We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, friendly staff and a great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were reccommend through a friend, booked for 1 night and didn't want to leave. I've never written a review before but feel this place needs to be shouted about. The rooms were expectionally clean with everything you would possiblly want at a good price. The roof top beach bar was the best place in town to be. It made drinking, eating, meeting new people and playing games so much fun. It really is the place to be, we as girls felt very safe and protected. The staff were so helpful and friendly always going that extra mile to make their guests feel right at home. There really is no place like mad monkey!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlsexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks very much for your great review! Your feedback is really important! Have a great trip and come back and see us! Love from us all at The Mad Monkey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,626 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The Mad Monkey is a place for you if you're looking for a clean, perfectly located place for a reasonable price. :-) Dorms are great with big, comfy beds. It's clean. Staff is really nice. Rooftop beach bar makes it all even better.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delicjaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks very much for your great review! Your feedback is really important! Love from us all at The Mad Monkey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We initially planned to come to Siem reap for 3 nights, however ended up extending our stay for 8 nights in total. Not only was Siem reap an especially great place to be but the mad monkey ticked all the boxes. We stayed in a number of rooms whilst here all of which were clean and spacious, the staff were particularly helpful and all have a great sense of humour. The owners are always around to offer any help or answer any questions about where to go, where to eat etc etc. The rooms are cheap, and there is a restaurant which serves yummmmmyyy food. The communal area is great, comfortable and lively in the evening. The hostel accommodates all your needs you can rent bicycles, book buses to further destinations, book day trips etc etc. This hostel suits a range of ages young backpackers to those who enjoy a quiet drink of an evening, it is very close to 'pub street'night life and is surrounded by restaurants and shops, even better is the fact the nightlife is far enough away for you to get a good nights sleep! Definitely stay here when you make a trip to Siem Reap!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrae N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thanks for your great review! We are always delighted when one of our guests loves the hostel! Have a great trip and we hope to see you soon! Love The Mad Monkey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Been staying in mad monkey now for over 2 months, keep meeting so many awesome people Ive found it hard to leave cos i feel like im gonna miss out on something if i were to leave. The Staff are so friendly, the owners are brilliant, constant games of beer pong and flip cup going upstairs at the roof top bar, the room's are really good the dorms are pretty spacious with big beds! affordable prices, the food is really good and most nights you get free shots which is awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

It is always great when we have a good mixture of long term guests that get "Stuck" in The Monkey! Thanks for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We found the name for Mad Monkey's on Hostelbookers and wanted somewhere close to the centre of town and Ankhor Wat. I'm so pleased we decided to go with them. We payed just $3 a night for a fan dorm room (special offer as it was still being refurbished), but we all had double beds, a new bathroom and lots of space and it was much nicer than the majority of rooms we had stayed in before. The people who work at Mad Monkey, from the cleaners to the owners all make you feel like you're at home. We made really good friends there, the hostel has a beach bar on the top floor and the owners make sure guests meet eachother so despite having been to Siemp Reap before and finding that it only had the temples to offer, it was actually one of the highlights of my trip. The feel of the place is awesome. We were asked to paint a wall, as the hostel allows artists to decorate (as they're fairly new) if they like what you do, and this was such a cool experience. I genuinely didn't want to leave and for the two weeks remaining after our stay I was name-dropping Mad Monkey to everyone.
By any standards for a hostel, it's fantastic...for a hostel that's only three months old? Well, they're heading for something incredible. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redmegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thanks for your great and lovely awesome super fantastic review - See you soon Mo Fo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here after staying at the sister hostel (Top Banana) in Phnom Penh. Top Banana was brilliant so it seemed logical. We booked in advance and it cost us $15/night for a twin room with aircon. We paid $9/night in Top Banana for a double room with a fan. Although we paid more the room was smaller and the bathroom in Top Banana was brand new and hence a lot nicer. The rooftop bar is also not as nice. The one at Top Banana was cool and funky. Mad Monkey have tried to do the same and have tried to make a beach bar (with sand on the floor) but I felt hadn't quite pulled it off. Drinks were also more expensive than on 'Pub Street' (which is about a 10 minute walk away).

In all we were just a bit disappointed and have offered a word of warning to those who think they will be getting a Top Banana but in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thanks for your review, although I dont consider it fair I do listen to all of our guests feedback.

Top Banana has been running for over ten years, The Mad Monkey Phnom Penh for just over a year and the Mad Monkey Siem Reap for just over two months so I am confident with time we will be at least as good as Top Banana.

Thanks for staying with us at Top Banana - have a great time on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have been staying at mad monkey guesthouse for over 6 weeks now and it's a great place! Awesome staff, good food and nice rooms. The rooftop bar is really cool and it's always something fun going on here every night so if you stay here you won't be bored.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thanks for your great review! We are pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed The Mad Monkey Siem Reap. Please do come back and visit us soon!

Love Mad Monkey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 324 in Siem Reap
2,455 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 324 in Siem Reap
1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 324 in Siem Reap
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#43 of 324 in Siem Reap
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#82 of 324 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siem Reap Pub Hostel
Siem Reap Pub Hostel
#11 of 324 in Siem Reap
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 324 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $12 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most social hostel in Siem Reap! Come stay with 100+ backpackers from around the world. Clean, comfy accommodations (our dorm beds have massive 1.2m mattresses!). A swimming pool and poolside bar - absolutely essential on a hat Cambodian day. A Rooftop Beach Bar with epic sunset views. New events on every night. Tours of Angkor Wat, the countryside, and everything else you came to Siem Reap for. Free wifi. Visa service. We're here to handle everything, so you have the best stay and make the best memories in Siem Reap! Mad Monkey is a socially responsible hostel, too. Your stay will benefit local clean water projects and education organizations. Can't wait to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing