We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, lovely design, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angkor Village Resort
Ranked #70 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice place, lovely design, but...”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A beautiful palce to stay, well designed, very clean, good pool, good buffet for breakfast. The room was spacious, well prepared, we find, chicolate and fruit complimentary. Staff is very kind and helpful, location is good close to siem reap center but not too close. I have only three small compliants. They are small, but as far as this resort is excellent is a mess that there are small defects. The most important is that our room a/c system was so noisy and during the night, we decided to switch it off even was very hot. Second there was a wi-fi but in the room to slow to be used. Third, please 3 US$ for an expresso...more expensive that in the heart of Paris.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paolo64Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngkorVillageTeam, General Manager at Angkor Village Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Paolo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we are happy that you liked our property.

I'm truly sorry for the technical inconvenience you experienced and I will forward your comments to the concerned teams to ensure that it won't happen again.

Hope to welcome you again at Angkor Village Resort

Best regards,

Pierre Carron
General Manager
Angkor Village Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    219
    58
    19
    1
See reviews for
187
380
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Loved this hotel and will return. Woke at 5am on the first morning, opened our balcony doors and heard bird song and monkeys. Has the feel of nearly being in a jungle. Loved having a river to swim in with plants either side. Very friendly place who are keen to help. We visited the elephant farm, unfortunately the advertised Mahout training no longer exists. The hotel is close to Angkor Wat park and Siem Reap, easy tuk tuk rides everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor so you get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a very beautiful place to stay. The grounds are vast and surrounded by a lush garden and twin fountains. There is a long pool that snakes around the resort and is very pretty to look at (the pool does not seem to have a filter system so we didn't swim in it). The people are very friendly and service is nice. They tend to leave you alone and overall I think the hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway for couples or families because you don't see other guests much (they are here but you only see them during breakfast or near the reception) so you feel like you are alone, which can be good or bad depending on what you want. I have to say though, they were very accommodating - we had a midnight flight and they allowed us to check out late, keep our luggage at the office and shower in the spa. Gotta love that. Also, HUGE complimentary breakfast which was delicious. Also, the spa service was very nice, I recommend the traditional massage after a long day at the temples. Overall, very lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngkorVillageTeam, General Manager at Angkor Village Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Syddie,

I would like to thank you for the time taken to write this review.

We are glad that you liked the Resort and the facilities. I would like to inform you as well that the Resort Pool do have a filtration system but due to the shape and the scale of the pool it is not easy to spot.

We hope to welcome you to Angkor Village Resort again in the future and hope that this time you will take the opportunity to take a dip in our pool !

Best Regards,

Pierre Carron
Angkor Village Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel. It is beautiful, the grounds, ponds, and rooms. The service is very good.. The only complaints we had was that the breakfast is very repetitive, and the guide they got us for the temples wasn't very good. Also, our room was in the back near some sort of all night club - loud music throughout the night!, The location is perfect, near town. Take the cooking class- great trip to market, and morning of cooking- then eating!!,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmsknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a peaceful resort in a beautiful lush garden. Our room on the ground level was clean and the bathroom was huge. The renovations which were happening at the time of our visit did not detract from the peacefulness of the resort as they were generally over by the time we returned from visiting the amazing sites of Angkor Wat. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, it was my daughters birthday and the hotel arranged for a cake to delivered to our room on the morning of her birthday which was really special. Tuk Tuk's are easily accessed outside the main entrance and the ride into town or to the sites is not far. I found this hotel to be good value for money and would definitely recommend it. The breakfasts were good but the selection was slightly limited but not bad - the bar lunch was good.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the great pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A ten minute tuk tuk ride from the centre of Siem Reap and five minutes by car from the Angkor Wat ticket office, set amidst beautifully maintained gardens and fountained ponds, the accommodation is in villa style overlooking the swimming pool which meanders as a river through the complex, widening to a deeper larger pool at the edge of the 'village'. Wooden bridges hung with flowering shrubbery intersect the 'river' at intervals and connect the villas.
Iridescently winged dragon flies and butterflies flit over the wet areas and pools. Communal areas are centred on a quad of open-sided facilities, lobby, bar, breakfast area, restaurant etc. Service is attentive and staff are helpful. The 'Jardin' restaurant was closed for refurbishment while we were there, but breakfasts were of high quality, the pastries being especially good. Siem Reap itself has a growing range of good quality eating places, so the lack of restaurant was not a problem.
Tip: take plenty of insect repellent. Along with the beautiful butterflies come plenty of other biting insects. Forgetting to reapply repellent after a swim I got over 20 bites in just 15 minutes.
Although there is no malaria in this area of Cambodia there has been an outbreak of Dengue, so it is worth it to be careful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Wonderfully appointed rooms in a fantastic setting. Unique pool. Superlative French inspired service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bx61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#64 of 356 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#40 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,319 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#27 of 356 in Siem Reap
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,949 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Resort

Property: Angkor Village Resort
Address: Phum Traeng, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#38 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Angkor, "Angkor Village Resort" a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World features beautiful cottages, restaurants and spa all set amongst lush tropical gardens and along a unique 200 metres river shaped swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Village Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing