We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Definition Of Luxury and Extraordinary Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #41 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Definition Of Luxury and Extraordinary Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed in early September at La Residence d'Angkor for four nights with my daughter. I can honestly say it just doesn't get any better than La Residence d'Angkor. This is a five star (really six stars) hotel at the highest level. The rooms are large and magnificent. Beautiful teakwood floors, stunning art work, and a bathroom that is as big as a small hotel room, provided us with an experience that was simply extraordinary. The rooms really could qualify for an Architectual Digest photo shoot. The rooms either overlook the river or lush gardens. The swimming pool is fantastic - great for lap swimmers like me. The restaurant is first rate with the best breakfast one could imagine. Yet, what really sets this hotel apart from almost all high end five star hotels and resorts is the management team and every individual working at La Residence d'Angkor. Quite frankly, every need is anticipated by the intelligent and empowered staff. And, no reasonable request for anything is refused. There are other excellent five star hotels in Siem Reap. However, there is no hotel in Siem Reap that comes close to combining the luxury, truly wonderful service, and value of La Residence d'Angkor. If six stars could be awarded a hotel, La Residence d'Angkor would be at that ultra high level.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful. It just depends on whether you like to overlook a river, a garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    181
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
245
739
66
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just came back from second trip to Siem Reap & have seen most of the hotels there. This looks to be the best by far & it would stand out anywhere, beautiful grounds, fantastic staff & service AND a great location, convenient to everything. Siem Reap is really coming along fast too ...lots to do there, just get out & have a look around!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcosgrove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is an excellent hotel.

We stayed here for four nights, in one of the rooms over looking the pool.  The service was friendly and attentive from the second we arrived at the airport; the hotel offers an pickup service ... including queuing for a visa. We visited during the wet season, even though our inbound flight was delayed and the outbound journey was via flooded streets in Siem Reap, the staff had everything under control. Amazing. Half an hour after landing we were already checked in, and out and about in town.

The hotel is centrally located in Siem Reap, only a short walk or $2 tuk-tuk to most restaurants and bars. The rooms and all the hotel amenities are beautiful and well maintained. Small balcony off the room, generous bathroom with large sliding doors at either end, and a super-super-sized bath, blissfully quiet apart from the occasional frog (outside).

The hotel lounge is very relaxed, over looking the pool and glimpsing out onto the street/river (it also did the best Beef Loc Lac we managed to find in Siem Reap).  Its a hot part of the world; cultural visits were generally very very early in the morning or mid afternoon, in between it was great being able to have a swim in the pool.  

It didn't seem like La Residence attracted large tour groups.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

I don't normally write reviews while still at the hotel, but this one can't wait I'm afraid.

Over the last years Siem Reap has generally turned into some Khmer Angkor Disney Land. The temples are indeed extremely spectacular and one of those must see destinations on planet earth, but cheap air fares, regular flights, improving infrastructure and last but not least word of mouth have made particularly SR so 'westernised' that even my grandmother would come here. Long gone are the days when a trip to Angkor was something for the well off or adventure seeking students on their route through Asia. Welcome to Angkor 2011: Package holiday hell.

And this is exactly where this hotel fits in. La Residence d'Angkor by Orient Express. Sounds grand, plush, mysterious with a hint of Agatha Christie. My grandmother will not have heard of any of the cutting edge top range hotel chains that set the standard these days, but "Orient Express" will ring a bell and create expectations in infrequent travelers to ensure this place gets good business.

But is it justified? No!

The location is fairly good. The hotel is close enough the the centre and temples to be a perfect place for both your day and night activities. "Pub Street" and some local sights are within 10 mins walking distance. The main temple is 10 mins away by tuk tuk or car. Perfect. The hotel grounds are absolutely charming and truly give you the feel of being in a Khmer village with teak houses. Then pool is nicely landscaped in the courtyard, overlooked by the pool view rooms with private balconies. I spent a few hours in the afternoon reading while it was raining and the atmosphere of the inner court and the sound and smell of the rain made this an enchanted experience. The rooms are equally relaxing with some rustic feel to it and a heavy stone bath tub and day bed which I absolutely loved. Design wise the hotel attempts to be a Chedi, Four Seasons or something more boutique. No blame for the attempt. However it does not take long to notice why this hotel would never be part of the portfolio of the above mentioned chains and more appropriately find its place as the featured "luxury" choice of a middle of the road tour operator: it is in the middle of the road. Literally. Dinner in the outside courtyard of the "fine dining" restaurant was a disaster. Just outside the wall is a noisy main road with cars and trucks so noisy you may think you are on the road. To counter this, the music is blaring so you can't hear yourself think. When the music was eventually turned down, I could not decide if I actually prefer having Frank Sinatra and his orchestra on my lap or a truck. For some reason the truck seemed the more Asian and more appropriate choice. I don't know what the architects were on when they put the restaurant in that corner and not in the extremely quiet inner courtyard near the pool. Food and service were equally disappointing. You can sense their willingness to position themselves as "fine dining" but the execution is such that the experience is more on the level of a tourist restaurant. Good service is attentive and anticipates when you need it, but otherwise invisible. Quite frankly the waiters either being behind me over my left shoulder, but still visible or being at their counter on the other end sorting menus ever two minutes made me more nervous than the trucks and Sinatra. The food at least came promptly and the presentation was up to attempted standard, but again execution failed: the starter fish soup was lukewarm, the pieces of fish almost cold, the curry on the Khmer platter was too hot, the fish cakes rubbery, the second soup again lukewarm with suspicious pieces of meat. The rice and the shrimp salad were perfect though. I did spare on desert as I thought I didn't want to tempt my fate on food poisoning with another course. When the bill came, I must say in terms of value for money I have not felt so robbed in last two years. Putting it into perspective, this was a bit over a month worth of local salary. For the same money I could have feasted like a king for days at the roadside kitchens on National Highway 6 and would have got more honest food and service.
Also other service areas are a bit of a joke. Check in was okay, but too much information on the way to the room. I certainly don't need any explanation how to operate the aircon followed by the grand tour, just stating the obvious without adding value "this is a telephone, if you have a question dial 9, this is a fruit basket, this is a bottle of water, this is a toilet, if you have question dial 9, this is a television, this is a tea or coffee maker, if you need more tea dial 9." Even the do not disturb sign was thoroughly explained. Any hints that I'm quite okay and do have eyes were skillfully ignored. The only thing that was worth explaining, as actually a bit tricky - how to open the balcony door - was spared.

Putting it into perspective, price wise they are more more less in the same range as the Raffles Le Royal in Phnom Penh, the Renaissance in Bangkok (which are both actually a bit cheaper) or the Marina Mandarin in Singapore. All in all - does the Residence compare to those? No chance!! Any middle class guest house in SR would offer more genuine, honest value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank epicentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vorana-GM, General Manager at Belmond La Residence d'Angkor, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Epicentre, Thank you for the review of your stay at La Résidence d’Angkor. I am sorry that your stay was not exactly what you expected. We have addressed the service issues that you mentioned and assure you that through training we endeavor to eliminate similar incidences. Thank you for the positive comments regarding our location, landscape, pool and rooms. We hope to welcome you back to La Résidence d’Angkor soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
289 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

La Residence is a beautiful hotel with a very upscale tropical feel to it: lots of open air, high ceilings, dark wood. Siem Reap is a small town and it feels very fitting to stay in a small hotel with a very boutique feel like this one.

Our room was spacious with a giant bath area and a balcony overlooking the pool. It was also very modern with an iPod dock, flat screen TV and free wifi. Of course, we didn't end up spending that much time at the hotel given that we were out touring and in town for most of our 2 days there. However, the pool area is also very nice and the grounds are lush. Breakfast is smaller than some hotel breakfasts in Asia - but perfectly adequate and tasty with a combination of Western and Asian items. We did not try the restaurant for dinner as the hotel is very quiet at night and we felt like a bit more activity.

The location is good - a nice, 15-minute walk or very short tuk tuk ride into the center of town (Siem Reap looks better and is far more fun by night). Transportation to/from the airport was effortless. The tours that the hotel arranged for us were perfect and took us just where we wanted to go.

I'm very glad we'd decided to stay here. We'd been considering Amansara, but while the prices of that resort might be expected on a safari or in the outback, there are too many good options in Siem Reap to make the huge price differential work for me. On the same note, while all-inclusive luxury may make sense in someplace more remote, I was happy to go into town and explore several of the restaurants there (Cuisine Wat Damnak was a highlight).

Note: 2 full days in the area is ample. We were able to see the highlights (Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, and the Elephant Terrace) within 2 reasonably priced private half-day tours. We also had time to visit the Artisans Centre, which is the place to buy quality souvenirs if you don't really want to buy trinkets at the markets. Any less time would have felt rushed and any more time, we might not have known what to do with ourselves.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms seem preferable to riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had Lovely rooms overlooking the pool with a balcony.Superb rooms,everything you need.Restaurant is superb,and the staff are very nice and helpful.Free internet use in the Bar ,and wi-fi in every room.Sorry we had to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toppo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have just had our honeymoon travel and one of our stops were in Cambodja. The hotel that we have for this country was La Residence.

We have to say that it has been the best hotel in during our trip.

The room was excelent, the service was splendid (we recommend the private candle dinner that they prepare) and the placement spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#40 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#29 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#8 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,887 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing