We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #20 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here on one of the stops during our Viking River Cruise in Vietnam and Cambodia. Everything about this resort is exceptional. The rooms are large and spacious (get one on the first floor poolside if you can) with large bathrooms. The food was exceptional, including the breakfast buffet that had a huge selection of both western and eastern foods. The pool is lagoon shaped, a bit warm as it is all shallow (under 4 ft) but felt refreshing after a day of temple viewing. The staff will do anything to accommodate and are very friendly. Finally, we had very nice massages which were inexpensive with great local masseuses. A short distance from Angkor Wat and Siem Reap markets (both easily accessed by tuk tuk).

Room Tip: Poolside is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennys1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
WOW! What a wonderful review to share with my team for this beginning of week! We are extremely happy to read that we lived up to your expectation from your arrival until departure. This is definitely worth of praising our Ambassadors for their hard dedication and passion for excellence.
We have shared your experience with all our Ambassadors including our So Spa team which happened to be a fantastic boost in motivation of wanting to do even better! Once again, a huge thank you for sharing your experience with all Trip Advisor readers. Life is “Magnifique”! - Fabrice Ducry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,574
    416
    73
    18
    14
See reviews for
578
1,462
153
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is a little out if the centre of Siem Reap. It has a number of excellent features- there is a large pool area surrounded by well tended gardens and walkways which somehow were kept free of the Mosquitos found elsewhere. The beauty salon gave the best treatments I have ever experienced and I am still wondering how my manicure remained intact for two weeks! As I was lying on my back with a towel soaked in warm lavender oil over my eyes I could not tell just what was happening apart from there being an impression of much scrubbing and scraping. The room was large and comfortable. The citadel restaurant was good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
I would like to thank you for considering the Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra and for sharing your feedback through Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed our location, indeed, the Hotel is very well located, 5 minutes distance in Tuk-Tuk from activities such as museum, the center of our little town and of course, the magnificent Angkor site!
Thank you for your very positive feedback on your overall stay… particularly on our Spa. I have already shared your feedback with them and you can imagine the boost in motivation they get from your message! 
We remain at your disposal for your future stays in Angkor and we are very looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights following an excellent Mekong cruise on the Amalotus APT tours boat.
Lovely room,clean large and comfortable and well equipped and stocked bathroom.
As others have found the pool area is really lovely.The food also was very good and caters for all tastes.Breakfasts particularly good.
We had a long wait from checking out to leaving,we were able to use the Spa for changing and showering.If I wanted to be picky it was that the seating in the large reception area is a bit insufficient for large groups waiting to leave,there is more seating in the bar area though.
Staff were helpful and charming at all times

Room Tip: Can't think of any rooms here that would be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lit39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing with us and all Trip Advisor readers about your recent stay at the Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra! It is a pleasure to read that you had a good time during your holidays… as this is how it should always be 

I had the opportunity to share your review with my team but additionally went to share it personally with the culinary team, as their effort to prepare succulent meals, seems to have left you a memorable experience. I have as well taken note of your comments about the long wait before your departure to the airport; and will discuss the matter with the tour organizer to review other options. Any plans to come back again? We wish! We are looking forward to seeing you again. - Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

WE had 4 wonderful days there close to everything Hotel excellent staff excellent food excellent I would recommend anyone to stay at this place. The pool is amazing with a pool bar . Rooms large and so clean the Easter Bunny even came while we were out for dinner . A great place to just relax or use as a base to have a good look around.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool all the rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
What a delight to read your comment! A huge THANK YOU from all the Team of the Sofitel Angkor for your kind feedback! … as we all know how important these comments are today when selecting a hotel… for all other Tripadvisor readers. I am happy that the Easter Bunny did not forget to pass by your room 
Even “magic” can happen in Siem Reap over the holiday… next time come and visit us over Christmas, Santa is expected once again this yeart!  - Fabrice Ducry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth Town
Level Contributor
348 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have just spent a week in SR at the Sofitel. Overall we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in both the Sofitel and in SR., many in English, plenty of sport and movie channels
We have stayed in several Sofitels / Mc Gallery hotels in Thailand, Vietnam and Indonesia in the past 18 months. It is most comparable to the Sofitel in Krabi. So my review score is based on the cost and services we received in those hotels.
Our room was good, location, the best in the hotel being only 20 metres to the pool. The rooms is a reasonable size, has a nice patio overlooking the pool. The bathroom is small but had a separate bath and shower - small shower though.. Good Lanvin shampoo etc and good quality towels.
Good Samsung 40 inch TV with lots of channels - no music though. Like the Krabi Sofitel, no music system for your Ipod. many hotels in this price range have a good Ipod clock setup. The king bed was on the hard side - too hard for me but ok for my partner.
We really liked the pool area. It has a nice garden feel, good towels and pool lounges. when we were here most of the fellow travellers were elderly on tour or in conferences so there was never more than 20 people by the pool. I think in high season the area would be very crowded may be too crowded?
The quality of service through out this hotel was some of the best and most pleasant we have had. cannot give them too much praise!
The cons
There is no Happy Hour in any of the bars or pool swim up bar? Why not? hardly anyone used the pool bar for drinks or food as it is more than triple for outside the hotel - i.e a cold beer in Pub street is $1 and here it was $4.20! Cocktails were $7.66 which is cheap by aus standards but you can get good cocktails for 3.50 outside the hotel! The food by the pool also was too expensive.
We were at the Krabi Sofitel in October with similar occupancy. They too had shut several of their restaurants and only kept one open but you could order from any of the menus and they had good deals going! None here. The other bar was shut, Japanese shut, Khmer shut even though advertised to be open in April! The French was good but expensive, no advantage plus deals! The basic restaurant The Citadel had adv plus discount but that just made it the same as the average local price but with very expensive drinks! The buffet was acceptable but nothing special. They need to lift the standard of food that comes out of here to be better than average!!
We did like the Aspara dance that was held nightly at 7:30 - goes for an hour and was well done.

Although I have some criticisms re the restaurant, bars and unheard of lack of a happy hour - maybe they do not want the Bus Tour occupants getting too good of a deal - we would definitely come back.

This place definitely has a lot going for it. I think that it gets so much custom from the Tour companies that it has forgotten how to better cater for its other guests!

Room Tip: If you are not staying in a suite book one of the rooms facing the pool on the ground floor. You get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Greetings from Siem Reap, Cambodia! We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback through Trip Advisor and for considering the Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra as your accommodation choice while in Siem Reap.
Although, we are very disappointed to read that we have not been able to reach your expectations and fully satisfy you during your stay with us. I took good note of your very valuable comments; particularly in regards to the comfort of bed, the Ipod docking station, the lack of happy hour, the average quality of our food & beverage and the restaurants closed. I can assure you that I will review those points in details with my Head of Departments in order to improve in each area. It is true that very cheap Food and beverage offers are available near pub street which cater for a certain crowd. We try to focus more on quality of service and authenticity of the product served, staying in line with local taxation rules and preferring to take care of the wellbeing of all our “Ambassadors”(employees)…
Keeping these basics in mind, we are regularly doing a competitor survey to ensure that our prices are on line with other 5 star hotels in town but nevertheless, we will take the time to do another check.
Already taking the time to write your feedback proves already your engagement to allow us to improve… an I thank you for your loyalty to Accor Hotels, as I am very pleased to see that despite the fact that we have not been ‘’perfect’’, you would be happy to experience our hotel again! 
We would be delighted to welcome you again for a magnificent experience at the Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra. Please feel free to revert to us in order to prepare your future stay the best way possible. Warm Regards Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.0 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#8 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#59 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#45 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing