We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm and Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #63 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here with our 2 teenage sons as the first stop on our holiday in Cambodia, and it was a lovely place to land and catch up on some rest after long flights. The service is quietly comfortable and luxurious, food delicious, and hotel is well located. The Aspara dance show was briefly interesting, but a bit lack luster. This is not a slick, modern hotel chockerblock full of Western amenities- and that is exactly what is so appealing about spending some time here. A stay at this hotel is to experience an era of times gone by, and a gentler, more elegant existence. We would stay here again if we return to Cambodia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyN162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

It is wonderful to hear that the you had began what must had been a magnificent journey to this paradise at the storied Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. Thank you for appreciating the heritage and the ambiance of the hotel. I hope that you had collected lasting memories in our hotel and in Cambodia.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

Cambodia is still recovering from the wars and it shows. This hotel is just beautiful and well-maintained. We had a suite that opened on to the beautiful and huge pool area. The decor was just beautiful with lots of wood. The overwhelming smell is of citronella. There are little pots of it every few feet along the corridors. It smells like someone has been dusting with lemon polish. The staff and the Cambodian people were just lovely and friendly. There are about 4 beautiful shops inside the hotel with lovely things. There is also a nice art gallery that featured photographs of Angkor Watt. The grounds are minimal but lovely. Cambodia is very hot and humid in November so the hotel is a great place to be indoors. The surroundings are hectic, noisy and dirty so it's amazing that they can keep it so nice. I had one of the best massages of my life, but the spa shower area needs cleaning and updating.

Room Tip: Get a suite facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Openstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

The historic Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor is indeed a haven of luxury, comfort, and serenity in the heart of Siem Reap. Thank you very much for your heartwarming compliments and I hope that you had spent a wonderful and memorable retreat in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The name Raffles brings to mind a colonial hotel of the 1800's and thats just what you'll find here in their offering in Siem Reap Cambodia. Sadly perhaps the hotel is just that . Old and badly in need of remodelling to make it attractive. We didn't stay just visited. Service is excellent as expected from a 5 star hotel but both the hotel and grounds are plainly outdated. The pool was turbid.

The inclusive dinner show at $40 was acceptable. The dance troupe was what one would expect from a charity performance with some being children still learning; It was no a charity. The wide selection of buffet food was very good. waiter table service was perfect.

However *** note the wine selection is very poor and are way overpriced, at least double if not triple any good restaurant locally. At $9 - yes $9, was the highest price we 've ever paid for a bottle of normal water anywhere in the world. a clear rip off. The Austrian manager had just increased it by $2 !!!!

There are better shows offering better value in various venues around town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

It is regrettable to receive a rather disappointing review of the hotel in its entirety from someone who has not actually experienced staying in this historic hotel. It would be a pleasure for us if you could be our guest in the hotel for a night or two, and I am sure that your experience would be worthwhile.

It is also noteworthy to mention that we do have a wide selection in our wine cellar worthy of the interest of any wine connoisseur. With regards to our rates, based on our competition survey which we regularly conduct, our prices are still competitive in comparison to other five star hotels in the area.

Thank you very much.


Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I were traveling on a trip to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. I decided to use this stop as a place to have a surprise anniversary dinner for her. Weeks before, I began corresponding with Chantrea of the hotel re: possible options, The result was absolutely spectacular. When we checked in, as part of a group, Chantrea immediately sought me out and
pulled me aside. It was very evident that she was very excited and personally invested in the success of the dinner. The next night, at 7:00 pm, a mercedes limousine pulled up in front of the hotel and Chantrea escorted us to a special temple where she had arranged a blessing for us. It was very cool. Then we went back to the hotel and she told my wife she wanted to show her the gardens. As we approached them, there were about 30 huge torches surrounding a canopied tent with flowers everywhere and a 4 piece cambodian band playing and flowers everywhere.
Margaret turned to us and said, that is so beautiful, is someone getting married? Chantrea said yes - you are. We had a very romantic dinner with music under the stars and our names spelled out in flower petals. It was great.

On top of that, we loved the hotel. We went to the spa every day we were there- it is great. And the rooms are terrific. We upgraded to a top floor room overlooking the pool.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ektlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

It was indeed a splendid anniversary celebration!
It was a pleasure for us to have arranged and celebrated with you this one-of-a-kind, dazzling commemoration of your union as husband and wife, and we could only wish you more years of happiness and love.
We look forward to spending more remarkably special celebrations with you in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Having stayed in Raffles, we expected more. As mentioned in other reviews, some of the rooms tend to be VERY noisy, so DO bring your earplugs (we had nights with little sleep).
From the outside, the hotel has an 'old' charm. The rooms in itself are nice and comfortable, the bathrooms from the previous century. The service attitude is definitely mixed. While some of the staff is really helpful, cheerful and service oriented, others seem not to be interested in providing service.It appeared that not all of the staff was at the same level of knowledge. The hotel (during our stay) was full and you really felt the it. Despite our efforts to sort out some of our discomforts, we felt little enthusiasm to help us. We left disappointed and will not return to a Raffles Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chbusytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay. We appreciate your feedback as it is only through such that we are able to maintain and improve our services and facilities worthy of the Raffles brand, thus, of the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor.

It is unfortunate to hear about the noise issue which had greatly affected your overall experience. While the architecture of the building may be susceptible to sound, our team does our best to maintain a tranquil environment with the exception of outside factors such as the traditional weddings, funerals and other events which may have taken place during your stay, for which we have little or no influence with.

With regards to our service, it is unusual for us to receive comments about unsatisfactory service, however, we will take your comment as a motivation for further service improvement.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor on in any of our hotels and resorts around the world.


Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, the service was 5 Star, the restaurant was fine dining at its best, breakfast was a mix of western & local produce including fresh fruit brilliant.
Pool & Gym was modern & service in these areas was faultless.
My wife enjoyed a Massage at the Spa which she loved
This is the first Raffles chain I have stayed in, I must say the Cambodians spoilt us, by far the best service we have EVER experienced,

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor if possible, nice view & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael196016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your heartwarming and inspiring words. It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time feasting on our gastronomic treats which include the Royal Cambodian Cuisine handed down from generation to generation of the Royal family. It would be wonderful to welcome you back again should you need another memorable and definitely comfortable retreat in the historical bliss that is Siem Reap.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

There's nothing around the hotel, which makes it stand out more.
Quite surprisingly, the large garden in front of the hotel belongs to them- much like actual French palaces- though I don't think those in France are open to the public.
Rooms were good, though I think the hotel's age shows a bit, especially in the design of the bathrooms. I'm not Japanese, nor do am I a big fan of bath tubs, but since they provided 'bath salts' I just had to try it out. I finally realized why the Japanese find combined shower+tubs nonsensical- it doesn't make sense jumping into a filled tub to scrub yourself, and then to relax in your muck.
Breakfast was alright- I was shocked by the bottle of champagne next to the orange juice. The food however seemed to be tweaked more for a Western palate, as there was a fair bit of pork. A more varied buffet spread would have been welcomed.
The spa, unfortunately, is not open 24/7, but does open quite early- at 6am, I think. Separate changing rooms, steam rooms, and saunas, but the jacuzzi is co-ed (clothing required).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and for your positive comments on your stay. It is a pleasure to know that you had wonderful memories of the hotel, most especially of the hotel structure overlooking the magnificent and perfectly-manicured Royal gardens.

We appreciate your comments regarding our champagne breakfast which is one of our special touches, and please be assured that we will look on ways on how to further improve our breakfast spread.

With regard to our bathrooms, we are currently conducting refurbishment, however, only in moderation in order to preserve the old colonial charm and heritage of the hotel.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,420 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 374 in Siem Reap
777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 374 in Siem Reap
3,174 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#43 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $242 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing