We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Deserving of All Five Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #29 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well Deserving of All Five Stars”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Everything about the Sofitel met or exceeded our high expectations. Best of all was the room itself, gleaming with shiny teak floors, pleasing art and tasteful Asian furnishings, all in a very large room. Other hotels might call such a room a junior suite or more. The lobby was beautiful, the bar outstanding, the food very good and the service first rate. The pool was huge and impeccably maintained. The entire property serves as a lovely example of how a low rise five star on a smaller resort size footprint should be designed, maintained and operated. My only complaint is that their WiFi protocol requires far too many log ins, sometimes multiple log ins an hour. Apart from this nuisance, our stay was first rate in all respects.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,701
    425
    75
    18
    16
See reviews for
607
1,534
157
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My stay here was wonderful. I felt like it was an Oasis and the time spent resting on my patio were necessary to protect myself from the heat, chaos of town, and exhaustion of temple viewing.
I had quite a walk to my room- but it was gigantic with a patio the size of most hotel rooms that overlooked palms and the bird sounds trickled into my room.
The staff was amazing. A good example is that my last night I decided to take a bath, but forgot to put the Do not disturb sign out. the staff kept knocked and I announced several times that I was bathing, and they left me alone, after an hour of them frequently coming back, I finally got up to put the sign out and when they approached me I tersely said "I don't need a turn down!" and the nice man said "But, we just wanted to give you this gift", Which is a nice scarf that I have worn most of this winter now!
The breakfast, dinners that I had here were downright amazing. I think I could sit there all day and graze and still not taste everything.
I could totally see making this place a week long destination of relaxation and never leave the place.
What more can I say... stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Service was great and staff very friendly. Pool area was good for the kids although the water was a bit cool and a few more toys/slides would be good. Room was good although there were a few mosquitoes there. Coffee was excellent. Concierge very helpful and obliging. Tuk Tuk drivers called on by the hotel were friendly; only once did they try to ask for more money than the norm. Really good hotel to stay at and recommend it to families.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calais
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A beautiful hotel surrounded by lovingly maintained grounds and a pool to die for.
My party of four spent two nights there immediately before Chinese New Year. The rooms were excellent, the restaurants were marvellous and the service was superb. The hotel is situated very close, a two dollar tuk tuk ride, from the centre of Siem Reap. All in all, very much to be recommended. The people are so friendly !!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor. This has the added advantage of a larger 'patio' area lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustySooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The grounds too are really lovely, as if you were staying in a tropical forest.

Beautiful Hotel inside and out, great meals with an enormous selection for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Close to all the attractions and just a Tuk-Tuk ride to Angkor Wat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have just returned from a 17 night trip to Vietnam and Cambodia (including Cruise) and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights inorder to view the archeological park temples at Angkor. I only wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms were fantastically well appointed - we stayed on the 3rd floor and had our own balcony with chairs and table overlooking the small lake. The service was, as often in the Orient, charming and quick - always with a smile. Lovely swimming pool area with swim-up bar and super spa for massages and other treatments. Also a small gym, but not air-conditioned at the time I used it. I imagine it usually is - perhaps it was broken. Good running machines and free weight section. Delicious food - breakfast especially good. Huge choice and great quality. Absolutely delightful hotel - highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony on the 3rd floor overlooking the small lake. Only a few rooms have balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaEastSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Bonjour and Greetings from Cambodia! Thank you very much for your extremely nice comments on your experience in our property! I have already taken the opportunity to share your feedback with my team as they get even more motivated and keen on doing even better when they read it is appreciated! In regards to the Gym, we do have air-conditioning at the Fitness Center, we usually turn it on at very specific time of the day or when we notice that someone is using the gym. This is part of our ecologically friendly approach on energy saving. I do apologize for not noticing your visit to the gym. Once again, a big thank you for your message, a true motivation to keep us focus in the service for the wellbeing of our guests… Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We spend three days at the resort during the 2014 lunar New Year weekend. The hotel was excellent in all respects. The rooms were well furnished and had a very nice view of the pond. Food was very good at the hotel restaurant and the service was also great. The pool was huge and was not crowded at all. There was a bar next to the pool and you could sit at he bar while still in the water. The concierge was very helpful in making restaurant reservations as well as for the circus. One piece of advice is that please make reservation if you plan on going to any of the top rated restaurants because that is the first they ask you. The hotel was also close to the attractions and the night market.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghavan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Bonjour from Siem Reap!... a very short note to thank you to thank you for your comments. Always pleasing to read that our guest enjoyed their stay with us, particularly our service and hotel facilities 
Wishing you with much delay a HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR! Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon… – Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,952 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#30 of 356 in Siem Reap
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#24 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing