We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #41 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent three wonderful days at La Residence d'Angkor in mid April. The service we received was impecable...not only did the staff go above and beyond, they all knew our names based on sight, knew our itinerary and we full of very helpful information. The airport pickup was prompt, with cold towels and water waiting for us in the car. The front desk was able to make suggestions, help arrange reservations and transportation to some delicious, authentic Cambodian restaurants. They also were very accommodating with our request for a late checkout, as our flight didn't depart Siem Reap until 7:30, they allowed us to checkout at 5:00 pm. The tour we booked through the hotel was also nice, albeit rather pricy. We decided to only do one day of guided tours and then hired a tuk-tuk for the other two days. The pool was beautiful and refreshing, and the grounds overall were stunning. Food: we enjoyed the breakfast, the baked goods were particularly tasty, although I personally didn't realize there was hot food available outside until the last day. We also enjoyed happy hour at the upstairs bar (2-for-1) but we did not usually have dinner at the hotel, preferring instead to find more local spots. Overall a truly lovely experience.

The room was clean and beautiful, the bed was quite comfortable, and I looked forward to the turndown service every night with a delicious treat left for us each night (tiramisu, macaroons, green tea donughts..all delicious!)

Room Tip: I do want to correct some mis-information that I have read in previous posts, contrary to what some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelSimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    182
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
247
749
67
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Although a good hotel with all the facilities you would expect we found irritations that detracted from our stay. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, but in our room the shower didn't always work ( except when you called the engineer and it was perfect when he turned it on). The catering was off the mark eating outside, even in a hot climate, needs prompt service and it wasn't.

Upsides are the friendly, helpful staff, the spa, which is excellent, and if you are really lucky you will be greeted by the charming general manager.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyBumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
420 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is truly 5 star and is located very close to the markets of Siem Reap.
Airport pickup was on time and very comfortable van.
We had a pool side room and facilities were excellent.
Staff were always very friendly and welcoming and looking to please.
Meals at both restaurants were very good and great buffet selection for breakfast.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool view room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwe003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have eaten here 3 times, first in October 2012 and then twice again in January of this year.
This review is for the environment, and restaurant only.
Its a real ‘treat yourself’ menu, with some thought provoking choices, both Asian and western, and easy alternatives for the youngsters, with a ‘to die for’ chocolate fondue that will have them begging to return!
The dishes we’ve had have all been excellent, and the wine superb. If you get confused with choices the senior staff in here are fantastic help,
Check out when their cultural dance evenings are too, and sit outside for a great view,.
I love the feel of this establishment; it has a great ambience, in a very charming and exciting way, blending the interior with the beautifully kept surroundings is exquisite.
It is rather pricy, but I have come to expect that in Asian hotels at this star level,
Hope to stay here one day. We shall certainly continue to visit the restaurant on our future visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia_and_beyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loulé, Faro, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent hotel which lived up to my expectations in every respect! When next in Siem Reap this will certainly be my hotel of choice. Service with a smile was the order of the day - a staff who obviously cared about their patrons. The food in the various restaurants was excellent which meant that we were more than happy to try dishes that we have never tasted before and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBJ675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here in January with three friends for a bit of luxury in between backpacking travels. The aiport pick up was faultless and set the tone for the stay. We had a lovely standard room a few steps away from the pool where we spent a lot of our time.

There were lots of surprising little touches that made us all smile - the complimentary fruit kebabs brought round as we were laid by the pool were very refreshing!

The bar was beautifully airy and comfortable with great cocktails. We sampled a lot of the snack menu here - the pizzas being the highlight.

Breakfast was a treat every morning, especially with a table out on the terrace. There was a great buffet with lots of fresh pastries and fruit. Coffee refills were always quick and the ALC selection extensive.

We had dinner in their Circle restaurant on our last night. The menu was just right, mixing tastes we knew from home with tastes of Cambodia and the tasting menu was a great end to the trip. It was a surprise to find so much was homemade on the premises and done so well.

All of the staff were very friendly and did their best to help. We were out at 4am on one day to see the sunrise at Angkor Wat and it was great to have our car waiting with fresh take away breakfasts. Lots of the staff had great stories to tell and were always found with a smile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The property was design after Angkor Wat. We were picked up promptly from the airport by the hotel staff. Upon meeting us at the airport we were given cookies and water to eat in the van on our way to the hotel. When we arrived the staff took their time to show us our room, facility and the activities we could participate in during our stay. My husband had the 90 min massage which he said was incredible. The pool was like bath water it felt great after a long day of site seeing. We had fresh fruit and pastries fresh in our room daily. Our 29 year old son was with us which they set up an extra bed in the room the downside was there was no privacy in the room when taking a shower. It made it impossible for me to get ready without having my son leave the room. The hotel is in a great location next to the night market. I loved their night market they had dancers with great bargains. I spent some time at the Artisian Market earlier in the day the quality was OK at an inflated price. On a side note their is such an outcry to help the children in Cambodia. I was happy to see even our hotel asking tourist to do whatever they could to help the children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny77Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#45 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#30 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#10 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing