We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Maison Polanka”
Review of Maison Polanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Polanka
Ranked #11 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We decided to stay at Maison Polanka from recommendations of a number of well traveled friends. It was the right decision. Truly an extraordinary find. Located on a back road you enter a unsigned gate into a fairlyland garden that leads you to the main guest area. Immediately you're greeted by the lovely staff and shown to your room. We reserved the Khmer House that was the definition of understated elegance. Airy, spacious, comfortable well thought out, it made us feel at home and special at the same time.
Meals were perfect, set over looking the pool, the quiet ambience was just lovely.
The staff at Maison Polanka was one of the best I have ever experienced. Kind and helpful at every turn.
Jean Pierre and Natalie, the owners, should be very proud of this gem they have created in Siem Riep. I can recommend Maison Polanka without reservation, to anyone who treasures a unique, personal hotel experience that is guaranteed to leave you feeling refreshed and rejuvenated and ready to rejoin the real world.

Room Tip: Khmer House is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bangkok8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 266 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is the best I've ever stayed in. They provided a shuttle from the airport at 11PM. The hotel is located near a temple located on a bumpy dirt road. But once you're in the compound, you're blown away by its beauty. They've created a small jungle with very comfortable rooms, decorated to have an old French colonial feel. I highly recommend eating at least one meal there. They actually made better Cambodian meals than any other restaurant we visited. The staff really take care of you. Anything you need or want is provided very quickly. Sandwiches waiting for when you get off the plane? Done. A tuk tuk to take you in to town? Just a few minutes. Though at a charge of $50 a day, we used their driver to take us to the ruin or where ever we wanted to visit. I'm sure we could have found one for a little cheaper, but the ease of doing it through the hotel was well worth the extra $20. Oh, they would also have a cold, wet towelette waiting after exploring the temples. On top of it all, our flight didn't leave until 11PM. They let us stay as long as we needed, no extra charge. Absolutely great service. You simply feel special there. We will definitely stay there next time we visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We can only confirm all good things written by other guests. Maison Polanka is a gem and is managed with great care and attention by the owner and all the staff! Everyone was working hard but with discretion to make our stay memorable. We got best suggestion for sightseeing at Angkor, for shopping at most fancy and valuable boutique in Siem Reap, the owner and the staff briefed our guide to organize visit at Angkor at best hours to avoid crowd and many many other small details which are the real luxury. A complete taylor made staying. A special mention for the food. Usually we do not eat at hotels as we think that local restaurants can be more exciting. Maison Polanka was the "exception which confirmed the rule" as we dined only once outside on a four nights staying. We simply agreed that the food at Maison Polanka was better than the high rated restaurant we tried.... Only suggestion we can give to the owner is to have at least one room with bathtub.
A sincere thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: We stayed at yellow room and visited also the other rooms. All are different in style and size. We l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have chosen the ”Maison Polanka” after having read the reviews on Tripadvisor and we have not been disappointed.
Everything described about good and quiet location, wonderful garden, cosy room’s design, comfortable lodging, etc is true.
What we found more is the incredible personalized service that “Maison Polanka” offers.
Indeed qualified and extremely kind personnel are at your full service and support, additionally the owner “Jean Pierre” is available to provide you qualified suggestions which will help to discover some hidden interesting aspects of Siem Reap and surroundings.
We also have discovered that the hotel’s restaurant offers a delicious local Khmer food, much more tasty than the other restaurants in the city, so we spent several dinners in the hotel having fantastic food in a special “romantic” atmosphere.
We travelled in family, with two kids 10 and 6 years old and we have been all fully satisfied of these vacations.
Maison Polanka is a destination where we surely come back in future.

Room Tip: The Khmer house is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've been many times here, and each stay is special. I just feel in a very private, exceptional place in the heart of siem reap. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the garden is amazing, the food is perfect, service is attentive and the overall makes you feel at home.
Thank you for this stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beeonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Maison Polanka is a haven, a paradise tucked inside Siem Reap. From the moment we set foot on the grounds of Maison, I felt a very warm loving energy right away. The richness of greens surrounding the estate, the villas (Only 2 of them), the staff, the room, make this beautiful boutique hotel stand out from others. Truly wonderful experience of Khmer culture, from the lovely staff attending your needs, greeting you with their friendly smiles, to their kitchen staff, who make absolutely delicious authentic Khmer food (From the owner's family recipe), the gardeners, the guards, all of them, wearing smiles when they see you. They give you a local cellphone assigned to your room to make it more convenient and safe for you to roam the city on your own (they are just a dial away). Their rooms differ in size and are named after colors, we stayed at the purple room. (Photo attached) It was always so lovely to "come home" to a room that is neatly arranged. Takes the tiredness away from the day. The room smells like heaven, one of my favorites, from the scented oil down to the pillow scents, everything is well thought of. You can see the personal touches of the owner in the designs of the room; the color motif, the art displayed and the furnitures. This is not the usual 5 star boutique hotel, they offer something you can never pay with money. It is the experience of their hospitality. It was my home away from home. I felt safe there. I felt taken cared of there. This trip was my first in Siem Reap and definitely is not my last for I can't wait to visit them there again at Maison Polanka. I highly recommend this place for people who want to have a different hotel experience. I highly respect their staff and the land itself. Something very ancient there, you can feel it in the air. It was a blessing to know that that place exists. I indulge you to experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: Purple room is lovely. :) it is quiet and in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GalaxLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just recently returned from 5 nights at Maison Polanka -it was simply wonderful and we were so sad to leave ! We were traveling with 2 small boys and this was the perfect place to relax after touring the temples. The layout of the estate is wonderful and designed to give an intimate feeling. Breakfast with fresh breads, outside, overlooking the pool and gardens. Wonderful dinners under the star - the best we had in Siem Reap, and reasonable given the quality. All of the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. For example, we spent the afternoons swimming and they would prepare us a free snack by the pool, such as fresh bread or smoothies. We have stayed at many resorts in Asia, and this was by far our best experience. I have already recommended Maison Polanka to several friends.

A couple words of advice:
- bring the small map (provided in the room) of the hotel location so you can show tuk tuk drivers where to go. Most do not know of this place since it is new, but with the map had no problem.

- consider doing some research to find your own tuk tuk driver before going. We used the "house" tuk tuk a couple times, but thought is was a bit pricey and not as comfortable compared to one we found by browsing the Trip Advisor forum.

Room Tip: Green room has a nice balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelalotParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.4 mi away
Shintana Saya Residence
Shintana Saya Residence
#1 of 378 in Siem Reap
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 378 in Siem Reap
626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#4 of 378 in Siem Reap
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#9 of 378 in Siem Reap
2,283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sumeru Boutique Hotel & Spa
Sumeru Boutique Hotel & Spa
#15 of 378 in Siem Reap
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#3 of 378 in Siem Reap
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Polanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Polanka

Address: Upper East River Road, North of Wat Polanka, Siem Reap 93060, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $148 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Polanka 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Polanka is a collection of unique Cambodian houses offering hotel services in spacious tropical gardens. Set in the sprawling grounds of a family estate, the property hosts 5 luxury suites & rooms.Nestled in the heart of a local riverside village, close to the temples and the old market, Maison Polanka is a private Cambodian residence that will provide your stay in Ankgor with luxury and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison Polanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing