We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angkor Village Resort
Ranked #68 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013


I know how you feel when you read all the negative reviews before coming to this resort. We just arrived here yesterday and are happy to be here...I'd like to address a few issues that concerned us before we came.

1. wifi - there is free wifi in the lobby and the restaurant with decent speed.

2. pool -the grayish blue tile makes the water look murky. We saw staff taking leaves out in the morning and it does has a filter system. No worries.

3.Breakfast- it has all that other 4 star hotels have. The display is not as good because everything is covered with lids to prevent bugs from getting to the food.

4. Hot shower - not an issue. Plenty of hot water!

5 dinner price- like many hotels it is more expensive (twice as much) to eat in than out. With one juice and two dishes for dinner we paid $23 and was vey good. Overall, the food in Cambodia seems more expensive than Vietnam and other Asia countries.

So far we enjoy staying here a lot, dipped in the pool, took a hot shower...life is good. Wait, there is no conditioner in the bathroom. Bring one small bottle with you!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
There are newer reviews for Angkor Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 808 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Angkor Village Resort and it far exceeded our expectations.On arrival at the hotel we were greeted warmly by the staff,our many queries were attended to professionally and always with a smile.The staff were well trained and we did not have any trouble communicating with them.The spa was excellent,the therapists were well trained and attentive to our needs.My husband and I decided to dine at the Le Jardin to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the dining experience was good,the food was delicious and the service was excellent.The chef was very sensitive to the extend of personalizing the menu to suit our dietary needs.My husband and I really enjoyed our stay the Angkor Village and we especially loved the ambiance.We will definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKGILL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I really have mixed feelings about the Angkor Village Resort and can’t help feeling that numerous corners are cut. The staff are pleasant and polite, and before we left, we were presented with a picture of us in a frame as a memorial which I think is a very nice gesture. Somehow, the staff lack a sense of urgency and common sense which I attribute to lack of training – a failing by the management. At departure, no one came to pick up our luggage, check-out takes ages and the driver was 15mins late in picking us to go to the Airport. When the concierge called the driver, he said he was having lunch! On the way to the airport, the driver made a detour to Angkor Wat, in case we wanted to have a last look. What was he thinking???

We were drawn to the resort because of the greenery and meandering long pool and the village feel, as seen from the website. However, upon closer inspection at arrival, the so-called greenery looks very overgrown, almost wild. There’s nothing botanical nor landscaped about the resort, let alone one of the restaurants being called “Le Jardin” which I think is a joke. The water from the pool looks quite cloudy with lots of fallen dead leaves from the wild forest. Buffet breakfast selection is very limited, and so are the room service and restaurants. The guests would be better off having meals outside the resort.

The location of the resort is slightly further from the town centre and would cost about USD1.50 per person to Pub Street/ Old Market by Tuk Tuk and slightly more on the way back. The journey is about 15 – 20 mins. I would not advise single female travelers to stay at this resort as the roads are not lit at night and it can be quite frightening and disorienting.

I honestly think Angkor Village Resort has the potential to be a great resort, when the management invests more on the staff and the amenities. Currently, it is not.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed one night as they were fully booked for Chinese New Year. It was a tropical paradise and the service was outstanding. The landscaping made one feel as though you are in a rain forest that has been altered for everyone's enjoyment. At check- in we were seated and provided with cool mint scented towels to wipe off the dust of the day and ice tea in coconut shells. After spending the day at the temples we were tired and hungry and still suffering from jet lag. We hoped to have dinner at one of the 2 restaurants on site but unfortunately they were fully booked till late that evening. The concierge was wonderful and found us another restaurant after making 3 more calls...Chinese New Year meant everyone was busy but the restaurant she recommended was excellent and a short tuk-tuk ride away. I loved the service and the ambiance. I would definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: The rooms/cottages closer to the main lodge are more convenient for restaurants but the cottages nex...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKM1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

First of all, the global design of the hotel, lobby, garden and rooms is really nice, its well done. Now let's go to the downsides (there were quite a lot...):

1) The pool: Well the pool water was so dirty that you could not even see the bottom of it. By bye swimming pool. Moreover its not really a pool but a tiny canal (3 m large) that runs through the bungalows. Nice on a plan, but not working in the real world.
2) The food: the restaurants are overpriced for very average food (don't eat there)
3) The internet : Do you think you can have WIFI in your room for 135 USD à night???? No way... Not at Angkor Village resort... You have to go to the lobby instead which is at a walking distance of 300 meters from your (charming) bungalow....
4) The lobby: So this is the place where you are supposed to check internet or have a cappuccino (for instance). You will notice that the table are ridiculously small and placed so far from your seat that its actually really hard to either put your computer on it or drink a cappuccino. Don' event try to move the table closer because its fixed to the floor. If you commit the mistake to order a 5 usd cappuccino you will get a beverage that poorly mimics this drink but doesn't get close to it. So yes they don't know how to make a cappucino and they charge you 5 usd for what they call a cappuccino. Where as any outlet near the night market (blue pumpkin for instance) will deliver a decent cappuccino for 2.50 usd. I think Its also better I don't comment the french baguette from the breakfast that was obviously from the day before, then put in the freezer and heated up again and served the next day. When you tried to cut, it just crumbled down between your hands like an old mummy.
5) Sauna and fitness: Somewhere in the back of the hotel in a shabby bungalow they have a rundown fitness room where you don't want to stay more than 10 seconds once you enter the room. Attached there is a broken sauna (Sorry sir, sauna broken...).
5) The welcome : When you arrive at the hotel you just wanna check in as fast as possible, take a shower and rest, not at Angkor village resort. You have to sit for twenty minutes with a member of the staff who gives you tons of documentation and really insists heavily on detailing all the wonder services (with additionnal charges) that this wonderful hotel offers to you. To justify this endless police interrogation they offer you a welcome drink (some sweet warm chemical lemon tea) but well its served in a very edgy coconut shell (Haloha !) Then when you think you can go to your bungalow, they still insist on taking your picture for a souvenir (no thank you mam...). After those endless 20 minutes you walk to your bungalow and you think your luggage is there? No way... you have to wait another ten minutes until they bring it to you. Well done.

6) The farewell rip off: Lets say before you leave Angkor Village resort you wanna book two bus tickets. You ask the price, they say 13 USD per ticket, next day before you leave the ticket price actually rises up to 16 USD... Why please ? Oh sir ! Because have Internet on the bus... Well so then explain me why all the other people on the bus (and they were given an wifi password as well) just had to pay 13 usd then? This will remain a mistery forever...

So I don't recommend Angkor Village Resort to anybody in case its was not clear yet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arto c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with family and friends during a weekend. From the hotel pickup to in the airport to our departure, this hotel showed great service. a really nice place with good food and well equiped rooms. Pool could be cleaned better - lots of leaves etc falling into the pool at all times.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Håkon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The internet web page did not do justice to the elegance and charm of this lovely resort. The villa was wonderful with King size four poster bed with corner bath/shower and his and hers basins, with nice toiletries to match. The turn-down service included a bedtime story , and the buffet breakfast was lavish amidst a tropical vaulted ceiling restaurant surrounded by a pond with koi carp and water lillies. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. The 200 metre meandering pool was a lot of fun. A tropical paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#64 of 361 in Siem Reap
541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,331 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#29 of 361 in Siem Reap
870 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.9 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#9 of 361 in Siem Reap
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Resort

Address: Phum Traeng, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#38 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $79 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Angkor, "Angkor Village Resort" a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World features beautiful cottages, restaurants and spa all set amongst lush tropical gardens and along a unique 200 metres river shaped swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Angkor Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Village Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing