We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in class service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #70 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just finished a 5 night stay at the hotel and were blown away. The property was absolutely wonderful and the staff one of the most attentive and pleasant ever. Kudos to Raffles, the management team and staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed and Alexis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

It was also wonderful to have served you and we are glad that you had an enjoyable and memorable holiday. We look forward to your next stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and please inform us of your next stay so we could ensure it would be more memorable.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent three nights at the Raffles Grand Hotel in Siem Reap in January. It felt like we were transported back in time to an era of old time hotels. Everything from the open air elevator (with operator) to the traditional bar made us feel we were somewhere back in time. Service was impeccable from everyone. Fresh cold towels every time we came in from outside. The rooms were large and kept very clean. The breakfast buffet was very nice and included champagne and custom prepared eggs, pancakes, etc.Every staff member gives the patrons a "wai" or little bow every time you walk by.

Criticisms are minor and include air conditioning that didn't work too well (and it was January!) and the prices in the restaurants seemed a bit higher than they should have been. We ate in a local restaurant outside the hotel for half the cost and equally good, if not better, food. When we called about the AC (at 10 pm) they sent an actual mechanic to try to fix it within minutes of the call. Unfortunately, it didn't help much.

Certainly a very pleasant experience overall and a place I would recommend if you find yourself in Siem Reap to see the spectacular Angkor Wat!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay and had enjoyed the old world ambience coupled with warm Cambodian hospitality at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. I hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to the spectacular temples of Angkor.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I can simply not say enough about how wonderful this hotel was. My father and I stayed here during our trip to Siem Reap and it was just perfect. There was slight confusion upon check in when they upgraded us to a room with a King Sized bed but once we told them that it was a family trip, they immediately fixed it and our room was lovely. I almost felt bad because the staff member was embarrassed but very professional about getting us sorted out.

The welcome drink was indeed VERY welcome and very tasty. The architecture of the building was awe inspiring and my father and I joked about how we could feel our colonial roots showing through. The up keep through out the hotel is just fantastic. Our butler took us on the tour of the hotel and of our room so we knew how to get in touch with anyone in case we needed anything at all. The grounds were gorgeous!

The staff at the Elephant bar really made the experience top notch. The wine tasting and cocktail tasting events were a welcome way to end our busy tour days and relax and the atmosphere was so lovely. The staff were knowledgable and remembered our preferences. The dress code was strange at first but I'm glad there was one and completely understand after trekking around the sites all day.

Being greeted by name at the restaurant was a lovely way to start my day and my personal coffee service was appreciated - I do love my coffee. The mimosas were also great!

I wish I lived there, but for a couple of days, I definitely felt like I did. Christian, you and your team and just the epitome of perfection as far as I'm concerned. I stayed at the Bangkok Four Seasons before I flew back to Canada and frankly, Raffles will always be the gold standard in my mind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us. Your compliments serve as our reward and rest assured that I will share them with the whole of my team.
I am very glad that we have set the bar for luxury and service for you, but most of all, that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Grand Hotel d'Angkor is a lovely old hotel that has been carefully renovated while keeping the charm of another era. The property is beautifully landscaped, the pool is very attractive, the bars and restaurants are top notch. There are lovely shops, music in the lobby in the afternoon, very nice breakfast buffet, and very pleasant and competent staff. We enjoyed our stay. TIP: You might want to get laundry done here...fabulous! Our clothing came back looking like it had just been purchased!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swrtzmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

It is a pleasure to know that you appreciate the blending of the old world charm with the modern facilities present at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, and most importantly, it is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It would be a pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We arrived here as part of our "Cruisco river trip" up the Meekong and added 2 days to our 2 day stay. Magnificent cannot describe this hotel enough. The pool and it's service were impecible. Champange for breakfast. Close to the city centre and "Pub street'. The Cambodian staff were there to make our stay as comfortable as they could and went all out to make us appreciate them and their lifestyle. The Cambodians everywhere want to ensure you want to come back and they are doing a great job. Loved Raffles loved Cambodia.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mechman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

It is a pleasure to know that you had a magnificent time in our hotel and in Cambodia as well, and thank you for appreciating the warm Cambodian hospitality which, indeed, serves as an invitation to return to this wonderful country. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights and were very impressed by the quality of the room, pool and dining options. The room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The staff really worked to ensure you had everything you could possibly want, and the food was excellent. We had come across some iffy reviews and comments on the architecture and decor, but these all seem to have been put behind the hotel now.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farthingstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We value our guest’s comments and make sure to incorporate these comments in improving our facilities and services. I trust that you experienced the comfort, tranquility and the luxury worthy of a Raffles’ stay and I hope that, overall, you had memorable visit to the wonders of Siem Reap. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my third stay in this hotel and I was just as happy as the first time I visited. My boyfriend and I visited for a long weekend mainly to see the temples but wanted to relax as well. From the moment we arrived we were pampered. Our room had a small balconythat overlooked the city square. It was a wonderful spot for coffee and croissants each morning while watching the city come to life. The room was big and the fitting were beautiful. The bathroom was a bit small and the hot water was unreliable, as any old building, but the charm carried us through.

We took out temple walks independently and got our ahead of the tour buses. Leave the hotel at 8am and then come back at noon for lunch by the pool followed by a dip to cool you off!

The bar is a great place to relax prior to dinner- I loved the old fashioned cocktails. I didn't worry about the ice in the drinks at Raffles as we needed to in other restaurants and bars in Siem Reap.

The Tatar was amazing and we will treasure the memories forever.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1lisabw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us again and for your inspiring compliments. It is wonderful to know that you are still captivated by the legendary charms of Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and rest assured that I will pass on your compliments to the whole of my team. Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#51 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 384 in Siem Reap
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#67 of 384 in Siem Reap
3,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#50 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#76 of 384 in Siem Reap
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $221 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing