We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angkor Watt....Listed as one of the places u must see before u die....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #70 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed at Raffles Hotel in Siem Riep. Hotel first class, amazing staff. The food was superb. Excellent swimming pool. We booked driver and tour guide through conceriege, $50 a day...well worth the money, we went to the floating village and the following day the temples...which I cannot describe as u have to see them...simply breathtaking....The tour guide explained the history of all the etchings on the wall and the year, etc. ANGKOR WATT IS LISTED AS ONE OF THE MUST PLACES U MUST SEE BEFORE U DIE...SOUNDS MORBID...but u must visit.....

Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
Thank Morgan067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,416 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2009

I cannot think of a criticism. Romantic and reeking of history. Beautifully restored to its past glory. If one is visiting specifically to view Angkor, I recommend 3 nights at Raffles and 3 half day visits to the temples being the perfect compromise of history, culture, indulgence and romance, but without leaving you physically and mentally wrecked. Cultural overindulgence can be as exhausting as the physical, especially in the October humidity.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dentate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

This was my first trip to Siem Reap and being familiar with the Raffles brand, I had high expectations from the hotel and staff. Needless to say, I was not disappointed.

From the moment we pulled up, we were greeted with smiles, warm greetings by name, a cold towel as well as a cold drink while checking in, and always the gracious hospitality of the staff at this grand, colonial era hotel.

Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the Royal Gardens and even though we faced the street, we never heard any noise. The beds were very comfortable with very soft linens and plush pillows. I loved the high ceilings, the ceiling fan, an air conditioner that kept us cool and dry in the midst of the Cambodian heat and humidity. The bathroom was very clean, but small. Not a big deal to me or my friend. I was looking for clean accommodations and we found them. Numerous amenities in the bathroom as well with hot water running at all times when it was needed.

Even though you hear that you can not drink the water in Cambodia, we were assured that the water in the bathroom was potable. My friend and I both drank the water and neither one of us had an ill effects. Complimentary bottled water is available to you at all times.

The cleanliness of the rooms was second to none. Every time that we left the room, even if it was for a quick run downstairs, we would return to the room to find that everything had been straightened and cleaned. I never once had the opportunity to see the cleaning staff, but they were there in force doing a great job.

The cafe has one of the best breakfast buffets available in all of Asia. The food is plentiful, the assortment is incredible, and the flavors were all delicious. Have I mentioned the wait staff? They all went out of their way to make us feel at home and welcome. They all knew our names as well as what our personal preferences were in regards to beverages, seating etc. Everyone wanted to talk about where we were going, what we had seen, if we needed any information about sites to see. Outstanding service all the way around. And the smiles, everywhere on everyone at the hotel.

I have had the great opportunity to stay at the Peninsula properties, Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton properties, and the Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor rates right up there with all of them. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who likes quiet elegance and understated chic surroundings, fantastic service that is not the least bit intrusive, incredible food, a pool area that is very relaxing and beautiful with fragrant frangipani trees in bloom, and a business center and concierge that goes out of their way to assist you with your plans/needs. I look forward to my return visit to this property. By the way, the chef at this hotel is fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

First, you must want to go to Angor Wat (Siem Reap - the town) is 3rd world. Yes, lots and lots of 2,3,4, and 5-star hotels for the many who travel here for the magnificent temples. But beware: arriving in Cambodia takes a bit of fortitude, and the heat, poverty, and crowded Asian tour buses can make you crazy!

Enter Le Grand Raffles! This old-world elegant hotel provides sanity, character, and class! (I have travelled extensively in SE Asia and know authentic 5-star hotels).
Remember ths lesson: you get what you pay for in 1,000 ways.

Raffles has a global brand name and you expect the best, and I was not disappointed.
Yes, get their can from the airport (US$14): they are prepared for your arrival with a cold refreshing towel and chilled bottled water; 20 minutes later you arrive in style, dignity, and relaxed: HO hassle.

You are greeted with a widest smiles and warmest welcome from the ever-eager guys in the lobby. You do not stand at the counter to check-in, but rather are escourted to the lounge where a soothing welcome drink is exchanged for your passports +credit card for processing. You are escorted to your room via the original "bird-cage" elevator (I was on the 3rd floor). Here Mr. Chris explanins the original features of this historic hotel: lights, clawed-foot tub (with adjoining modern shower), balcony, etc.
He was your personal VIP escort: "was the room temperature correct? "were the pillows sufficient," "would you like the tours (You do!)." It was the best introduction EVER to my hotel room (and I spend 50-60 per year in lots of them).

The hotel has the largest pool in the country where they immediately arrange the towels, water, and supply trays of fruit throughout the afternoon to your lounge chair.
The tours have been organized with car + driver + guide: we spent two days together, and this $200 well-spent. They have been showing folks the ruins/temples for 80 years and their standards are quite high.

I recommend you visit the National Museum BEFORE you take any tours. It is an excellent display of the Khmer history (US$12) and you can walk from the hotel. (Unfortunately the A/C is a bit of mystery).

The breakfast buffet will amaze, satisfy, and absolutley delight: Asiam/Western combination with Champange, healthy, fresh squeezed juices in shot glasses; and both indoor and outdoor seating.

We had dinner downtown (AHA, and KAMA SUTRA) both delicious and well-priced).
One evening we splurged for drinks at the downstairs Elephant Bar (Happy Hour 7-9)
and dinner at the Le Grand. The atmosphere, food, and service were exceptional and ended with flaming Bananas Foster!

But here is the real seductive seceret of Raffles Le Grand Angor: their superb service! They welcome you "home" after a hot tiring adventure in the ruins. They learn and call you by name! They expect you to ask for assistance so that they can make your stay more pleasant that any hotel you have even received good customer service.
In three days, I knew all the desk staff, the bell boys, the folks in the gift shop (excellent), the Breakfast cafe, and the amazing pool staff. Their tarining is at a very high level, and they do not expect a tip (which I gladly gave to a few very attentive employees).

The Internet is OK (a bit slow) and not free: you pay $US10 dollars for three hours (either your own laptop or one in the hotel corriddor). I spoke to the Manager: this class hotel should have a computer in every room and be included in the cost. He reported the Raffles Management is considering some combination for their properties.

The time of Happy Hour from 7-9 is awkward. However, I do not know what their avergage requests would be.

Siem Reap is poor, dusty, and struggling to enter the 21st century. Raffles is impeccable, full of character, and exceeds your expectations.
PS
There is a surprise gift on your bed your fight evening!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J21210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

This hotel has excellent service, food, and pool. For someone who likes the classic look, this is perfect for you. I prefer more contemporary and hip, and would stay in Hotel de la Paix next time.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank trevorrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We should stay for 2 nights it was so a beautifull and relaxing place that we stayed for 6 nights and we sure sure will go back to be spoiled to enjoy the beautiful pool and the the spa ,the good food and to see all the smiles from the staff.

Winifred and Eloy van Paridon Australia

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanParidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

For our three days stay in Siem Reap I checked out all 4&5 * hotels on the internet and Tripadvisor site. Based on the reviews, location and because of the fact that we prefer the old charm over minimalistic and modern properties in places steeped in history like Siem Reap, we decided to book the Raffles Grand Hotel. Via the American Express Platinum deal, the price of the room included: Buffet- breakfast; one buffet-dinner for two persons, guaranteed late check-out (4.00 pm), one Spa treatment (between 10 am- 5pm) for half price and an upgrade (which we didn't get, although the hotel was only half full).
.
We had arranged an airport pick-up and after arriving at the hotel, we were greeted with great warmth, got a cold towel and a welcome drink and were checked-in very quickly and efficiently. The hotel-manager came by to welcome us personally.
We went up to our room, a de luxe state room in the old (main) part of the building, in the lovely 1930-th wooden elevator with iron bars and brass buttons. Walking down the stone-tiled corridors in the main building seemed like walking down a hospital corridor

The room was very nice and richly decorated with a small balcony, overlooking the pool. The beds were among the best we ever slept in in a hotel. The only downside was the bathroom: Very, very small and very dated; no separate shower and to step into the bath was rather tricky. The toilet was squeezed in between the sink and the bath. Quite disappointing and unexpected and certainly not in line with the $360, ++ a night price tag!
However: I have never seen so many amenities in a hotel-bathroom!
Over 50 TV channels: Many English, French, German, even Dutch; Internet was not free of charge.

The dinner buffet was good. An abundance of choice and exquisite taste. However: As there were only about 10 guests in the large restaurant, which was brightly illuminated and therefore not very cosy, we felt a bit forelorn.
Buffet breakfast was one of the best we ever had. Endless choice and eggs cooked, scrambled and fried to your liking. Freshly squeezed juices and fruit in abundance.

The service was second to none. The valet at the door greeted us by our name; whenever we took the elevator up or down, someone jumped in to help us and asked us how are day/evening had been or what our plans were for the day.
The restaurant staff was exceptional in every way, so was staff at the pool
We were however a bit disappointed by the concierges and the staff at the reception: Somehow they couldn't remember our name or room number and the third day, when we made an inquiry at the concierges desk; the concierge (whom we had spoken a few times before) even asked us if we were guests of the hotel!
Housekeeping was impeccable. We had the distinct impression they came to check the room every two hours or so: Every time we came back in the room, the wastebasket had been emptied and again clean towels. The fruitbasket was replenished may be three times a day.

Via the hotel we had arranged for a driver and guide. Our guide, Hahn, was absolutely the best. He showed us all the beautiful sites, Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom with it's Bayon, Elephant Terrace and Lepracy Terrace and (not to be missed:) Ta Prohm. Everywhere he pointed out the best spots to take pictures, was very knowledgable, spoke English very well (so did our driver) and told us so much about the history and about his own experience during the dark period of the Khmer Rouge. We were very impressed! We visited the floating village in lake Tonle Sap and the local markets of Siem Reap.

Our overall feeling and impressions of the public areas of the hotel, be it the lobby, the lounge, the main restaurant and the bar in the basement were mixed: Everything made a rather sterile impression, both in the day time, but certainly during the evening, when everything was too brightly illuminated. Too bad, because we had hoped for and expected the warm, colonial touch with perhaps some French influences.
We really missed the possibility of having cocktails or dinner outside on a terrace, as many hotels have.
The lack of atmosphere (greatly missed) was however very much compensated by the warmth, friendliness and the impeccable service of the hotel staff.

Nonetheless: The Raffles Grand Hotel, the Grand Old Lady of Siem Reap, is highly recommended. It is situated in it's own large grounds and the location is by far the best (opposite the Royal Residence and the National Museum is around the corner). Walking distance to the modern shopping mall and the Victoria Angkor Hotel, which still has the old colonial touch and feeling.
Service is second to none: Exceptional and warm and most of all: Genuine.

New hotels are being built all over Siem Reap. Fortunately: The Old Charm will remain in hotels like The Raffles Grand hotel d' Angkor.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmsterdamFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#51 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 384 in Siem Reap
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#67 of 384 in Siem Reap
3,324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#50 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#76 of 384 in Siem Reap
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $220 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing