We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #68 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great place, great service!”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We are very delighted with our stay at Raffles Grand Hotel. The service was great and the staff are commendable. First, we arrived early at the hotel but they managed to check us into our room immediately. We have booked a Landmark room and they even upgraded us to a Suite Room.
Whenever we need bookings for Restaurants, the hotel staff did the arrangements for us. In fact, even on our last day of stay, we have requested for a late checkout and they let us stay until 6pm with no extra charge.
Location - accessible; there are a lot of tuktuks in the area; its a walking distance to the Museum and FCC Restaurant.
Breakfast - limited selection of bread, salad, oats, bacon, sausages, fruits. I was actually looking for noodles but didn't find any. Probably its because they are serving more of Western food. Suggest that they have more variety for breakfast to cater to different visitors.
Weather - very sunny when we were there; make sure to bring a sunblock, sunglasses and cap/hat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheskaJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    283
    84
    37
    15
See reviews for
293
817
106
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor for 3 nights at the start of our first ever visit to Cambodia.
Hotel was wonderful, with warm, friendly and welcoming staff throughout the hotel.
Stayed in a Landmark Room overlooking the pool - it was spacious, spotlessly clean and well serviced throughout our stay.
Dined in the Cafe d'Angkor one night - great food and service, although quite expensive. Eating out in town was a very enjoyable experience - local food, plenty of choice and unbelievable value.
Breakfast at the hotel was included and was top quality.
Great Spa - both enjoyed a very luxurious 90 minute massage.
Good hotel entertainment too - local dancing on our first night, wine tasting on the second night and free cocktails on our final evening.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for Classic Style, and the wonderful smiles are not just here, but all over Siem Reap.
Just loved it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiefazal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Siem Reap provided a great location for touring the amazing temples of Angkor Wat, Banteay Srey and Ta Prohm (our 3 favourites). Our plan all along was to get up early and visit the temples before the true heat of the day, then head back to the hotel for a rest before heading back out again later in the afternoon.

This plan worked like a charm for us and the Grand Hotel d'Angkor provided the oasis that we needed. Coming back to the air-conditioned rooms overlooking the pool gave us the chance to revive ourselves and to get ready for the next instalment of our adventure.

The Raffles service was helpful without being intrusive, the staff were friendly and sometimes funny, but then so were all the people we came across in Siem Reap. A typical day for us included the buffet breakfast (great range of standard hotel fare and with a mocktail included) then our driver would collect us and drive us to our destination, along the way providing a history of the area and a description of what we'll be seeing and what to look out for. We'd spend quite a few hours exploring the temples and surrounding areas at our leisure and then we'd head back to Raffles for a swim and a rest. Our driver would then pick us up around 3pm and off we'd go again, different destination but same amazing scenery and temples to explore. We preferred to eat in town to get a feel for the night life and to taste local produce - and it wasn't disappointing. The Amok Fish was a highlight.

The hotel rooms had a certain charm about them, the beds were comfortable and the amenities clean. The pool was a little too warm for most of us but still refreshing. The surprise of a cool towel to freshen up as we entered the hotel each day was a nice touch.

We'd certainly recommend a driver as it makes it easier to get around and is hassle free. We paid around $25 per day for an air-conditioned van and our driver, Sun Same, was a great driver and very knowledgeable. Be ready for the onslaught of traders at the bigger temples - another tip, just engage them in conversation and they stop trying to sell you things. A worthwhile visit for exceptional souvenirs is the Artisans of Angkor - they support self-sufficiency in various trades and showcase some amazing talent.

Don't forget that US currency is preferred. If you decide that Siem Reap is your next destination you won't be disappointed.

Places to eat – Red Piano, Khmer Kitchen, Blue Pumpkin.
Shopping – Night markets
Driver and tour guide – Sun Same (www.driverinsiemreap.com)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macca3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London - UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This hotel impresses from the very first moment you step out of the taxi with an impecably dressed porter giving you the impression that you're back living in the 1970s. Check-in was smooth, quick and efficient. Room impressed us: clean, well laid out. Welcome note handwritten by the hotel general manager was a nice touch.
A lot of history behind this hotel which adds to its glamour.
The swimming pool is huge and feels great after a long day walking in the Angkor complex.
Overall, a very pleasant stay.
The only point to note is that internet should be free as in most hotel chains. Charging US$6 for 1-hour internet somehow doesn't fit in the overall amazing service provided at this hotel. It's probably better charging 6 dollars more for each room and making it free.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroREIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Staying in this hotel made our Siem Reap trip even more memorable. The suite has a wonderful view of the hotel grounds, a balcony with a day bed where you can just lie and read or enjoy a drink, and a main room full of charm and character. Their staff is friendly and very helpful, there's almost nothing you could ask for!

Truly one of the best, if not the best in Siem Reap!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCinDenial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

After a days trip to the temples, the hotel provides a soothing atmosphere with very attentive service. The location is very central to both the temples and the old maket which is just a ten to fifteen minutes walk along the river.

It is a good change from standard high rise hotels with spacious rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay . The only thing the hotel lacked was free internet in the rooms

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathdownie
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This is our second visit to this wonderful hotel.It was every bit as good as the first.The staff are so attentive,the food is great,the pool is magnificent,and who needs a gym when there is so much walking to do.When you decide to rest,just sit back ,enjoy a cool drink,and admire this great building.We will return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewandCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 356 in Siem Reap
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#37 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,902 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Property: Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing