We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Angkor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2007

We stayed at the Sofitel Royal Angkor for 3 nights in June 2007 after spending 2 nights in Bangkok. The hotel is on the outskirts of the town and is in an ideal location to visit the temples especially Angkor Wat which is just a 5 minute drive away. Our room was in the deluxe wing on the ground floor looking out on to the lagoon which was very pleasant. The room was of a very good size and standard. The pool area is set out well with plenty of beds, although the pool it’s self is not very refreshing due to the temperature of the water. The spa is a must after a day of walking around the many temples with a variety of treatments and massages on offer at reasonable prices. The concierge are very helpful, we arrived late on in the evening and wanted to arrange a trip for the next day but were unable to get hold of our kuoni rep. So we asked the guy’s at the concierge who arranged for us to have our own English speaking guide and private air conditioned car (this is a must) for the next morning at a fraction of the price Kuoni were offering there group trips. This was fantastic as there were no timetables to keep to and could basically go where we wanted. The only down side to the hotel was the food it was very average for a 5 star hotel and several of the restaurants appeared to be closed. This may have been due to it being low season and the hotel being very quiet at this time of year.
If there is only one thing you do while in Siam Reap make sure you get up and go to Angkor wat for sunrise as this is the best time to see the temple.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CANDA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,667 - 2,673 of 3,350 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2007

We satayed here during our vist to Siem Riep and had a wondrful experience at this hotel. We had some difficulty with check in and were immediately upgraded to a suite which was beautiful and spacious. The staff brought us a large fruit basket everyday so we would not remember the one bad incident that marred out stay and it worked. I only have good things to say about this hotel and the staff. Angkor is amazing. This hotel is far from town but very close to the park which is what I preferred. I personally do not think that it is necessary to be close to town since it did not have much ot offer as far as I was concerned. I would stay here again. However I do not think I will be returning since the heat and humidity were quite bad during our stay. WE apprecaited the wonderfiul A/C and pool that this hotel provided.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank drjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

Stayed here at the end of Apr. The hotel was very nice and well maintained. Being situated near the main Angkor temples made it very convenient for us to come back to the hotel to rest mid day when we had enough of sightseeing at the temples.

We went to a number of other hotels mainly for meals, Raffles Grand Hotel, FCC, Hotel De La Paix, Shinta Mani.... but thought our choice of Sofitel was good. Hotel De La Paix was very nice as well but a bit too zen for my taste.

Though I'm from SE Asia, familiar with Thai, Vietnamese cuisine, I somehow don't really like the local food. Went to a couple of restaurants highly recommended by the guide books but was very disappointed. Viroth was lousy, Abacus was so so. So after the first 2 days, I decided to just stick to the hotels. There's a good range of restaurants in Sofitel. We tried the italian pizza place as well as the buffet restaurant. Food is ok, not fantastic. However, note that the french restaurant is only opened for dinner, though the opening hours listed on the hotel directory indicates lunch as well. The staff were also confused. We weren't too happy when the concierge told us that the restaurant would be opened at 2pm and made us wait for an hr. We asked another staff later on and found out that it was actually opened only for dinner!!! so we waited 1 hr for nothing.
Though this unpleasant experience did not really ruin my stay. Most of the staff there are quite nice and eager to please.

Oh... almost forgot to mention that you should try to get your own guides and not through the hotel. I book the driver & guide through the hotel paying US$30 each per day, which is quite expensive compared to the typical US$20-25. Moreoever, the guide I got wasn't really good too. The driver also tried to charge me extra $12 for going to Bantaey Srei though I clearly remembered the hotel brochure indicated that that there is no surcharge. I still paid cos I had initially told the driver 2 days earlier that I would use him the whole day but ended up just half day.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mexxgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

The hotel is very, very nice. As almost everywhere in Cambodia, the people are very friendly and attentive. Good food, not really top notch, but nothing to complain about. Nice pool scene, although water temperature of 32-36 deg C is too much for refreshing. But noone really expects cooled pool water in a country like Cambodia. Good and knowledgeable Concierge, can arrange also things other than Angkor (such as trip to/on Tonle Sap).

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

I gave this hotel 5 stars because it truly is a 5 star hotel. the staff is so friendly and attentive, and the complex is beautiful. rooms are large, and ours had a lovely view of the pond in the middle of the resort. the only thing i didnt like about this hotel is the location. it's really not that far from the downtown area, but i'd rather be in the raffles or the hotel de la paix where you can easily walk to the bars and restaurants. it's only a short tuk tuk ride away, but the streets are not lit up at all, so you cant walk anywhere at night from the hotel.

we just loved cambodia. the people, culture, history, everything is amazing and it will be a place we will never forget. wish we had spent more than just 2 nights there :( enjoy your time there!

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank mcbinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Given the mixed reviews on this site, we were a bit nervous about what to expect. Really it was a very pleasant stay. We booked late for the time between Christmas & New Year so the hotels in town were crowded. It seems to deserve a solid 4 stars. Though this is one of the older fine hotels in town, our rooms were clean, quiet, well-kept, bright, and the decor was not over-done. We arrived well before check-in time, and my mother's reserved room-type was not available, so they immediately put her in a huge 2 room, 2 bath suite. Our "garden view" was a large lotus blossom-filled pond and palm trees. Most other rooms were much closer to the pool which is huge and free-form.

The staff members were really nice, and Cambodians consider hospitality an important tradition. A few spoke poor English, but until 8 years ago the country was war-torn, and foreign langauge schools are a new phenomena. Most staff communicated well enough, and many were practicing French, German, and Japanese too. The food would be my only quibble, but once we learned what to order off the menus we were happy. This is rural Cambodia! There are not jumbo jets delivering fancy foreign ingredients fresh 3 times per day! But we really enjoyed the Khmer food and the local lake fish and local veggies.

Being located close to the temples is also a plus. We would consider saying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

The Sofitel Royal Angkor is an amazing hotel. My husband and I stayed there over Christmas this year. We had a wonderful experience. The grounds are immaculate and the staff is super friendly, helpful and professional. The buffet breakfast is deliciious and the food in general was very good. There is even a cultural show every evening by the pool. It has traditional Khmer dancing and instruments. It is not to be missed! The resort is located on the outskirts of the main restuarants/bars area in Siem Reap but you can take a tuk-tuk for around $1-$2US into town. The Sofitel Royal Angkor made our Christmas unforgettable!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Erin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#61 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,034 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,363 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 361 in Siem Reap
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#21 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $164 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing