We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed”
Review of Maison Polanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison Polanka
Ranked #76 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Pros: As many others indicate the grounds are a very special oasis of beauty from the frenzy of Siem Reap. We had dinner and it was very high in quality.

Cons: We had the yellow room. No closet (a hanging rack), no television (OK with us), no chair or couch to sit on, a flight of five stair to the bathroom. The overall feel of the room was austere. The breakfast was surprisingly modest. Do not expect, ham, bacon or sausage, they are not offered. Do not expect a croissant, instead your choice is a roll or tasteless white bread.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank baywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonPolanka, Owner at Maison Polanka, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Our rooms are a blend between the simplicity of Khmer homes, the modernity of Khmer contemporary artists, the colonial and post-colonial past (furniture) and the comfort of five star hotel bedding and amenities. We provide TV & DVDs upon request during check in as well as other services (mobile phones, safety boxes use, adaptors... and food requests). Our guest relation receptionist was not able to go through the explanation as you seemed to be tired after your flight. Spartan maybe but not austere...the yellow room is a bright and happy room whose decoration is centered around the painting of artist Kcchao Touch representing her loving mother with colorful hearts and flowers. The yellow room has a choice of seating options: a chair, a divan and a mini 1960's bench. A staircase access visible on the web photos leads to the elevated bathroom which is spacious and filled with light. We do not recommend the yellow room for young children or older persons though, because of the staircase. Because we were fully booked at that time, and because we were not able to have more details about your expectations before arrival, we could not upgrade you to the Purple room or the Green room, which would have been a better match. Regarding breakfast, we usually provide buttered croissants, cakes and crispy daily made ficelle, as well as bacon (on request ) and will make an enquiry to understand what might have happened during your stay. Our special touch at Maison Polanka is to offer a personalized and discreet service matching our guests desires and we encourage all of you to express them upon reservation, before arrival and during their stay to make that moment at Angkor a unique experience. We invite you to return and enjoy Maison Polanka 's full range of options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 259 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Polanka house is probably one of the most beautiful places we have ever been to. A wonderful retreat after a long day at the temples. Once inside the gated property, it's hard to leave. It's like paradise - luscious garden, inviting pool, wonderful service & staff, and excellent authentic Cambodian food (much better than most restaurants we've been to in Siem Reap). My husband really enjoyed his foot massages under the Khmer house - where we stayed (amazing decoration). We were very pleased with our accommodations, and would love to come back soon !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emilie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Having finally gotten round to planning our trip to Siem Reap we started trying to pin down the right hotel experience. We originally short listed the Aman and Le Residence Hotels in Siem Reap (having prior knowledge of their standards) but felt that in such a 'busy' place it would pay off to find a more intimate experience. Thanks to previous fellow travellers we stumbled on to Maison Polanka and decided to opt for a slightly non traditional Hotel experience.

We were very pleasantly surprised by the friendly welcome at the airport and fast efficient transfer to the Hotel, though technically speaking it is much more a private home that has been transformed into a boutique experience. Nestled in a local neighbourhood a stone's throw from the Raffles, Maison Polanka provides privacy in a wonderfully lush environment. Though we stayed in the Khmer house we did see the other four rooms and felt every room was very tastefully and comfortably decorated while retaining a refreshing simplicity.

We spent four full days at Maison Polanka and relied on Chan In (guest services) to book and plan our visits to Angkor. We felt that our interests were taken into account when she recommended the local itinerary and was very responsive to change our guide half way one day (we felt his english was poor).

Though Angkor is the highlight of visiting Siem Reap we personally felt that Maison Polanka did a wonderful job in highlighting Cambodian cuisine. Thanks to Nathalie (owner), Chan In, and the kitchen staff we were able to sample wonderful Cambodian cuisine which is very different to Thai, Laotian, and Vietnamese cuisines. With old family recipes Nathalie and her staff allowed us to sample food you rarely get outside of Cambodia while being dedicated to the quality of ingredients.

We feel that Maison Polanka is incredible value for money. After our first meal taken from the Menu we basically moved off plan and discussed our tastes and preferences and new menus were created on a daily basis to cater to our tastes. Whether it is a massage, visiting suggestions, food, or just relaxation, we encourage future guests to actively engage staff to personalize their experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moveabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Maison Polanka is a tranquil oasis far from the tourist hordes of Siem Reap, but still an easy and interesting 10 minute walk into the center of town. Just 4 or 5 rooms, and more staff than guests. They helped us book temple guides and made great travel arrangements to Battanbang, our next stop. Jean Pierre, the founder, is a remarkable individual. A former novice monk, he has started over 200 businesses in Cambodia that have created thousands of good jobs for Cambodians. Artisans d'Angkor is probably the best known.

Why not 5 stars? Their room rates and food prices are high by local standards, though very reasonable by Western standards. Their laundry service did something to our clothes that resulted in staining. The meals we paid for (a terrific breakfast is included with the room rate) were tasty but not great value.

Would we stay there again? Absolutely! In a sprawling city with over 250 hotels there is nothing else like it.

Room Tip: The Green room has a wonderful deck overlooking the pool and gardens. Not surprisingly, it's als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spanningtheglobe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at Jean-Pierre's oasis last week. Echoing comments by previous reviewers, we were delighted to be guests in this magical setting. The setting is a garden paradise and a welcome respite from the hot, humid days of exploring the wats and scenery around Siem Reap. The staff are engaging and friendly striking the right balance between concern over needs met and offering services without pressure. Jean-Pierre who owns and manages the property made us feel protected and informed, taking a personal interest to ensure that our stay not only at Maison Polanka but in Siem Reap was ideal. He is a special individual. The property is a 3 or 4 minutes tuk-tuk ride to the centre of town, close enough for convenience and far enough to be away and silent at night. Travellers who want a boutique, individual experience in a higher end, sophisticated setting will have their expectations met and more. As a side note, when the laundry service damaged one of my wife's travelling garments, Jean-Pierre unpromptedly deducted the cost from our stay. This kind of dignified experience is exemplary of one of the most pleasant travelling experiences we have ever had. The swimming pool, wonderful breakfasts and touring arrangements which were smoothly handled only added to the five star sojourn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pylorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

On my 5th trip to Siem Reap since 2006, in which I have stayed 7-10 days each time, Maison Polanka topped the five-star hotels run by Raffles and Orient-Express there, even though I previously enjoyed them as well. Three things standout to make Maison Polanka special: first, the friendly attentiveness of the owners, Natalie and her husband, and the superb staff, be it the housekeepers, the manager, the restaurant-lounge staff, and even the cooks (in their uniquely picturesque kitchen). In every regard, the service exudes intimacy yet never infringes on privacy; second, the beautiful tropical flora of the large grounds and the complete privacy of the hotel setting in an old established neighborhood (immediately adjacent to the Maison Polanka Wat [temple]); third, the quality of the guest houses/rooms, crisp French-style laundered sheets, immaculate cleanliness, tasteful decoration, etc. Equally important, Natalie knows Cambodia culture intimately and she is well connected to the Khmer and French expat community. Over the course of my stay, I met many of her friends and they were genuinely friendly and their perspectives on Cambodia added to the enrichment of my stay. Maison Polanka is simply a very special experience for those who want peaceful rest, relaxing solitude, and a perspective or insight on Khmer people and their country, that a stay in a tourist hotel, no matter how well managed, could never provide. I can’t wait to return. I have to add that because I stayed 10 days, Natalie offered French menu options which were heavenly delicious. Her cream soups are the best I have tasted anywhere else in the world.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent. But the separate Khmer style wood house on stilts is worth every penny the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KWYSWilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Maison Polanka is a special place nestled in a neighborhood of Siem Riep. Its a small property consisting of 2 villas and 4 rooms so a fabulous place to stay if you are not looking for the big hotel experience. We stayed 3 nights in the Green Room which has an extended balcony overlooking the pool and gardens which were absolutely beautiful. Our room was spaceous and cozy. Service was impeccable and staff so warm and friendly. They arranged a wonderful guide and driver that made sure we saw what we wanted to see in the small amount of time we had. Breakfasts were delicious and we had a romantic dinner there 1 night. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hotyogaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 361 in Siem Reap
403 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sala Lodges
Sala Lodges
#20 of 361 in Siem Reap
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.1 mi away
Templation Hotel
Templation Hotel
#23 of 361 in Siem Reap
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#7 of 361 in Siem Reap
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Polanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Polanka

Address: Upper East River Road, North of Wat Polanka, Siem Reap 93060, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $122 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Polanka 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Polanka is a collection of unique Cambodian houses offering hotel services in spacious tropical gardens. Set in the sprawling grounds of a family estate, the property hosts 5 luxury suites & rooms.Nestled in the heart of a local riverside village, close to the temples and the old market, Maison Polanka is a private Cambodian residence that will provide your stay in Ankgor with luxury and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Maison Polanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing