We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Angkor(Siem Reap)
$437
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR(Siem Reap)
Free cancellation until 08/01
Book now, pay at stay
$79
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa(Siem Reap)
Free cancellation until 08/01
Book now, pay at stay
$74
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lotus Blanc Resort(Siem Reap)
$60
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC(Siem Reap)
Free cancellation until 08/02
$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/02
$134
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$33
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Temple Residence(Siem Reap)
Free cancellation until 08/01
Book now, pay at stay
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/29
Book now, pay at stay
$281
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,854)
Filter reviews
1,854 results
Traveler rating
1,386
320
93
38
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,386
320
93
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant barcabana suiteapsara terracelandmark roomcolonial charmangkor watmain buildingmodern amenitieshuge poolbreakfast buffetphnom penhcold towelswonderful hoteltour guidewelcome drinktuk tukan oasis
Filter
Updating list...
1,536 - 1,541 of 1,854 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We had an unexpectedly wonderful experience at the Raffles. To be honest, we did not expect 5 star treatment or amenities - boy, were we wrong! The hotel and the staff are superb - truly 5 star.

The hotel itself is beautiful - a grand, historic mansion with lovely original antique touches - an original 2-3 person wood-paneled wrought-iron elevator, a lovely wood paneled library, an expansive pool area, beautiful marble black & white checkered floors throughout. There are lots of special service touches - a nice cool drink and scented towel upon arrival, to a small gift presented to you by the restaurant after dinner.

We ate at two restaurants - the cafe for breakfast and the traditional Cambodian restaurant for dinner. The dinner was exceptional. We'd never tried real Cambodian food. It was very elegantly prepared and tasted wonderful.

The staff seems to want to cater to your every need. They are exceptional friendly and seem to genuinely care about whether you are having a good time at their hotel.

Highly recommended. An elegant, charming oasis in the hot, blistery, somewhat grueling city of Siem Reap for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Moonray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

I stayed 5 days and 4 nights at the Raffles for a business trip. And it was truly a 5 star experience. The hotel doesn't look chainy at all. In fact, even if it has been renovated, it still maintains its old world charm. The staff speak very good English so there's no worry about losing in translation. The buffet breakfast is plentiful and the choices are not the same everyday. The pastries and the cakes are fantastic! My room was perfect. It had a day bed right beside the window which I thought was a nice touch to make the room more comfortable to stay in. The only minor thing that I found unsettling was the marble floor. It was cold to step on barefoot. There is a carpet but it doesn't cover the whole floor area. Only the bedroom part. So as you step into the foyer leading to the toilet, the floor gets cold. I also had a massage at the spa and it was heavenly. I believe that it's the best spa there is in Siem Reap. As for the proximity of the hotel to the temples, it's not as near as the other hotels, but it's just about a 5 minute ride away, as most hotels are. The one nice thing about the hotel's location is the park right across. It's also near the city center and the night market. Very convenient. I really enjoyed my stay at the Raffles. It just completed my Siem Reap experience.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dartagnanaguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

Four of us stayed at the Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor from January 26 - January 29, 2007. Upon entering the hotel you are escorted to the lobby lounge where you are handed a cold cloth and fruit drink while they check you in. You could imagine what it must have been like in colonial times of 1929. We were in the original building with the original elevator. The rooms were nice and quiet. I was on the poolside and my friends were across the hall facing the street side. They were worried at first, but it too was quiet. The beds were comfortable and the amenties all there; robes, slippers, shower caps,etc. I do think the rooms need some updating, as they were a bit worn out. The bathrooms in both our rooms were quite small and not what you would expect from a luxury hotel. The staff were all very friendly and kind. Upon re-entry of the hotel each day we were handed a much welcomed ice cold cloth. These little touches certainly helped to make the stay special. The buffet breakfast each morning was excellent. The selection was quite good with omlettes made to order, cereals, fresh fruits, etc. The pool was beautiful and warm. Lunch at the pool was lovely and tasty. The spa is quite small, but we are told they are going to building a state of the art facility. The jacuzzi was in between the men and women's dressing room and therefore, co-ed. Not sure how clear that was posted.

We had dinner at the hotel, which we felt was quite overpriced. I would highly recommend venturing out. Although, if you want to grab a cocktail at the Elephant Bar at Raffles during Happy Hour it is a good deal.

We had cocktails at the Hotel De la Paix which is very modern. Although we didn't have the time, we heard that Meric Restaurant in the Hotel is excellent.

We had dinner at the Indian Restaurant, Kama Sutra on Pub Street. It was delicious and inexpensive. And the location is brewing with energy. Great food, great spot. Great Angkor beer.

I highly recommend Baray Petit Garden for lunch. I loved it. The setting is stunning. The gardens are beautiful. And the peacock farm just adds to the charm. The food was the best Khmer food we had in Siem Reap. If you want to try excellent traditional food this is it. The owner derived her menu from recipes passed down to her from her mother and her grandmother. As described, Khmer food is very similiar to Thai food, but not spicy. It's off Route National 6 towards the Western Baray.

We also had dinner at Viroth. Also, Khmer. The atmosphere is hip, open, spacious. Great ambience. Really cool place, but some of dishes were hits and some were misses.

I also recommend our driver. He speaks english well and has a nice air conditioned camry. He had cold bottled water ready for us at all times. There were 4 of us and the charge was $25 a day. His name is Sam Pho.

Other recommendations include: Sunrise Children's Village, (orphanage) The guest relations manager of Raffles is a big supporter. The children perform Sunday afternoons at 2pm.

Aki Ra's Landmine Museum. To read more about the museum and Aki Ra, I suggest googling his name. Aki Ra has also provided a home here from many of the children from around the country who have become disabled due to tripping mines while playing in their own backyards.

The Angkor Temples. Simply phenomenal. Make sure you wear closed toe shoes, especially if you plan on climbing the steps. Wow, are they steep, not for those with height issues. Going up isn't so bad, it's the coming down that's challenging.

I'm sure as you have read, as I did on many sites, you will encounter many children selling postcards and other goods. They are so cheap, do not bargain. Be kind to everyone no matter how much you feel bothered. Cambodia is very poor and it's about survival for those trying to sell you goods.

Don't miss Ta Phrom, the jungle covered temples. It is worth hiring one of the many young people offering to take you to the best spots to take your photos. Another way to contribute and you will get some great photos that you might have not necessarily gotten on your own.

Please note US dollars are accepted everywhere. You pay in dollars and/or Riel.

It is truly a developing nation and contruction is happening everywhere. Hotels going up left and right. The people are beautiful, the sunsets magical and it was an unforgettable experience.

On a final note, to take malaria pills or not. A couple of us did and a couple of us didn't. We were all fine. And did not see many mosquitos at temples. Just make sure you apply insect repellent everyday. Going in January the weather was perfect. Warm, but not hot.

Stayed: January 2007
13  Thank roundtheworld7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of January 2007. Hotel was wonderful. We stayed in a State Room which was perhaps a little on the small side but was on the ground floor and had a terrace leading down to the pool. The pool was stunning with plenty of loungers and a lovely pool bar where we ate lunch a couple of days. The staff at the pool bar were very attentive - we went there most evenings for a drink during happy hour. Breakfast in the hotel had a very good choice - we had paid for this as part of our package so not too sure how much it cost. We didn't actually eat dinner in the hotel as that did look a bit pricey. Instead we went off to Pub Street - an excellent selection of bars and restaurants. At night they close the street off to traffic so you can happily amble around. Watch out though for the tuk-tuk drivers as they pounce on you whenever you step into the street.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Gwen9244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

First of all it is a very pretentious place with really overpriced restaurants and souvenir shops. That being said, it is also a lovely old fashioned hotel with some beautiful rooms.
We spent our first night in an annex to the main building, the room was dark, damp, full of mosquitoes and house lizzards. After complaining at reception, we were shown a lovely room on the first floor of the main building, exempt from the mosquitoes and lizzards we hated living with. That was a lot better.
The Grand Hotel d'Angkor has a wonderful swimming pool and after walking in the heat visiting those temples in the jungle, it was lovely to come back to it.
Nice buffet breakfast but I do not recommend the restaurant/cafeteria (my friend was sick after having a hamburger there).
You have to pay to use the internet.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Annick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews