We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous boutique hotel. Great location. Service can be improved.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #41 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique hotel. Great location. Service can be improved.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at La Residence D'Angkor for 5 nights from 23 Dec. Great boutique hotel. Fantastic huge open plan rooms with enormous spa tub, ipod dock, free WIFI, great selection of food at buffet breakfast, little gifts at night during turn down service.. everything you would expect from a 5 star resort. Really great experience.

The only thing that could improve is the service. I can tell the staff are trying very hard, but for a 5 star hotel, the standard is just not there. When we checked in, we were told about the Christmas Gala dinner but no one seems to know what the price was. During check out, quite a few items were missed out on our bills (thank god we were honest), but another bill from someone else who had dodgy handwriting were added on. When i pointed out the mistake the reception wasn't apologetic at all but instead were just amused. The hotel car that dropped us off at the airport had to stop for fuel (which you would think would have been done before picking us up). These are not great faults but thought I should point it out for being an Orient Express hotel I think the service could really be improved.

We stayed at the much cheaper Raffles Le Royal at Phnom Penh for 5 nights prior to Siem Reap and the service is really top notch in comparison.

Overall though the experience at this hotel is top notch. The location is fantastic, a short walk (10 mins) to the town centre but away enough to have some peace and quiet. If you must use the tuks tuks waiting at the front of the hotel, just be aware that they are used to overcharging. We also have the best local guide , Cchay, for 2 days who is excellent in English, knew how to dodge the crowds at Wats and showed us quite a bit of local life in Siem Reap. We booked him via email from Australia and would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone. (chhay2005@hotmail.com, or 01244079 )

Also love the little French resto just next to the hotel on the side street called Paris Saigon. Very home cooked style intimate and cosy French/Vietnamese food.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YanYanTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    181
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
243
739
66
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

La Residence was overall an excellent experience - From the friendly staff to a spectacularly manicured property with a beautiful pool. What stands out is the quality of staff and their commitment to providing the best experience for their guests.
Rooms are immaculate and well serviced. Perfect location for a holiday visit but perhaps not for business.
We would go back any day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex1980_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

We already stayed in another Orient-Express hotel in Bali, and all what we can say is that all their properties are stunning, from architecture to service and atmosphere. There is something unique to both of them and we are so pleased to have make that choice.
Quality of service is constant and full of charming details. The Kong Kea Spa is very affordable for a Spa awarded by Conde nast Traveler. We realized why when we went out and saw so many of them at ridiculous cost, but not with the same refinement and quality of treatment of course.
First time we experienced a Relaxation room, very nice feature.
At night the hotel swimming pool area change completely with a different set up. Very intimate for watching the stars in front of a fire.
We can not wait to experience another one.

Grant

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerdfgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

It's the first time that I review a hotel, but for sure this property deserved to be known.
We've spent 4 nights at la Residence, and all we can say is that it was a perfect experience with many fine details.
the rooms are spacious with excellent amenities and huge bathtub.
Service is efficient, you might have to repeat your order, but all is done with a smile.
Food is exquisite and the wine list is impressive all dinners seems to have a show included.
Don't miss Viroth's restaurant just a block away.
We had a great guide ask for Mara.
We will recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

What a beautiful hotel. The upstairs bar/lounge and pool areas, in particular, are perfection. We didn't want to leave either, though visiting in December, when the weather was nice, definitely had something to do with our ability to enjoy those areas! Our stay didn't start or end perfectly - two of the women at reception simply aren't conveying that Cambodian hospitality we encountered everywhere else within the hotel and throughout Siem Reap. There were some snafus on the rooms and erroneous attempts to inappropriately nickel and dime us at first but, in the end, we enjoyed ourselves and appreciated the other staff's fine service too much to quibble. It's fair to mention these bits, as there are so many lovely options in Siem Reap, many with a lower price tag. The food in the dining room was also overpriced and not terribly great. But aside from those things, we'd recommend. If you like smaller, more intimate stays with lush foliage and generally good service, this is your place. There are a lot of large, package-tourist places on airport road and throughout. We would have been miserable! Still, Siem Reap is amazing. Don't miss Ta Prohm and Land Mine Museum - you won't be disappointed! And the restaurant Asok in the Alley was the best food we had in town after trying a few of the usual suspects.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kartwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

If it was a beach hotel we‘d go on a yearly basis... Unique for total well being.

I had a hard time to decide on the RIGHT hotel before I went to Siem Reap. The choices beside the Residence d‘Angkor were the Amansara, Raffles Grand Hotel d‘Angkor and the Hotel de la Paix. I know a number of Amans, the FS and MO‘s (the last two are not in Siem Reap) but I‘ve never stayed at an Orient Express Hotel. The pictures looked nice, so I thought to give it a try.

Upon arrival at Siem Reap Airport Mr. Ran Sophea, the front desk manager himself was with the driver to pick us up. From the minute we entered the hotel we felt at home. Every single staff member was just extremely nice and helpful, the food excellent, the massages at the new Kong Kea Spa close to heaven. The Gym is also well equipped.

The hotel is ideally located to visit the temples but also to walk to nice bars and restaurants at night. While the Amansara and the Raffles are directly on the loud road that leads to the airport/temples the Residence d‘Angkor sits a little back in a lovely, very nicely landscaped garden directly on the banks of the river.

The huge 25 m pool offeres quiet space to relax after sightseeing with very attentive but unintrusive service. Also, the Martini Bar is nice to have a cocktail at before dinner. From the breakfast buffet you can expect everything a buffet can possibly offer.

We stayed in room 49 (third floor, pool view) and enjoyed the stunning pool/garden views, the well maintained interior and the spotless room and turn down service.

While in Siem Reap we checked out the other hotels, too. You‘ll find the Aman in a poor, far away location on a crammed estate, you‘ll find an old ramshackle hut as the Raffles Grand Hotel d‘Angkor with very stiff service and you‘ll find an overstyled, loud and hectic Hotel de la Paix on a loud and busy main street. While visiting the de la Paix I could not understand why it‘s so hyped for it‘s design. The location is really not that great.

If you want it relaxing in a charming, colonial atmosphere, go for the Residence d‘Angkor. It‘s worth every cent.

And at night: Do something special: Visit the www dot acoda dot org The ACODA orphanage brings you in touch with real Cambodia. We enjoyed our evening at the Orphanage so much. A show put up by the children starts at 6.30 h for about a half hour. An amazing project that helps the many orphans in Cambodia. There is no charge but you can donate some money if you want to.

Residence d‘Angkor and ACODA both strongly recommended ;-) Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICSAESJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

I stayed at La Residence d’Angkor for 3 nights and I found the service to be exceptional! All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very spacious and authentic to the local culture. You really feel like you are in Cambodia. The swimming pool is to die for and the food in the restaurant at night was outstanding with every dish having a unique presentation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#40 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#29 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#8 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,887 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing