We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #42 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a beautiful hotel, managed by Orient Express. We have stayed in Orient Express Hotels in Europe but this was our first experience of South East Asia, so we choose a hotel group that we felt comfortable with and we were not disappointed.
Rooms are very large and airy. Decorated with local wood and silks. Fluffy bathtowels and soft white linens on the beds
Restaurants - there are two. One is large for breakfast and fine dining and a smaller one that is more informal for lunch or all day sweets. Coffee is very good
Bar upstairs are cool and breezy with good views of the pool and gardens
They seem to like water at this hotel as you cross a large pond filled with koy when you enter the hotel. On the other side of the reception is another koy pond and then there is the amazing swimming pool - it is refreshing and long enough to swim laps
The spa is modern and cool and smells fantastic. Our treatments were professional.
We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel and can recommend the service by the friendly staff

Room Tip: The garden and pool rooms are set in a tropical paradise
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelsonsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,401)
There are newer reviews for Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

A hotel that offered more than expected. From the moment we arrived and were welcomed with a delicious fresh mint drink, we knew this will be the perfect place for us. Rooms are cozy and offers traditionl charm. Large oval bathtubs with overhead showers and more fluffy towels than what we could use. The pool is surrounded by tropical plants and deep enough to stay cool even in the heat of Cambodia. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The front desk staff arranged our tours with a lovely guide who speaks perfect English. It may be less expensive to get a guide off the street, but our understanding is that this can be risky as you do not know how good he will be while tour guides arranged by the hotel have been vetted by them. My wife tried the local spa treatment with a local herbs and thought it was great

Room Tip: River rooms cannot all see the river, though we were lucky to be on the top floor where there is a c...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugar339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

After traveling from our hotel in Bangkok we thought nothing will be as grand and luxurious and then we found La Residence d'Angkor. I guess it is not really fair to compare these 2 hotels as they are so different in style and class, but don't be misled by the rather plain exterior of this property. It is a charming hotel in traditional Cambodian style and the best thing about it is the staff. They all seemed to know us, unlike what happens in a big city hotel. They remembered our breakfast preferences and drinks of choice in the lounge. The room was spotless and decorated with classic style. Interact with the people, after all, this is what makes us all feel valued.

Room Tip: Suites are more modern than the standard rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

at La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap. Lovely hotel, beautiful design; we loved our room with a big banyan tree outside of our deck, the water gardens, the wonderful atmosphere of the open-air veranda where we could enjoy a tranquil moment and a tea after a day out in the city. The service was fantastic, the staff extraordinarily helpful, open and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back to this hotel again. We stayed in a very exclusive hotel at our next destination in Southeast Asia and were sorry not to have stayed in the La Residence there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgreeneNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is the best in the area. There are not many luxury hotels in Siem Reap, so choice is limited. We are so happy that we choose to stay at La Residence d'Angkor. We visited the other luxury hotels but felt that the Amansara was too formal for our liking and Raffles needs a facelift. At La Residence we felt truly at home. The staff are welcoming and always seemed to be available to help.
Rooms: Large with large corner tub with overhead shower. The only thing I would change in this hotel is to have a separate shower cubicle.
Pool: Beautiful. Large enough to swim laps and enough shade to get out of the sun
Restaurant: During our stay new items were introduced at the new Ember restaurant where you can have coffee and pastries all day long. The staff told us that there is a new concept coming for this restaurant. We did have dinner in the other restaurant and loved the Khmer food.
The front office staff gave us a lot of advice for our tours, even though the tours were not booked through the hotel but by our travel agent

Room Tip: Pool side rooms is very big
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a fantastic resort/hotel in the heart of Siem Reap, though away from the busy downtown traffic and noise. The swimming pool area offers a tranquil haven after a day visiting the sites of Cambodia. The staff is exceptional - friendly and service oriented. We loved our room = perfect in every way, clean, large and cool in the heat! The Spa offers international standard service. Breakfast offers a very large variety of dishes, including 8 different juices.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravel224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A lovely Khmer style hotel managed by Orient Express. if you do not stay here, at least go for dinner when they have the traditional dance show. The food is delicious and the show authentic. Big rooms, very clean and comfortable. Lush gardens and tropical plants. Very friendly and service oriented employees.

Room Tip: Suites are very large and modern even in this traditional hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 361 in Siem Reap
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $117 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing