We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A short 3 days & 2 nights stay before moving on to a B&B as Sofitel was fully booked. During my recent travels, I have chosen to stay in smaller hotels / B&B. My stay at Sofitel is so refreshing as I have forgotten how it feels to stay in a 5 star resort. A high ceiling lobby welcomed us. We were served "Welcome drinks" at the bar and check in was a breeze. At the bar, I was eagerly looking out and keen to explore the beautiful property. My friend and I took a walk to the poolside, gym, spa and a little play area for the children. The jacuzzi looks so inviting but unfortunately, it was closed when we returned from dinner. The next morning, we woke up early to enjoy the sumptuous breakfast buffet after which we took a leisurely stroll at the garden surrounding the pond. It was cool and calm in the morning which felt great. We decided to take another walk before sunset to have a different feel of the garden. We had dinner at the cafe and food was good. Despite having 200+ rooms, it was never too crowded or noisy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we could not accommodate you for a longer period during your visit to Siem Reap. This month of February, coinciding with the Chinese New Year holiday, has been very hectic with many tourist wanting to come at the same time. I am delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed the luxury and peacefulness of the hotel. I have as you can imagine already share your feedback with my team and the Chef and head gardener sends you their special thanks for your kind comments. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sofitel Angkor during your next visit to Siem Reap – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,359 - 2,365 of 3,450 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights 5 days and really liked it. Would highly recommend to anyone that isn't running on budget. It's not all too pricey but still a little high compared to most hotels in the area. The staff and restaurants are really good and seeing the temples are easy as this hotel is really close. I will for sure be staying here next time I'm in Siem Reap or Phnom Penh for that matter as they also have a great Sofitel hotel there as well.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Vik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and for so kindly promoting our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we can count you as one of our “Ambassador” of choice around the world. Please let us know directly should you decide to come back our way… – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Angkor Resort 3 days as part of our group touring Angkor Wat and other temples. We were served a spectacularly varied breakfast of many Asian and non-Asian foods. The former French influence brings French croissants to their peak. The hotel is spread out around a large pond filled with lilly blossoms. The swimming pool is wonderful and not crowded. Have an Angkor beer and lunch there. Going into and out of Siam Reap is pleasant. The Angkor Arts Center is filled with local artists who sell their silk, soapstone and lacquerware products. It costs a dollar each way by tuk-tuk. The driver was kind enough to wait for us. We know things are tough in Cambodia and we were glad to help him with our fare. Again, a fine staff and professional service as you would expect from Sofitel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for the review. I am extra pleased to hear from your review that you experienced and appreciated both our French heritage (very present in the Cambodia’s history) and the best of local influences and traditions during your stay. I could also note that you were also sensitive to the Cambodian hospitality and charmed by Siem Reap and our hotel. Once again thank you for sharing with all of us your impression, the Team and look forward to welcome you back to the hotel should you decide to come back to the region. – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for three nights on a river cruising trip through Cambodia and Vietnam. The Sofitel is a large property a three dollar tuk-tuk ride from the center of Siem Reap. The property is spotless and the service immaculate. Architecturally, it feels a bit like Las Vegas goes Asian without the casino. Think Mandalay Bay but with more gracious service, better beds and quality food. The concierge was fabulous. We had a night to ourselves and asked the concierge to make a recommendation. She gave us great ideas, showed us the restaurants on the iPad at the desk and practically hopped in the tuk-tuk with us to go there!

A few other reviewers have noted the paradox of staying in a luxury resort in an area where few even have running water. While I understand that, the Sofitel was a welcome respite from the hot, dusty days visiting the temples.

Not the colonial grandeur of the Metropole in Hanoi but we loved the Sofitel in SIem Reap.

Room Tip: This is a large property. If you want to do some swimming ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upnatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the Sofitel Angkor. I am glad that we could provide the relaxation and comfort after a long day visiting the magnificent Angkor temples. As you mention, other reviewers have mentioned the contrast of a 5-star hotels in developing countries such as Cambodia.
At the Sofitel Angkor we are particularly sensitive to this topic and have set as part of our priorities our involvement in the development of the local community, often in partnership with various local NGO organizations. Some of our commitments include ongoing support of local schools and orphanages as well as a close cooperation with local farmers. Please do visit our Facebook page for more information. On a final note, I would like thank again for staying with us, we would love to welcome you back one day – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and spead out. its built horizontally covering a large area with a small lake in the middle. The lawns are well maintained, and its very nice in the rains. The setting is colonial. The service is personalised with very friendly & helpful staff. Beautiful resort setting in a historical town.

Room Tip: As a family with a toddler, we preferred a room on the ground floor - the balcony opens into the gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at the Sofitel Angkor. It truly is pleasing to read your kind feedback, as it certainly is a source of encouragement and shows we have started 2013 just as intended. Again, thank you for your review and for staying with us, we all look forward to welcoming you back – Fabrice Ducry General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I checked into Sofitel with my wife and inlaws who dreamed to visit the ancient temples of Angkor and experience the charming colonialism of Siem Reap since forever. Expectations were high but Sofitel delivered perfectly.

The resort is stunning - beautifully kept and the service impeccable. We experienced first class service all the way, extremely personalized and most memorable. The meals were excellent with a large choice for breakfast. Sreynich, Sokha at the Serpent Bar and the amazingly helpful and friendly Indian Sous Chef (whos name sadly escapes me at the moment) were a just some of the superstars who looked after us. I believe luxury is all about the attention to details and Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra really delivers. Thank you to Fabrice, Benoit and the entire service team for a truly memorable and faultless stay. Hope to return as soon as possible....

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Deluxe or Junior Suite to experience a colonial memento of decadence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clintonlovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

What can I say after reading such kind review?... A BIG thank you for sharing you experience with all the Trip Advisors readers. The pressure is on! as it builds up expectations for all guests on their way to visit us J! The hotel was many times recognized and awarded by various famous travel magazines, but all the team agreed that, that your feedback is worth every Awards as it is so rewarding to be not only recognized but appreciated for our genuine kindness and attention to details that we commit to daily. All the team members listed above as well as Chef “Sattar” thank you for their special mention. We all very much look forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was traveling solo to Cambodia for the first time and had a few qualms, but as soon as I entered the hotel, they went away. No one could have been kinder or more welcoming than Camille, and the Operations Mgr., Benoit Metanomski, went so far out of his way to help me have a wonderful stay that he quickly made the transition from hotel exec to friend. He and Camille didn't just bend over backwards; they did cartwheels and backflips. Truly. The staff was unbelievably kind and warm - from servers in the restaurants to chambermaids - they exemplified a warmth and caring that isn't just hospitality lip-service; it comes from the heart. Some rooms are nicer than others; I'd recommend the ones in the back building overlooking the lotus pond - preferably to the right of the elevator (if you're standing in the reception area, facing the back building). Those have lovely views, and the ones to the right are newer and have MUCH more effective air conditioning than the ones to the left. It's a pretty property with pleasant rooms and decent food. But truly what distinguishes the property is the quality of the staff and their deep commitment to kindness and service. Thank you, and I'll be coming back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Your kind comments on Camille and Benoit my assistant did not go unnoticed. We try to create an work environment where team members are not only engaged and attentive, but also a place where each of us are encouraged in creating a “cousu Main” service, meaning Tailor made, trying to push even further by anticipating guests needs. We are very happy to read that you were sensitive to our commitment to our guest comfort. As you can imagine, I have already shared your comments with the team… nothing better to start a day… a true source of encouragement and motivation. We all can’t wait to welcome you back very soon – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 374 in Siem Reap
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 374 in Siem Reap
3,174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $169 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing