We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe Haven & Safe Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #30 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

You get what you pay for and what you may expect in a name brand. Price is on the expensive side for Siem Reap, however, it is on par with an averagehotel (e.g. Holiday Inn, Best Western) in the U.S.

The service at the front desk is great, sometimes there is live music playing in the adjacent bar and people open doors for you everywhere and greet you by name. The breakfast buffet is expensive, but quite hearty and a good splurge item. I was able to eat a big enough breakfast to hold me over until dinner time after I got back from a whole day at Angkor Wat. Awesome juices!The hotel is not too far from the main downtown and restaurant strip or the various temples of Angkor Wat by taxi or tuk tuk. However, it is not walking distance.

The pool is great and the room is fantastic. People commented quite often on the bed/pillow "firmness," but I thought it was just fine. For me, the most important aspect is cleanliness and the place is well maintained. Mini fridge, tv, bathroom were all fine and a gift of macaroons was a nice touch.

I also got a massage while I was here. It was a great massage with nice amenities (tea, cookies), but the prices are similar to what you would see in NYC. I had no complaints about the massage, but there are a ton of other places that are much cheaper and equally good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kicks_n_Bites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Angkor on TripAdvisor. I’m pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us that especially that you received such great service from our hotel ambassadors. Our service team certainly is our biggest asset and I truly believe that They make us so unique from the other hotels around. I will make sure that the team receives your kind words, they will surely be pleased. Again, thank you for staying with us and for the review, we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,429 - 2,435 of 3,551 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very confortable room, beautiful gardens, fine cuisine, lovely pool, "non commercial" young group of smiling Apsara dancers while having dinner outside during sunset, life is beautiful ! :)

M.Ducry and his staff are top class. Congratulations to all of you.

Siem Reap and surroundings deserve more than a couple of days during a tour of south-east Asia.

Marc Sprengers / Travel Writer & Photographer from Belgium

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Bonjour Mark and thank you very much for the review. It’s particularly an honor, coming from a well travelled writer, to receive such praise on your last stay, calling us “best in town”. I also particularly appreciate that you found us to be “non-commercial” as personalization and charm certainly are two of core values that guides us in our daily operations. I hope to see you back in Siem Reap very soon, and would then love to have you back staying with us – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My name is Wolfgang a world traveler from Germany!
We stayed for 4 nights at the Sofitel Ankor and really enjoyed our stay a lot!
The resort is in excellent condition the garden and pool area is really the best and offers relaxation after the tour to the tempels.
You will have a more exelent breakfast as well as a nice dinner at one of the very clean and friendly restaurants within the resort.

The overall service is shining out in partiqular - Sothearin - a servant at the restaurant was so friendly for me to think to mentione here specifically in my comments.

I can not understand the few negative comments in Trip Advisor since it really dose not reflect the atmosphere and over all service at this Hotel.
We would always stay at the Sofitel Ankor again and we will recommend it to our international friends as the best place to stay in Siem Reap!

All the best to the team

Maret and Wolfgang

Room Tip: Jedes Zimmer in diesem Hotel ist schön ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkdistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Wolfgang, Thank you for your very kind review! I have passed on your great feedback to Sothearin and the rest of the team, they were all very pleased and excited. Reviews such as your makes all our hard work worthwhile, and certainly also makes us want to aim even higher. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome both of you back to the Sofitel Angkor very soon – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon visit to Siem Reap last December and were very pleased with the place. The hotel property is beautiful and very relaxing. The staff was very accommodating and attentive, the pool was awesome (you completely forget about the city and traffic not even 200 yards away) and the food was terrific, albeit on the more expensive side. Siem Reap is in the middle of a transformation and as more travelers choose to visit the area many of the world's largest hotel chains are staking claim to the region. That being said, Siem Reap has yet to become the world class destination it very well has the potential to become and some of the prices at the Sofitel seem to reflect the end goal and not the gradual evolution to first class. Some people have written that the location is slightly far from town however a "tuk-tuk" ride will only set you back 1 to 2 USD each way and if you are touring the historic sites you are perfectly located to reach the temples. I was hesitant to give the hotel five stars only because the floors were slightly old and we were able to hear our upstairs neighbor quite well at times during our stay. I didn't find it that distracting but I can see how it might be a consideration for some travelers. Overall I would absolutely recommend the Sofitel (especially the Mango Daiquiris!) as a relaxing base of operations for exploring all that north western Cambodia has to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelB51782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing you experience at the Sofitel Angkor on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that we could provide you with a relaxing base to explore the Angkor temples and other sights from during your visit to Siem Reap. I would agree with you that Siem Reap has not yet realized its full potential, lying only moments away from the one of the wonders of the world. It certainly is a small town in development, which I personally find charming. A big thank you once again for recommending us to other travellers. I promise we will not let you down, and live up to the expectation. I do hope that you return to Siem Reap one day, in which we would love to welcome you back to the Sofitel Angkor with your favorite Mango Daiquiri J Fabrice Ducry /General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Like several other reviewers I arrived tired from the rest of the tour, and looked forward to several nights in the same place from which to visit the Angkor Wat complex. Very friendly staff, very clean and relatively modern accommodations, lovely layout, and not far from city center via tuk-tuk, a motorcycle powered jitney that subs for a taxi. Food was wonderful.

Drawbacks: The design was old enough that there was no electrical power near the bed for a CPAP machine, had to ask for a long extension cord which was immediately provided. No hot water in shower one night. Single story layout meant a walk of 240 yards (I measured) from my room to the lobby, somewhat difficult for the older members of our party, and inconvenient for returning to the room after breakfast and before leaving for the tour of the wats.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lobby and dining room if you have trouble walking long distances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Angkor on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time with us. Your comments about the power socket near the bed side table has already been shared with our owners and is now on our list of elements to improve in the room. I wish to apologize for the technical inconvenience you have experienced one night during your stay. It is feedback like yours that helps us continuously improve the quality of our services and be recognized among the best resort in South East Asia. Again, thank you for commenting about your stay and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our tour of Vietnam and Cambodia. The location is great a little way out of city centre but close to the Angkhor Wat temples. The layout is excellent with beautiful gardens and ponds and the swimming pool and surrounds are both large and well designed.

Our room was tastefully decorated, the air conditioning was quiet but effective the bed was really comfortable and the room was adequately sized. We only had breakfast but the quality and range of food was very good.

The standard of service from the staff was outstanding; they were both friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the corridor and therefore being on the corner of the building we had a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Spicegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing you experience at the Sofitel Angkor on TripAdvisor. It is always very encouraging and inspiring to read great feedback like yours, as it is a token of appreciation for everyone’s hard work. We have already put up your review on the hotel ambassador notice board for everyone to take part of. I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sofitel Angkor very soon – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a rich trip in Vietnam and Laos we reached Siem Reap for a 4 days stay really exhausted-needless to say we had flights every other day for ten days!-Checking in at the Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra was so welcoming,were surrounded by cute smiling faces most help full that relaxed us right away.The general hotel atmosphere decoration+employees +morning music player in hall let you feel that you are not a stranger but rather at home.It is really a luxurious hotel full of comfort and most concerned for the well being of its guests.Rooms spacious clean beautiful wherein everything is provided elegantly each day.The hotel emplacement is strategic in Siem Reap shopping areas,restaurants are nearby.Sincerely recommend Sofitel Angkor to travellers with comfortable budgets.It is rather not a cheap one but worth its value.Even its
food so tasteful!Our 4 days in Sofitel Angkor crowned our trip to Indochina!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are most practical to spare time reaching hotel facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for the writing a review about your stay at the Sofitel Angkor. It’s truly fantastic to hear that we could contribute in making not only your visit to Siem Reap but your entire Indochina trip such a success! I am especially pleased to hear that we made you feel at home during your stay with us, as it is exactly the feeling we aim to provide all our guests with. I really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sofitel Angkor one day – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#66 of 378 in Siem Reap
3,280 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 378 in Siem Reap
805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#48 of 378 in Siem Reap
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#26 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#26 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $157 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing