We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a professional private tour guide”
Review of Angkor Wat

Angkor Wat
Ranked #2 of 141 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent a week in Angkor. I had to take pictures from sun rise to sunset. Without Sun Park and his brother Yan's help, it was impossible. They are hard-working, patient and knowledgeable

Date of experience: December 2013
2  Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bucket list"
in 1,236 reviews
"day pass"
in 1,314 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 2,230 reviews
"the sun rise"
in 421 reviews
"main temple"
in 454 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 443 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 324 reviews
"take your time"
in 441 reviews
"amazing temple"
in 552 reviews
"tour guide"
in 1,201 reviews
"sunrise tour"
in 330 reviews
"avoid the crowds"
in 332 reviews
"two days"
in 323 reviews
"angkor"
in 3,579 reviews
"tourists"
in 2,436 reviews
"cambodia"
in 3,754 reviews
"wat"
in 1,865 reviews
Filter

25,895 - 25,899 of 43,530 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

I always go here in the late afternoon. Spent 20 mins chatting to some monks who had visited for a half day. Recommend you wear good shoes to all the Wats and in the late afternoon things can become a bit dark inside

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Dara-Khmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

beauty. massive. fantastic history and an amazing story to tell. Wy does it face West though? Some believe because it faces west it may have brought bad luck to Cambodia.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank IslandHopping69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This temple is stunning and to describe it is pointless... however your timing is important.
Sunrise: We arrived at the temple entrance at just after 5am and we were among thousands of others. It was surreal to be part of the throngs that were arriving at the temple in the complete darkness to be in time for the sunrise. To witness a beautiful sunrise, you have to be lucky with the weather. Unfortunately we weren't, but the experience was memorable.
General visit: if you want good easterly photos, visit in the morning and if the westerly ones are what you want, visit in the afternoon.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Picked up by our tuk tuk driver at 5am for the sunrise experience. Driver provided us with flashlight to safely make our way to the perfect spot to watch sunrise. Gets very busy but worth it. Amazing experience.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank claire2893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor Wat also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Wat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing