We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go in April! Felt like melting”
Review of Angkor Wat

Angkor Wat
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Angkor Temple and Sunset Viewing
Ranked #1 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't go in April! Felt like melting”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The temperature with the humidity was upwards of 50 degrees C! Angkor wat is amazing! Other than the heat, we thought this place was a real treat. The power of nature is amazing, and I don't think you can see this anywhere else in the world at this magnitude.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuubah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33,394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27,344
    5,023
    866
    113
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Incredible ancient Kingdom”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just the most extraordinary few days out.

Location: 15 mins by Tuk tuk from Siem Reap. We hired a driver for the day which cost about $15 the first time, about $10 the second.. They drove us to all the temples we wanted to visit and recommended places to stop off and have a drink/ some food etc.

Angkor Wat itself is busy and bustling. Very exciting. It really does look like in the pictures.

Lots of young kids begging for money and selling postcards. It's really hard not to give in and hand over some cash but by giving them money you are 'voting for them to stay there' according to our temple guide.

Angkor Wat itself is not ideal for people with vertigo or who don't do STEEP steps as the top level is quite a climb.

Keep your wits about you as you come out in to the market down the side, the sellers are very persuasive and if you show even the tiniest crack they will get right in there! Apparently it's bad luck for them if you look at something on their stall and then walk away so they will try many things to get you to buy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKateG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiguinto, Bulacan, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Every Stone Tells a Story”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

There are hindu and buddhist temples from the past accessed by tourists. If you marvel ancient art and structures this one is for your. But not for the poor in health and those that hate walking and climbing because going here will make you walk and climb. A definite must to bring cameras.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jhun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unusual look at the past”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I could imagine the bedecked elephants, musicians, court figures, priests, and worshippers at this amazing place. Angkor Thom offered wonderful carvings that reminded me of Egypt and Mesopotamia. This is a hard area to get to, but worth the trip! Cambodia is rich in history but has many cycles of vigor and decline, and an odd mix of Hindu and Buddhism.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eileenthepainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must visit place”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We landed in Phnom Penh at 14:00 hrs and then from there the next destination in our road map was Siam Reap the same day.
The biggest mistake that we did is to take the Bus. If you are reading this review and plan to visit Siam Reap either take a direct flight there or take a cab. Their was no leg space and we were cramped even in the front seats. The first 50 KM's were terrible and i began to think if any road existed between the two cities. After some 2 hrs of bumpy ride which gave a test to all my sockets and joints in the body we reached a tar road.
From there on it took some 7 hrs more to reach Siam Reap. i guess i had counted each minute as it passed and thought will never make it there as the journey seemed endless.
In between we had some boiled vegetables and rice which we considered as our dinner as the bus wont stop anywhere again in between.

The road side restaurant is'nt the exquisite place which you may be looking for in this mystic land and for a few it might be hard to decide if they want to eat there given the hygiene maintained.
Finally after 9 hrs of ride we reached Siam Reap at 2 in the morning.
The bus stopped in a dark desolated place , thankfully there were a few tuk tuk drivers available even at that time . Mr Mao introduced himself and took us to our hotel. We dint bargain about the price asked for the ride and we were glad that we reached the hotel finally.Mr Mao asked us if he could be our tuk tuk driver for our visit to the temples and we agreed for the next day.

The local currency is non existent and all the rates are in USD.
So while exchanging currency please convert into USD.
Also the rates for local people is different than tourists for any item you buy so u need to live with that kind of discrimination made.:)

After heavy breakfast we came out of the hotel and we saw a guy waiting for us at the door step . He accompanied us to one more tuk tuk wala and told since Mr Mao is busy Mr Roy will be attending to us today.We started our tour with some bargaining(which you can do without in Cambodia) and we first visited the Angkorwat temple.
Had seen it so many times in tv channels and books but the child like joy which at that moment standing at the door step of the magnanimus temple is hard to explain. You need to see it to feel it.
The temple was ransacked during war and they had to put it together piece by piece but then i would say the officials had done a fabulous job.
The temple is woth the pain we had taken to reach here and i was excited.
The best time to visit the place is early morning as it gets hot in the aftrenoons . Water and umbrella\Cap + Sunglases are must carry items + some change cos you will find n number of places and people where you might need to spend of a few cents.
Once in a lifetime experience is what i would say and i will come here again to visit this place .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveller_fareast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor Wat also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Wat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing