We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star all the way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“5 Star all the way!”
Reviewed December 10, 2009

In my 40 years of traveling the world, this Sofitel in Siem Reap(Angkor Wat) Cambodia is right up at the top of a group of Real 5 Star hotels. The entire staff was superb. I highly recommend it. I also had the best massage of my life at the spa..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,600
    419
    73
    18
    15
See reviews for
583
1,475
153
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2009

In all my travels, I can honestly say that it would be hard to beat the friendly, smiling service at the Sofitel Angkor Wat. The staff were superb, the facilities excellent, the room spotless, and the whole ambience wonderful. I normally travel all over the world for work as a free-lance tour manager, and I chose this hotel for my own personal holiday. never having visited Cambodia before. I was not disappointed. Whilst I was staying in the hotel, there was a cultural music and dance programme every evening, but this may not be available throughout the year

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We would definately stay there again.. the staff cannot do enough for you and the rooms were lovely and extremely clean. Something quite memorable was the foot massages we got in the cabanas.. they were heaven!!!! We came back and got another one the next day!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaWallaceAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aejii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I visited the Sofitel for three nights in August and what a difference it made. I arrived back every evening to find a calm and relaxing place, one I thought I might become bored it with it not being in the center of things. The bar is lovely, be sure to spend some time talking to the locals who work there. The place is large, so if you are a solo traveler and feel the need to be surrounded by a large number of people, you may want to rethink this hotel. The location is a few minutes by tuk-tuk to downtown, but I didn't venture out much in the evenings because I was there to relax. Highly recommend. And, as others have mentioned, if you have a chance, book Soluy Loeurt as a guide for at least a day. She was amazing and showed me great ways to better use my camera. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aejii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed for six nights recently and it has become one of our favourite hotels anywhere. Unlike some of the new hotels in Siem Reap, the Sofitel has an understated and classy elegance which instantly makes you feel welcome. Our room was one of the few standard rooms with a balcony, on the 3rd floor. The room was well maintained, the bed extremely comfortable but the bathroom is slightly smaller than you might expect.
There's a TV with channels for most European languages, mini-bar, safe, free bottled water each day and small desserts most nights as part of the turndown service. The internet service is quite expensive.

As it was low season the main restaurant was closed so we ate at the Explorer bar or had room service, apart from one night at the French restaurant for the Apsara dance performance. Apart from a couple of dishes, the food was very good. They also have a bakery so you can buy fresh pastries, cakes and baguettes each morning, useful when setting off for the temples and you don't fancy paying for the standard breakfast. After 18:00 most of the cakes and baguettes are half-price.

The large pool was empty most of the time and is perfect after a long day trekking around the temples. The spa is also very good but luckily we received vouchers for a free massage each, otherwise it's the usual high-end spa prices.

The hotel is a fair walk to the town centre (20 mins) but it's a cheap tuk-tuk ride ($2) to get to all the bars and restaurants.

Service here is amongst the best we've experienced anywhere and the staff greet you by name and know your room number. If we return to Siem Reap we will stay here again, even though it costs significantly more than most hotels there.

While visiting the temples over three days we cycled, used a taxi and finally a tuk-tuk. Only attempt to cycle if you're quite fit as the temperature was about 35C with high humidity. Bring plenty of $1 notes as everything costs $1, including a glossy guide book called Ancient Angkor. Buy this book and it'll instantly get rid of some of the sellers when you show it to them. The rest will still pester you to buy postcards, scarves, handbags and cold drinks but the young sellers are friendly enough, with a few exceptions.

We didn't make it to sunrise over Angkor Wat (too lazy!) but climbed up Phnom Bakheng for the sunset. My advice is to skip the sunset there as it's massively overcrowded and Angkor Wat is a speck in the distance, so you need a very long zoom lens. It's better to remain at Angkor Wat itself. The Bayon nearby is also very nice in the late afternoon.

We took a boat ride to Battambang which lasted 6½ hours in a smallish wooden boat. The ticket you buy shows a modern speed boat which looks nothing like the one you'll be taking! The trip itself is fascinating and unforgettable, where you see many floating villages and the level of poverty the inhabitants deal with. There's one brief stop at a floating village when the drivers stop for lunch and you can buy some snacks and drinks, otherwise it's whatever you bring or buy at the departure port. There is a toilet onboard but we saw no one even think about using it. The boat service is used by locals so it's a normal service, not one dedicated to tourists. Battambang itself isn't as pretty as we'd been led to believe and it's only a 2 ½ hour taxi ride back to Siem Reap ($40) along paved roads the entire trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bergkamp9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

I got to stay two nights at the Sofitel Royal for two nights, Siem Reap, Cambodia, out of which one night was courtesy, American Express under their Rewards Scheme. Sofitel Royal, in my opinion, is the oasis in this Cambodian town of Ancient Angkor and landmine-victims. The hotel is a blend of French and Khmer architecture. They say Sofitel Royal Angkor is the first 5-star hotel in Siem Reap and is the closest to the Angkor Wat ruins. Set in tranquil, landscaped gardens, welcome was very warm and they allowed me early checkin as my Bangkok Airways flight landed at 0855 and I rushed straight to the hotel. The staff are very cordial and bend backwards to accomoodate even your silliest and whimsical requests. The hotel has 214 comfortable and elegantly furnished rooms, 24 suites, a beautiful pool, a luxury spa, five restaurants and three bars. We had a complimentary upgrade to a suite on the first floor, close to the amoeba or octopus-like swimming pool. They say there are four five resturants. But we saw only three.

We had stayed in the hotel and had never expected that we will be so facinated with the Hotel that we woulnt feel like leaving the same and going anywhere else. The Hotel management was just great, in Cambodia, of all places, and the service was so prompt that we were astonished.
The Wayfarer's Pub was has some finest pastries to go with some unconventional cocktails. They say the other restaruant the Leaf on the Stone Bar and Mouhot's Dream which used to offer a fine dining establishment offering French-Asian fusion cuisine were closed. The hotel's spa offers a variety of health treatments including massage and its pool is one of the most impressive in Siem Reap, but neither my wife nor me ventured as the charges were frebiding. I tried some wine flight or choose your favorite wines. THE CITADEL - All-day dining restaurant was really good, with an eclectic western and Asian buffet caters to everyone's favourite needs. I had read that they have nightly Khmer dances, but they were to be only during May to October. We had a fine terrace in our sutie and it was an ethereal expereience to order room service - dead cheap - dine on terrace and gaze out onto the scenic gardens and experience the fantastic services of the hotel staff. My wife wanted to have some pepper sauce and they did not hve any. What they did - surprising, they powdered some pepper, put some vengar and added some white sauce. It was almost European. All within fice minutes.

Breakfast at Citadel comprised a nice selection of salad, pastas and pizzas make this venue one of the most trendy for the best value of money. Ask Sokun, the waiter girl over there, who will explain and serve the best of cusine, mostly made to order, to suite your purse and palate. the resurant itself evokes a colonial-era atmosphere, is a popular place for an aperitif or post-dinner drinks.

Oh yeah, as for Angkor Wat: beautiful, spectacular, breathtaking, and definitely worth the price of admission. We had a private taxi driver take us from temple to temple, his name is Mr. Kriss and if you're ever in Siem Reap look him up, he's great. He speaks English. The other temples were also nice but how many piles of rubble can you look at in 45 degree heat before you're done, unless you're a Khmer historian or archaeologist. So, we spent two nearly full days checking them out, then checked out a night jaunt for Apsara dance for a change of pace.Oh yeah, and the best meal we've had thus far was at No. 12 outside of Ta Prohm in Angkor, Khmer curry to die for. Yes, each person has their stand and their own prep area, and we randomly chose No. 12 over its neighbors Nos. 11 and 13. We did sunset at Angkor and sunrise at Angkor Wat itself, both were somewhat disappointing, but I praise our motivation.

Back to the hotel, were we were spoilt for choice during our free time. A large swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzi are perfect retreats from the heat of Siem Reap. The hotel strongly advised me to take advantage of the professional masseurs at the Sofitel’s spa, where one can indulge your senses in one of the western or traditional Khmer treatments. The Phokeethra Country Club is a world class golf course is accentuated by a luxurious clubhouse and outstanding dining. But it is 18 kms far and during our stay there was a world class tournament. Golfers of all abilities are challenged as the course features a mix of par 3, par 4, and par 5 holes.

As far as hospitality is concerned, I always felt that the Taj of India are the best. Still I maintain that. But the Sofitel staff at Siem Reap are no worse. They have the traditional hospitality of the Indo-China and efficiency of the Europeans when it comes to entertaining the whimsical ro eceentric requests of the guests. We wanted fresh flowers every day for our deity worship and after an evening stroll we had the flowers we wanted. Neatly arranged in a bowl or basket.

A stay worth remembering. reminiscing. Repeating.

  • Liked — Best hospitality, good fod
  • Disliked — None in my view
  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank krishnamrutam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

If going read the Lonely Planet Guide and get a guide from one of the services provided..it is not expensive and is worth it!!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikichrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 344 in Siem Reap
1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#60 of 344 in Siem Reap
2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 344 in Siem Reap
673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing