We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, lots of room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #41 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good hotel, lots of room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

La Residence is a very good hotel. The grounds are pretty, facilities are well designed - the bar, restaurants, swimming pool, the sun loungers are all very high end in their style.

The rooms are equally well designed with very comfy beds, nice sofas, flat screen TV, and very elegant bathrooms.

It's located along the river, about 5min away from the Siem Reap city centre and about 15min from Angkor Wat (all that via tuk tuk that is).

All things considered, La Residence definitely qualifies as a luxury hotel.

There are, however, a few let downs that simply should not have happened in such an establishment.

When we checked in, we were directed to a room that smelt awful. Some sort of obnoxious smell or mould, or maybe something rotten. The kind of smell that would come out of a gutter. We were exhausted after a long journey, and were only offered an alternative room at 10:00 pm. Too late for us, so we spent our first night in the smelly room. Not a great arrival.

We were moved to another room the next morning, which was good - and not smelly.

The rooms on the ground floor (the cheapest ones - or shall I say, the less expensive ones) are noisy. You can hear traffic, but more annoyingly, the housekeeping staff doesnt do much effort to let guests sleep late. From 6 or 7 onwards, you can hear them constantly giggling, talking out loud, rolling their trolleys on the wooden slates... It's just plain impossible to sleep past the early hours of the morning, and the room's sound proofing is weak.

Wifi connection exists throughout the hotel. But it's slow and patchy. There's also a weird firewall that blocks half the websites you try to connect to, for no reason whatsoever (I'm talking regular websites here, not adult stuff). I couldnt even update my travel blog.

Food at the restaurant is okay. It's by no means 5* quality, but more like what you'd get in a good cafe in town. Ordered a pizza once, I'm pretty sure it was a frozen one just quickly put in the oven. Also ordered a lobster club sandwich which was average - the lobster was semi raw.

The service overall is kind and polite. Very respectful. But sometimes a bit hit and miss. The turn down service being done at 7:30 pm whilst we're in the room (despite having been out all day, which would have given them plenty of time to do it). A late checkout (and by late, I mean 1:00pm instead of 12:00) not granted despite our bad check in experience. A drink that we sent back (who puts canned orange juice and honey in a Mango Lassi?) but charged anyway.

All these things are tiny but, put back to back, slightly alter the luxury experience.

Good hotel to stay in, very enjoyable overall but room for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehdi_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    181
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
245
740
66
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The location of La Residence d'Angkor makes it the ideal place from where to explore the temples. Just about 10 to 15 minutes by car or tuk tuk to the main temples and about a 10 minute walk to Pub street, though we thought that Pub street is overrated in the guide books.
The hotel has very large rooms with a daybed the size of an extra twin bed. Luxurious white linens on the beds and very large bath/shower. Complimentary Internet access was great as we had to pay for this elsewhere in Asia. We had one dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed the food and good service. Allow the front office to arrange your tours, they know the guides and the best times to visit the different temples for a good experience. Friendly service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

A very good place to stay in a rather chaotic city, however...

The hotel is very well located, walking distance from many restaurants that you'll want to eat in including Viroth - which you'll want because the food in the hotel isn't great. The hotel is lacking in European refinement, though they are very willing to help you and the employees want to do their best. I don't understand how a hotel that is owned by the Orient-Express doesn't train their staff properly.

I think for the price it's worth it. There are some hotels that are more expensive in town, but what more do you really need? You will relax at La Residence, which is what is needed after braving days at the temples.

We stayed in a room on the third floor overlooking the pool. The rooms are quite large and well-appointed. The pipe in the pool was broken which is a red flag for swimming but didn't matter because they still managed to clean it daily. It's a very relaxing environment in a very chaotic city.

We found Siem Reap to be exhausting. The 'downtown' is walking distance from the hotel and reminds me of Tijuana. It's basically a place where underaged kids go to get drunk or high at happy pizza. We did have a very fun night out in town, so if you feel like some chaos it's there for you.

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank map_the_world_anew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The perfect location in Siem Reap, close to temples and close to town. Hotel with a lot of attention to detail. We made our reservation on line and was picked up by two lovely staff at the airport. Cookies, cold towels and cold water made the heat and dust suddenly feel bearable. At the hotel we received more towels and a refreshing welcome drink, complete with the recipe without even asking for it.
In the lounge we were served a little taste of rice wine and the bar tender explained that the green grass on the cocktail table is actually young rice plants.
It is worth booking your tours through the front desk. They know where to go, when to go and who the best guides are. We have read that you can get cheaper guides doing it yourself, but then it is hit and miss and with only a few days, we did not want to take that chance.
Stay in a suite - it is modern and very well appointed

Room Tip: Suites are gorgeous, modern and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guamirogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

If being spoilt and a relaxing short break is what you need, than look no further than this Hotel. From the airport transfer, dinner service with a surprise birthday cake, great massage and friendly staff this Hotel covers all the boxes. Great location and let the front desk organise a tour with an informed guide of the nearby temples. Will definelty return to this Hotel and only to happy to recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Garden view room was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prizza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Beautiful hotel, we will be back.
Our entire family enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel. We had a large room overlooking the pool with the daybed changed into a bed for our son. Large bathtub with overhead shower, modern vanity and all the amenities you need. Breakfasts are large and saw us through till late afternoon. We enjoyed one dinner at the hotel on the evening with the show. A little pricey, but very good food and they did not mind to cater to my vegetarian needs.
Front office staff are very friendly and helped us with our tours.
We recommend the Best of the Best full day tour to see the most important temples in limited time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel has the best location in town - it is very close to the down town area (within walking distance), a short ride away from the temples, though offers total seclusion once you enter the property.
High ceilings in the lobby, a green paradise around the pool, very large rooms (we had a riverside room), huge bathtubs and the best spa we have experienced anywhere in Asia.
Don't miss the food here. Breakfast has a large variety of cooked and fresh items and dinner is an experience. We got a discount for our second dinner and choose the popular Khmer dishes. Outstanding.
We will be back

Room Tip: River side room was very large and big bathroom as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#42 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#28 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#8 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing