We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apsara dance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #65 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but visited the hotel for the apsara dance. The Apsara dance was fantastic and the martial arts performance was interesting. The dinner buffet has a good variety but was average. The staff was friendly and attentive.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Ayql28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience and your feedback on our Apsara Terrace dinner and show. I am glad that you had a fantastic time watching the show. The team and I very much enjoyed looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,695)
There are newer reviews for Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights at Raffles Grand Hotel in Siem Reap, April 23-26, 2012.

This was once THE hotel in Siem Reap and when it was re-opened, following the years of political turmoil, I understand that it was the only five star hotel. Now there are many upscale hotels in town.

Our comparisons on this trip are to the Millennium Hilton in Bangkok, The Chedi in Chiang Mai, and the Banyan Tree in Phuket. We did not look into any of the other hotels in Siem Reap, while we were there. Frankly, this was the only hotel that did not meet or exceed my expectations, which were based upon its reputation. That is not to say that the hotel was not nice. It was very nice.

On the very positive side, the service was terrific. The beds were very comfortable. Everything was very clean and spacious. Buffet breakfast was excellent, as was the Cambodian cuisine in the main restaurant (although it was very expensive - almost $200, including service, with only three glasses of wine.) By comparison, a similar, excellent meal in town at a very nice restaurant cost much less.

The swimming pool is beautiful, although there is no area of the pool that is shaded, to offer protection from the sun while in the water.

My wife had a nice massage in the spa.

On the disappointing side, as historic as the facility is, it is "tired". That said, renovations were underway while we were there and perhaps they will be able to address some of the issues we experienced, including a power failure (which seemed to only affect our hotel and not the neighbourhood), a Wi-Fi shutdown due to the power failure, which the staff was not able to correct for hours after power had been restored, extreme fluctuations in water temperature in the shower, a limited number of power outlets in the room, and a scheduled six-hour, mid-day hot water shut-down for maintenance.

By the way, if you are in the heart of town at night (where it's hopping), don't miss going to the Blue Pumpkin for ice cream or sorbet, after dinner!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimAndDenise51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We only had two nights here, but I could easily have spent a week. Understated elegance describes it perfectly. Nothing flashy or overdone, just supurb service and facilities. The staff is incredibly attentive, without being insincere. The rooms are simple but comfortable. I truely thought I'd been transported to the scene of a 1940's film about Indochina. I came to Cambodia for a short tour after the Bangkok Rotary International convention, and wish I could have spent my whole time here. There are people that get sick of "one more temple" and people like me who could wander them endlessly, imagining life a a thousand years ago. If you are the latter, go to the Raffles Grand at Siem Reap.

Room Tip: I didn't see the main building rooms, but if you're in the extended wing you can choose gard...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCRinBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your incredibly kind comments. It is truly a pleasure for us to hear that you appreciate every detail of our hotel and that you had an amazing stay with us and visit to Cambodia. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed 3 night in Raffles during early May. The staff are truly outstanding and the hotel provides a very personalised level of service. I was particularly impressed that the staff learnt our names so quickly and made us feel very welcome (even the pool staff greeted us by name).

We ate in the Le Grande restaurant and the food was very well presented and prepared, as befits a 5 star hotel. The hotel itself was built in the late 20's and still retains the character features of that period, whilst also offering the expected modern conveniences of air-con, wi-fi etc.

All in all, a fantastic hotel which evokes the grandiose feelings of being in the 1920's. We loved it and will stay again on our next visit.

Stayed: May 2012
Thank HKGexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review which I will be delighted to share with the team who made it all happen. I am very pleased to know that you appreciate the heritage and grandiose of Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Raffles as a hotel chain comes with it's list of expectations. This property is fantastic and has the special touch. We were a large group, and upon our entry to the hotel we were taken aback with the warmth with which they welcomed us. Made us feel instantly at home. The property is lovely, sprawling and a short tuk-tuk ride away from local markets. Within the property, don't miss the 100 year old elevator which tells a story in itself. Rooms are large with attached balconies, bathrooms need a bit of a spruce up though. Pool is large and inviting. Breakfast had great variety and was delicious. Overall, we absolutely loved our stay, and i cannot forget the hospitality and warmth of the beautiful people of Cambodia.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank apso0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you very much on behalf of the whole team for the compliments you paid them and the hotel. It is wonderful to know that you left Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor with happy memories and I thank you for sharing them.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Plusses:
- Beautiful hotel in a great location
- Very attentive & friendly staff
- Nicely appointed rooms and facilitiesre

Drawbacks:
- Pool water was uncomfortably warm
- Food was okay, but way overpriced for the location

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel beauty is awesome located nearby Royal Garden with decors the rest from old french style.
room is super clean, comfy bed with friendly and helpful staffs. The breakfast is excellent, nice pool and we loved Elephant Bar.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and that you will always reach out to us whenever we can be of assistance to you.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 361 in Siem Reap
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#61 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $216 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing