you do, and this was such a cool experience. I genuinely didn't want to leave and for the two weeks remaining after our stay I was name-dropping Mad Monkey to everyone.
By any standards for a hostel, it's fantastic...for a hostel that's only three months old? Well, they're heading for something incredible. Can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redmegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thanks for your great and lovely awesome super fantastic review - See you soon Mo Fo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here after staying at the sister hostel (Top Banana) in Phnom Penh. Top Banana was brilliant so it seemed logical. We booked in advance and it cost us $15/night for a twin room with aircon. We paid $9/night in Top Banana for a double room with a fan. Although we paid more the room was smaller and the bathroom in Top Banana was brand new and hence a lot nicer. The rooftop bar is also not as nice. The one at Top Banana was cool and funky. Mad Monkey have tried to do the same and have tried to make a beach bar (with sand on the floor) but I felt hadn't quite pulled it off. Drinks were also more expensive than on 'Pub Street' (which is about a 10 minute walk away).

In all we were just a bit disappointed and have offered a word of warning to those who think they will be getting a Top Banana but in Siem Reap.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thanks for your review, although I dont consider it fair I do listen to all of our guests feedback.

Top Banana has been running for over ten years, The Mad Monkey Phnom Penh for just over a year and the Mad Monkey Siem Reap for just over two months so I am confident with time we will be at least as good as Top Banana.

Thanks for staying with us at Top Banana - have a great time on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews