We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #23 of 345 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa Ont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, beautiful property”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The property is a low rise building with beautiful grounds, a distinctive swimming pool and friendly obliging staff. Very peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are very nice but it is the overall look of the property and the friendly attitude of the staff that make the hotel a standout.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,601
    419
    73
    18
    15
See reviews for
583
1,475
153
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent the first 4 nights of our Cambodian tour here, I was really very impressed with most things. Rooms are lovely, plumbing perfect (have had problems with this in 5 star hotels in Vietnam), staff all lovely. Spa was a delight after walking around Angkor all day, they went out of there way to fit me in. Pool is relaxing and huge. Only negative I came across was main restaurant. Great at breakfast but evening buffet not good and very pricey. Bar and reception area lovely to hang out in - wonderful smell and atmosphere. Not many other teenagers here, mainly adults with no kids or small children but didn't seem to bother ours too much.

Room Tip: We had a prestige suite and it was worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What can you say about a 5-star hotel? In this case, oddly, I did encounter a problem. But the fact that it was solved instantly and by higher management made it perfectly clear that the management here is committed to excellence. Imagine complaining to a waiter that there was a discrepancy about the quality of one of the foods at a buffet, and having the Executive Chef come and sit at your table to hear you out, apologize profusely, and fix the matter instantly. The Chef even came back to apprise me of what had been done! Sometimes excellent service is not in being perfect, but how well you handle that which is not. In this regard, this hotel was Awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Sofitel in Siem Reap and was very pleased with our stay. The staff are incredibly friendly and can't do enough for you. The lobby area is a truly lovely space to be in and the lemon grass tea during your checkin a nice touch. The rooms are nice and the king sized bed a pleasure to sleep in. The pool is fantastic, plenty of lounges available around the edges and the bar is well stocked. It did rain which is natural for this time of year so the walkways were very slippery but staff where constantly out wiping them dry so were doing what they could. It's a good location to the Angkor Wat temple complex and main town area. We tried the main restaurant once and found it ok, the dance exhibition was interesting if a bit long. We ended up going to the bar and eating there and found it a much nicer atmosphere. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

At the end of a 2 week APT tour in Vietnam and Cambodia we finished up by spending 3 nights here at the Sofitel. It was very comfortable, very clean, very luxurious. The staff are amazing and can not do enough for you. The food and drink is wonderful and very reasonable priced. I have no complaints. Oh and one thing, the swimming pool is divine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nurse1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked for two families (four adults, two 6 year olds and two 4 year olds) for four nights. Booked 2 junior suites, both upgraded to prestige suites with platinum loyalty card. Suites were good size, very clean and well kitted out.

Service was excellent, we were all made to feel special. Particularly good response when one of our kids was injured (by an umbrella up the nose - what you going to do...). Concierge service was efficient, tours arranged without hassle and good local knowledge. Weather was as expected, but still able to enjoy all of the facilities except the flooded golf course. Spa treatments with kids, including being wrapped head to toe in chocolate, was great fun. Buffet breakfast was fine with all the usual options, and pool bar was nice.

Couple of gripes - the pool is a good size, but has some unsightly blue piping spread around it; unsightly became dangerous when one of the kids had his hand sucked into one. Managed to force him out of it without injury, but wasn't good for the nerves. Second, had a fairly disastrous night at the main restaurant (the advertized Japanese restaurant has been closed), Cambodian dance show kept kids amused for a while but didn't make up for various issues. 50% discount on food and apologies were well received. Resort facilities are fine for lunches/snacks, but for dining out I'd recommend several great restaurants in Siem Reap instead.

Excellent service and ease of access to the temples and other local sights make the resort. Benefits of the loyalty card would probably keep me coming here, if I didn't have one I might consider alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My overall rating of 3 stars is a compromise, as the Sofitel has elements of a 4-5 star property, such as the incredibly good concierge staff, pool complex, and overall appearance of the grounds. However, we experienced mutiple maintenance issues in our room, one of which took 2 days to remediate. Also, the service at the restaurant (breakfast) was initally poor, but improved after I had a conversation with the asst. manager. I suspect that they have the potential to be a 4 star property in the future, but this Sofitel still has some work to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 345 in Siem Reap
1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#59 of 345 in Siem Reap
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 345 in Siem Reap
676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing