We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #45 of 345 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A bit overrated”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and found the staff professional and service minded, but the whole place needs a bit of refurbishment. Little things like cobwebs, unclean menu, peeling wood, show that there is a lack of attention to detail.
Sitting a the (nice) pool is not relaxing as people walking on the wood and the pool system are making constant noise. Not ideal fro having a quiet afternoon nap.
Food at the restaurant is quite expensive.
Good bedroom, but the bath / shower system a bit out of date.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gm-Angkor, General Manager at Belmond La Residence d'Angkor, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear BKrul2001
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at La Residence d’Angkor. It is good to read that you found the staff professional and service minded but also appreciate the candor of your other comments.
Rest assured that we have taken immediate steps to rectify the issues raised, starting with the printing of new menus,! We trust that you will once again stay at La Residence d’Angkor when you return to Siem Reap to experience first hand the changes that has been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    182
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
250
754
67
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just spent 3 nights here and this is a gem of a hotel,staff are top class and the position and decor of the hotel are immaculate
The swimming pool area has been done especially well and after a day temple trekking.......you will need it !!.
We had a suite in the rear of the complex,it was immaculate with a huge stunning bathroom and a private quiet terrace,I'm sure all the rooms in this hotel would be great so it matters not which you choose.
We took a private tour of the temples with a guide arranged by the hotel,great guide first class time had by all.
If you get the chance hire the helicopter and go see the floating village and Angkor Wat from the air........WOW.....worth the expense,just tops it off seeing the temples from above.

Room Tip: Any room you can't go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxuryseeker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

First of all it was good value for money. This was a great hotel. It is in a good location and you only can walk from there trough the old market. The hotel is very Khmer in design. The room was large and very well deigned with a good smell in it. The fournitures and the decoration were very smart. It was very clean too. I wish the rooms had just a little bit more day-light. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfasts too. The pool was very beautiful and pleasant. The staff was exceptional. They were very friendly and very professional, and had a good sense of the detail.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a wonderful 4 day stay with our family. The staff went out of their way to get to know our names and the preferences at breakfast for our children. It was a wonderful experience. Our children also had the opportunity to interact with the kids from Together for Cambodia which gave them some insight into the lives of some Cambodian orphans. The swimming pool and spa are two great places to relax after a day of sight seeing. We also enjoyed the cakes at the small restaurant next to the pool. Hotel has large rooms and is close to all the temples

Room Tip: The rooms all look the same, just the location changes. River side room was fine for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked he Summer Package that included accommodation, breakfasts, transfers and one dinner. It was excellent value for money. This is a very nice hotel and I loved every moment of it. It is in a great location walking distance to the old market which is great fun.The breakfasts were yummy and the staff exceptional. It is a hotel that after a hectic day at the temples the serenity makes it all worth while. We chose our own private tourism guide, car and driver of which we met at the hotel each day and the hotel welcomed him each time there was no problem that we didn't book through the hotel. The hotel is very Cambodian in design, our room was large and overlooked the pool which is delightful except when we were there it rained most of the time so we only had one swim. but that didn't dampen our enjoyment of the hotel.They make the best lemon grass tea with fresh lemon grass. Nothing is to much rouble.

Room Tip: I prfere he 2nd floor as it is a little higher and a very nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

First off, this is a magnificent hotel. Just walking into the hotel is a treat. The check-in was very easy and the staff was always bending over backwards to help in any way possible. When we arrived to our room, we absolutely loved it. The design and decor was beautiful. It had all of the amenities you might need. The bathtub/shower was very large and nice. The room was very spacious; so much so that our 1 year old who just started walking had plenty of space to roam around and loved every minute of it! Our balcony overlooked the hotel pool. You might think these wouldn't be a very good view but in fact it is a great view. The pool is surrounded by trees and is very nicely designed. The bed was very comfortable and large so after long days of touring, it was great to come back and relax. The staff also does a turn-down service every night. The rooms were always very clean as well. The food was very good and came in large portions although like most hotels, was overpriced. We are a budget minded family (though we did splurge on this hotel) and after ordering food for our child from the kid's menu, found that those portions are actually more than enough for most adults. Plus the prices were a great deal less so we tended to order from the kid's menu (for example, for the cost for one normal order, we could order 3-4 of the same from the kid's menu). Also, the mini-bar is greatly overpriced. Don't get anything from it. Take a trip to the local store and buy drinks/snack. The price of one can of coke is 3.50 USD from the mini-bar; you can get a six-pack of coke from the local store for 2.40 USD. We did get the breakfast included in our stay which I absolutely recommend. The breakfast was very good and because it was easier to eat it in our room (trying to sit down at a restaurant and eat with a 1 year old isn't fun), we had it delivered (only 5 USD for room delivery). My wife did use the spa for a massage and loved it so I would recommend the spa if you are looking for a nice relaxing moment. They offer 60/90 minute massages and are actually reasonably priced. The hotel staff really made our stay terrific as well. I can't give them enough praise for how well they took care of us. They always went that extra bit just to make the stay better even if we didn't ask for it. I understand that is what all hotel staff get paid for but that isn't always what happens (even if you might need assistance). Overall, I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Angkor or just staying in Siem Reap. As far as location, it is just a short walk (about 1 km) from all of the Old Town shopping areas (or you can just take a Tuk Tuk if you don't want to walk). When we visit again, we will absolutely stay at La Residence d'Angkor.

Room Tip: We had a pool side room which offered a beautiful view of the pool. It isn't your normal poolsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a very charming hotel, close to town but far enough so that you do not hear the noise of the all night bars and clubs of Pub street. Large sliding doors let in enough light to make the rooms airy and bright, gorgeous wooden floors and wooden vanity in the bathroom offset by white towels and bed linens. Staff in the restaurant, around the pool, cleaning our room and at the front office are all very helpful and most probably the friendliest we have ever encountered. Management is always around but it seems like she empowers her team to interact with the guests - so often the foreign management in Asia steps in every time we try to talk to staff, at this hotel the employees were well trained to help us with all our needs. Highly recommended

Room Tip: They all seem to look the same, just the view is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 345 in Siem Reap
1,260 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 345 in Siem Reap
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#35 of 345 in Siem Reap
1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#11 of 345 in Siem Reap
2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#39 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing