We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TIMELESS TRANQUILITY !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #67 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“TIMELESS TRANQUILITY !”
Reviewed August 26, 2010

The original RAFFLES in Singapore has spawned a lot of pretenders,in an attempt to recreate that glorious era of old world colonial elegance,where the comfort of the guest came first ,in an atmosphere of unhurried luxury, where even the smallest detail was important. The RAFFLES brand has now spread around the world,but so many of those imitations fall well short of the original ideal,including Le Royale in Phomh Penh.But, rest assured, dear traveller,the true spirit of RAFFLES lives on.......in Siem Reap !
This hotel is everything you would dream of in an exotic location.. As some other contributors have said,it really is like travelling back in time. From the moment you step across the threshold you are transported into a bygone age of charm and good grace.
The staff,from the management level right through to the doormen, are smiling,welcoming and ready to please. Nothing is too much trouble.
The pool and gardens are some of the most enchanting in the world and the whole operation reeks of effortless style and class.
The rooms are airy and spacious and the amenities are generous,including an exotic fruit bowl ,replenished every day.
Excursions,tour guides,restaurant recommendations are all handled with an efficiency that makes it all seem easy.
This really is hospitality as it used to be. If you are headed in this direction,do yourself a favour and push the boat out a little. I promise you will not be disappointed. A stay at this hotel is a never-to-be-forgotten experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gastrorepublican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    288
    85
    37
    15
See reviews for
299
824
107
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We spent 4 nice days in Raffles Grand Hotel D'Angkor, we appreciate the "British Empire" look all over the hotel, even in the small details.
The room was large and silent, a great & large bed to sleep. The bathroom is "styled" with two small windows.
Excellent, quiet, large pool (even if you have to cross the Bar to go to or return from the pool, even if you are wet...)
Breakfast is really great, expecially if you sit at one the tables at the terrace (it's worth while facing the hot temperature!)
The same great level for the "buffet" at Restaurant (the one in the same place where you have breakfast).
But what is really fantastic is the Service level offered by all the Staff, from the Bellman to the Waiters: all the people smile to you and come "running" for every need you have.
Probably one of the highest service level we ever experienced in 5-star hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgio1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This place transports you to another time when things were slower and and time passes more slowly. Great rooms, cheerful service and and old world ambiance. Can't go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingman074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The location is great, just a two minute tuk-tuk ride to the old market.

The service is up there with the best anywhere.

The really old elevator, is really cool.

The rooms are classic colonial, and definitely make you feel like you should be wearing a linen suit and smoking a cigarillo.

The pool that was over 90F was not pleasant at all.

The breakfast may have been the worst hotel breakfast I have ever had, including the free breakfast at the red roof inn (because at least there you don't expect much). Fortunately, the hotel and staff were so great, that I can still give this hotel a 4 star rating, despite this horrendous breakfast. But, it was really disappointing - although as a high point, we went out for a great bowl of Cambodian curry noodles for breakfast for about a buck.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinfelden, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This one immediately reminded me of the Mount Nelson in Cape Town. Even the park between hotel and town is here – ok, it doesn’t quite match Company’s Garden and the palm tree-lined entrance road is also missing. We had requested a Landmark room with two doubles overlooking the pool and that’s exactly what we got. The advantage of the Landmark rooms over all other room categories is the use of the old cage elevator, a big hit with children and adults alike. The room was very large, much larger than the Landmark room at Raffles Phnom Penh. While it was not exactly up to current standards (tube TV and old English power outlets) it was full of charm and pleasant amenities. I’ve never experienced such a level of service: the room was always made up whenever we went out. There was a PC on the corridor next to the cage elevator and we got an unlimited internet access code without charge.

Breakfast buffet was absolutely great in quality, selection and service. Unfortunately, the breakfast restaurant is rather small so it gets quite busy before everyone goes to the temples at 8 am. After that, it’s pure heaven. Likewise, the Elephant Bar was wonderful place to be and very affordable during happy hour. The huge pool was of course another family favorite.

It’s easy to walk to the center of charming Siem Reap in about 15 minutes. Otherwise, Tuk tuks are always available for 2 USD. The Angkor tour guide organized by the hotel was more expensive than when booked directly, but we got an excellent guide who perfectly understood that a family with kids has other interests than a history teacher.

This is certainly one of our favorite hotels. We are now considering a family holiday here – not mainly to see additional temples but simply to relax in a pleasant resort hotel and town.

Oh yes, one point to mention so my review differs from a hotel ad: Is it really necessary to levy a 5% service charge on purchases from the hotel bakery and gift shop? A bit over the top, I think.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faranghusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have been frequent residents at the Raffles Hotel in Siem Reap and the whole experience has always been exhilarating. The staff is the most courteous, friendly, cheerful and the best ever. Would definitely like to keep returning. The hotel, to sum up, is truly 'Grand'.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Considering this was my first trip to Cambodia I wasn't sure what to expect in a luxury hotel, but, the hotel was amazing (not sure why I was worried, it is Raffles we're talking about).

Upon learning it was a 'birthday celebration, we received a room upgrade over looking the fabulous pool. Throughout the entire complex everyone seemed to know our name and the individual service was outstanding. The pool is simply divine (especially after a hot day of touring the temples) and the Spa provided excellent service. Although the food prices are high in comparison to the city establishments, it was worth the convenience of simply walking up stairs to our room and the Khmer tasting menu provided an excellent introduction to the local flavors.

In the end, we were looking for old world charm and the hotel far exceeded our expectations on every level. Should we be lucky to return to Cambodia we will certainly be returning to Raffles!

P.S. Be sure NOT to miss the Artisans Angkor, the craftsmanship is excellent and its nice to know your buying something that is truly made by locals.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#30 of 356 in Siem Reap
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#40 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,952 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Property: Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing