We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous property, lovely bar, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #41 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property, lovely bar, helpful staff”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Although it has been a few months since I stayed at La Residence, the property has stuck with me as one of the best places I stayed in Southeast Asia. The room itself is luxurious. The pool has ample seating and is a nice escape from touristy Siem Reap. I loved the open bar on the second floor, where you could order drinks and food. La Residence assisted us with acquiring a guide for Angkor Wat and we felt the guide they suggested was top notch as well as reasonably priced. They even prepared to-go morning breakfast bags for us, since we wanted to watch the sunrise at Angkor wat and were leaving before breakfast was available. The managers went out of their way to learn our names and assist us with suggestions, reservations, etc throughout our time there. All of the staff was helpful and polite. Of special note, one of our waiters Van Vang, who not only remembered our coffee orders each morning, but went out of his way to greet us whenever we returned to the property.
Two small things to note: if you choose to use the spa, I'd say stick to the massages, etc. I got a pedicure and found it to be a little bit awkward- clearly not their speciality. Also, the way our room was set up, the shower did not have a screen/door/curtain, so although this may not be an issue for couples, it could lead to privacy issues if this is not the case.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serendipity789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    182
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
247
750
67
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

An open reception with live soft music greets you at this oasis by the river. Three monks bless your journey if you´re so inclined. The pool is a wonderful place to relax after a day of sights and very early mornings. Beautiful wood floors and ceilings, sounds of water, good food, amazing bathroom and a huge tub. It´s so beautiful you´re inclined to forget the harsh reality of life outside the hotel walls. It´s a 15 minute walk to the town center which is a great way to get to know the city.
On the streets of Siem Reap BEWARE of scams involving children. Powerful mafias use children to lure children into buying them milk for example. The tourist pays an outrageous price for the milk which is very quickly returned to the establishment where it was bought and the scam begins once again. The child receives $1 a month for this. Sad and terrible for the children.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fundetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed four nights in this wonderful hotel, and would very willingly return there. We had previously been assured by friends who had stayed here that the Residence d'Angkor was THE place to stay, and they were proved absolutely right. The hotel consists of an exquisite series off low wooden buildings all built around a 50 metre pool, mimicking a temple layout with a central water feature. At night, fires lit around the pool reflected in the water.....pretty sublime! The first evening we ate in the barbecue restaurant, whose dishes were delicious, interesting and innovative. The rooms were all extremely spacious and comfortable, and the service was superb, always courteous, helpful and friendly, everything done with a smile. Although the hotel is in the middle of town there was little or no noise, and it was easy to walk just a short distance from the hotel to some excellent and quite sophisticated restaurants. The hotel's location on a tree lined boulevard just across from the river is both attractive and relatively peaceful. The staff at reception were good at giving advice on restaurants and ringing through to make a booking.

Twice did I make use of the facilities at the Kong Kee Spa, located in the hotel, and I was very impressed by the beautiful ambience of the Spa and by the high standard of the various therapies being offered. I particularly want to mention and thank Mr Hun Sokhon, one of the spa therapists, who gave me two of the best massages I have ever had. I would certainly recommend him for his undoubted skill, his attentiveness and courtesy, and his good English. Talking to him helped me to learn something of daily life in Cambodia today.

We were very, very satisfied with every aspect of our stay at the Residence d'Angkor. As others have said, it really is like a small corner of paradise here on earth!

Room Tip: Go for a first or second floor room, as they get more light, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoclericus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

this is an unbelievably beautiful hotel with excellent staff. upon arrival (we spent 2 nights as part of our honeymoon), we were served a welcome drink, and got upgraded to a suite!!! This was an unbelievable amazing room, very spacious, tastefully decorated, amazing bathroom. We had dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed some lovely khmer food. Also the cocktails at the martini lounge are yummy. Breakfast is also great, and we would like specifically mention the lovely gentleman preparing the eggs freshly every morning, his smile makes you feel comfortable, and your breakfast even more enjoyable. The pool and spa were awesome. We also got a late check out which we appreciated very much. This was one of the best hotels we have every stayed at, and if we get the chance we will definitely go back. Thank you La residence d' angkor for making our stay and honeymoon special!!!!

Room Tip: take the suite!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hase1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Spent three nights here. Rooms were lovely although the bath/shower combo was a large stone bath with a three foot lip to clamber over to get in. Because of the positioning of the taps and shower head the easiest way to get the thing operating was to climb in first, sit on the ledge in the tub at the back and then get the temperature right. The hand basin was a large shallow oval. The mixer nozzle hung so close to one edge of the oval that putting your hands into the stream of water caused the water to splash onto the counter. Not well designed. However, the air conditioning worked well, the pool was lovely and poolside service was excellent. Wifi free and fast – in room, dining room and poolside.

I found the bed comfortable but the pillows a bit soft.

An easy tuk-tuk ride into the city or to some nearby restaurants

Room Tip: If you ask for a room overlooking the pool remember that the windows are two-way glass!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

gorgeous hotel - everything was stunning! amazing service, great food - both breakfast and dinner. rooms were incredible! awesome location for visits to town, night bazar and the temples. was a piece of paradise in the middle of cambodia. pick up from airport prompt greeted with waters and a super friendly driver. perfect stay all the way!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbandcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very nice hotel, unique experience, cozy, I do not hesitate to go back again!
1.-Location: 20 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes from Angkor World.
You may walk to local market, restaurants and bar. Also tuk-tuks are located outside the hotel.
2.-Rooms: big, nice bathroom, nice view to the pool and our amenities "very interesting and deli fruits".
3.-Staff: very attentive, "fresh towels everywhere: cab, check in and at the pool" those towels smell so good, so fresh that help you to cool down!!
4Restaurant: very good and we enjoyed our first night dinner with a Cambodian dance show.
5.-Monks: 2 a weeks monks go to the hotel, around 9am for a ceremony, be there!
6.-Tours: good tour guide, knows how to get the important points at the Angkor World without people.
7.-Spa: the best ever! staff very attentive and ask questions to make you feel better and of course offer you a super service!! i havent had those good massage ever!!!. I really recommend it!
8.-Pool and bar: a must, after walking all day long at the temple, down the sun and humidity.
9.-Hotel boutique: nice souvenirs, good quality.
All the best for the hotel staff, you all guys are doing good job!
Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecinaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#43 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#29 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#9 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing