We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with wonderful staff, service and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #65 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We loved it here, from the moment you check in, taken into the lounge area, given a drink while the paperwork is done, it was great. The room was lovely, even when having an additional rollaway bed in the room, there was still room to move. We had a Landmark Pool View Room; Fresh fruit every day, Wifi no issues with, we asked for milk for the tea instead of the powered stuff supplied and this was no issue. Laundry was good. The beds were comfortable.
The hotel is lovely, clean and lemongrass smell is divine. (from the burners). The ride in the old elevator was a treat. We thought the décor was great. Not that far from the markets etc that you can walk in yourself.
We had our Christmas eve & Christmas day here. The thought put into the events was lovely. From the drinks on the grass, listening to the wonderful children sing Christmas songs, (with a few changes on a few of them to suit where we were, was just brilliant) to Santa arriving on an elephant and giving the kids a candy. It made everyone smile. Then off to dinner and what an amazing buffet, it was just mind boggling. The food was fantastic! The service from the staff was great, and with smiles. The only thing, which was fixed, was that the tables were set up for each group, ie if you were a group of 3 like us, then you had a table of 3, but for those who were by themselves, they only had themselves on their table. Which is not something most like, especially on Christmas eve. Earlier that morning, we had met a lovely lady, Carol, over breakfast, she was by herself. Being the way we are, we invited Carol to sit with us, well this was a problem at first, the waitperson went and asked, and came back with perhaps she could sit at the table at first and then maybe later join us. I wasn’t having this, so went to look for the manager with her, to explain that we had met Carol this morning, and all of us wanted her to sit with us. I finally find someone to ask, and explained what we wanted and I wanted to talk to the manager to explain, that we were okay with it, she was very understanding and said that it was fine, she would move the Carol herself. By the time we got back to the table, two more staff had gone to ask my hubby and daughter was it okay with Carol joining us. Too funny I suppose, as they wanted to make sure Carol was not imposing on us, even though we had invited her.
Christmas day lunch was another amazing buffet, such great food and service from the staff.

I also want to add, that there was a Christmas stocking filled with beautiful biscuits left on our door, which we all loved, especially our daughter and a wonderful Christmas cake in the room. These little things, just finished off such a great night.

Elephant Bar/ The Conservatory/ Poolside Terrace/ Café d'Angkor / - We had a few drinks and meals at these places and thought that they were all good.

Chris the Manager, the piano player and all the staff here are friendly, warm and great, remembering our names, always acknowledging us, we especially loved the doorman (Bon I think his name was) he is such a sweetie.

This was our favorite Raffles hotel in Cambodia. (Yes, we stayed in both)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

It is wonderful to hear that you had a tranquil and pleasant stay in this legendary hotel. I am glad that you had enjoyed the scenic backdrop of the hotel as well as the gastronomic offerings of the Royal Cambodian Cuisine. Most of all, I hope that you had a great and inspiring visit to the heritage of Angkor.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

When travelling to Siem Reap it's a good fit to stay at Raffles, as both the temples as the Hotel have history to look back at. But a hotel still has to manage to keep up its service and infrastucture to modern standards, which is not so much the case at Raffles. When booking I requested a quiet room on a high floor - I ended up on the 1st floor facing the street. So much for that. The bed was so hard there would be no difference to sleep on the floor, and the rooms are very loud: If your neighbour uses the toilet you think he is in your room, and the room door is not isolated at all - so if you want to get up to visit a temple at sunrise - no problem, you cannot sleep anyways. To summarize the Hotel is ok, but it is definitly not well managend, it just is not nearly the Standard other Raffles are (the Spa Team is motivated, but cannot deliver, as a 20 min wait for a booked massage is just not acceptable; the atmosphere is ok but there is just something missing, and you need to have a lot of patience if you want to order something, but of course they charge international prices) The Hotel Manager walked by us severl times in the pool area or at breakfast - but not even a 'Hello'. Well, that reflects our impression: It is an OK Hotel, but you can feel there is not really put effort into it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ALHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you very much for your review however disappointing it is to hear about your experience in the hotel. As a historic hotel, it is only proper to restore the facilities as well as the ambiance of the hotel to its glory days with modern touches kept to a minimum in order to preserve the most important feature of the hotel – its heritage. Nonetheless, we maintain that this grand dame of a hotel has kept its luxurious inheritance with an added feature of impeccable service to create luxurious and wonderful experiences for our guests. We may have lapses once in a while but we maintain to keep our standards at par with our visions and that is why this hotel still maintains its position as one of the best Raffles hotels in the world.

Best regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this wonderful hotel and loved every minute. Our room was most comfortable, the spa and gym area well serviced and accommodating set in a beautiful garden along with a very large swimming pool with bar service. All very relaxing. The 2 restaurants served excellent food with local dishes as a choice. But the best part of this hotel were the very friendly and helpful staff who were always there to assist. I have to include the piano player in this too as he was happy to play special songs so we could dance the night away! The perfect place for a pleasant relaxing stay after sightseeing some of Cambodia's magnificent temples. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lafamosaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

It is great to hear that you had spent a wonderful festive season at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. Christmas may not be widely celebrated in Cambodia but I am glad that our special festive touches had set a merrier mood for your holiday.
My apology for the slight inconvenience during one of your breakfasts as it is imperative for us to provide privacy and utmost care to all our guests. Nevertheless, I hope that you had enjoyed our champagne breakfast and, most especially, the special Christmas dinner that we had prepared.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to celebrating with you again in the future.

Best regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

It is a beautiful heritage hotel with lovely grounds and excellent service. We were pleasantly upgraded to the Landmark rooms in the main heritage building when we arrived. The buffet dinner with the show ( Upsara dancers) is an excellent introduction to the food and culture of Cambodia. Breakfast buffet was also excellent. You can have champagne for breakfast if you wish. The hotel has a warm ambiance all around and the staff was genuinely friendly and accommodating. Great place to relax after a full day out at the awesome temples around Siem Reap.

Room Tip: The Landmark rooms are more spacious compared to State rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

A warm appreciation for a great review of the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. It is a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful time with us and thank you for appreciating the heritage as well as the service of the hotel, and I hope that you had enjoyed our gastronomic offerings at the Apsara Terrace with the Cambodian traditional show and the champagne breakfast at the Café d’Angkor.

I hope that in the future we will have the opportunity to serve you again with our Royal Cambodian Cuisine at our signature Restaurant Le Grand with recipes handed down from the Royal family.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Siem Reap was great and the hotel was very comfortable. The room was a bit tight, but we enjoyed it. A great old stair case rose to suites named after famous visitors, like Jackie Kennedy.
They even have a "Celebrity" bar with pictures of several famous visitors.
The pool area was beautiful. The exercise room was a bit tight but adequate.
Breakfast was very good, staff attentive to EVERY need. We ate in town--Pub Street was great--so can't comment on their dinners. We hired a tuktuk driver and he came each night to take us to dinner then met us at the Blue Pumpkin Ice Cream Parlor at the appointed time to take us back to the hotel. (We brought him a cone, too.)
Be sure to see the hundreds of fruit bats very high in the trees in the park across from the hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the higher floors and enjoyed our room overlooking the town, rather than tthe back overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. I am glad that you had enjoyed our champagne breakfast and had appreciated the heritage of the hotel, and it is wonderful that you had experienced the vast magnificent grounds surrounding the hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Once again, thank you very much!

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just got back from Cambodia. I stayed one night at Raffles, wow what an over rated over priced hotel. I was quoted a price of $385, when they finished add ons it was $481 ! wow of course they did not say anything about the add ons. So I went to Sofitel a short distance away. Equal hotel less expensive. Better food better drinks nicer staff, less uppitty. Both properties are beautiful, but for a $200 difference per day I would stay and did stay at Sofitel! The front desk manager Mr Vireca (sp) was great at Sofitel! I also so saw a charming hotel across the street from Raffles that looked interesting Victorias.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mike30309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I have to say that both the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and the Sofitel hotel are beautiful hotels, both unique in their own rights. However, it is unfortunate to know that the price, most specifically the add-ons, had been the basis of your review and your experience with us, and which had made you overlook the essence of staying in this historic hotel. Our hotel maintains transparency for our guests and makes sure to always explain add-ons on our rates which are basically government taxes and service charge.

Nonetheless, we thank you for your review and I hope that you had a memorable visit to Cambodia.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel and the service is excellent. I stayed over New Years and they put together an incredible dinner and show and the decorations in the pool area were breathtaking. The food in the hotel is also exceptional and everything I ate was memorable. The only downsides are the location, it is a bit out of Siam Reap, which can be a good thing as well. And there seemed to be an odd thing with the electrics when the air came on all the lights would flash - this even happened in the middle of the night when you were sleeping and you lights had been off. The place is wonderful and a real experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThatchersBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

It is wonderful to know that you had enjoyed our New Year spectacle and I hope that it was one celebration to remember. Most especially, I hope that it kick-started a year of happiness and peace.

Thank you for celebrating with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for an another celebration or a holiday.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#45 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 361 in Siem Reap
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#61 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#26 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $230 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing