We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feel like royalty”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

when you stay at the Sofitel Hotel in Siem Reap, you are treated like royalty. The staff are all so friendly and addommodating. The place is spotlessly clearn. The grounds are beautiful, immaculate and peaceful. The pool area is wonderful. The rooms are amazing. Truly one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in and for such a cheap price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the review and all your flattering comments! Your message means a lot to us as it is what we are committing ourselves to do for each and every guests walking through our doors. We achieved our goal! Your fantastic review is displayed on our hotel ambassador notice board for everyone to take part, it definitely gives us all a boost of encouragement and motivation. Again, thank you for staying with us, we would all love to welcome you back one day – Fabrice Ducry General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,600
    419
    73
    18
    15
See reviews for
583
1,475
153
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is one of the last hotels located on the road that goes from the city to the angkor temple complex (there is only Le Meridien after that) so its a bit away from the city center of siem reap (but then its a small city). Hypothetically you could walk out of the hotel and to restaurants & shops nearby, but after a day of temple walking, one will most likely either eat at the hotel, or need to take a tuk tuk to the city center.

The reception area is like a small arcade selling lots of souvenirs, live musicians and its a longish walk to the rooms around a big pond & the swimming pool. The rooms are in a G+2 floor building near the pool.

For the temples, the hotel concierge arranges guides @ $33 per day (our taxi offered guides @ $30, so not very different). If you take a tuk tuk from the hotel for a day (8 hrs.) its $18, and a taxi is around $55. Tuk tuk is highly recommended over a taxi if the weather is good. If you negotiate outside then you can get a taxi for around $30 per day (all these rates are for the peak season)

Breakfast is extensive & the staff is very polite and friendly. We loved the la'occitane toiletries in the room although our room had a few mosquitos which was annoying, especially since the windows in the room don't even open. The ground floor rooms have sliding doors that you can use to access the pool directly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing you experience at the Sofitel Angkor on TripAdvisor. It truly was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us earlier this year. I am glad to hear the friendliness of our “Ambassadors” and our L’Occitane amenities, could contribute in making your stay with us enjoyable. I have taken note of your feedback regarding the windows in the guest rooms, I will discuss the issue with our owners for their review. Again, thank you for your feedback, we would all love to welcome you back one day – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here. very fulfilling stay. rooms are very nice with the Cambodian touch decor. Breakfast was one of the best with varieties. The dinner at one of the restaurant was fantastic. Overall we enjoyed our stay but i feel the staff were little cold. Overall a great place to stay in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muthu6820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would call us a “Great place to stay in Siem Reap”. I, however was surprised about your comment on the service from our Ambassadors that you may have felt a little “cold”, as I very frequently hear guests praising the friendliness and charm of my team. I can personally guarantee that you will experience this, should you one day decide to return to us – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

At the airport, I was picked up by their car (you need to order this service from the hotel and it's not very cheap). Got cold water and towel to refresh myself - it's a standard in 5 star hotels, so wasn't really excited about that.

The hotel is located very close to the major Siem Reap attraction - the temples. It makes the location unbeatable. It didn't take me long time to get there.

Upon arrival the host will take care of your checking-in process, while you will be enjoying cold towel to refresh yourself. You will also get a welcome drink - ice tea.
I was taken to my room which had nice view. Loved their wooden floor. But didn't appreciate the the fact that you cannot open the window.

Bathroom, like the rest of the room, was very clean and had a shower and a bathtub.

I have booked a temples tour with them (they provide a car for $110 for 8 hours and a profesional tour guide - $33). Probably you can find a cheaper car, but it was convinient for me to use theirs (what was really cool - and actually I could see the private cars were doing the same thing - after coming back to the car after seeing temples, I was getting cold water and a towel. During hot months you will really appreciate it).

I had some food in their restaurant and I wasn't impressed. First time I had deep fried spring rolls with pork (for my taste, they shouldn't put glss noodles inside just to fill up the space), tom yum soup (was actually good) and amok - Khmer fish. At least in their menu was written it's fish, but in fact it's a fish cake. It was nice, but I didn't appreciate the fact that I didn't get what I was looking for (a fish - without a cake...) I also had a glass of white house wine which was good.

Second time I had a quick lunch - greek style salad and club sandwich. Wasn't impressed again. It was just ok.

But what I didn't like during my visits in their restaurant, was service. Not that it was horrible, but it took them some time to bring me my food (even if it wasn't busy). Plus, I had to remind them about wine and water I have ordered. In 5 star places I would expect more.

I also booked a SPA visit which I highly recommend. Their SPA menu is quite big and everyone will find something to suit their taste.

They also have large swimming pool and the outdoor bar (you can have your drink while in the water). I've seen many people swimming, but I didn't, so not sure if the experience is nice or not.

I would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Angkor on TripAdvisor. Comments such as yours are very important to us as it is a tool that helps us moving forward and review our processes. As you can imagine, all the operations team and I are back on our drawing boards to review where they may have failed in creating “Magnifique” experiences. Despite the few minor shortfalls, I am happy that your overall experience was positive, and that you would not hesitate to give us a another opportunity to demonstrate our “savoir faire”. We all look forward to that day… – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Really enjoyed the Sofitel. Was upgraded to the Prestige Suite- Large and roomy. Free internet service.Lovely happy service from all. Large hotel with a gorgeous pool and water features throughout the grounds. Good Location. Very good food. Excellent nightly cultural dances. If you dont want to spend $35 for a buffet just order al a carte and you can still enjoy the dancing.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you the review and your kind comments about your stay at the Sofitel Angkor. Though we had the pleasure to receive several comments about guests stay in the past few days, I do take great pride in responding to each of them with the same enthusiasm. Positive comments such as yours a key element of motivation for my team as it make us feel proud and happy that all our efforts do not go unnoticed. I will make sure to pass on your feedback to the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Siem Reap – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two college-aged children and had a great stay. The hotel is sprawling, built around a lovely pond and spacious pool. The grounds are lovely and the hotel has a welcoming feel upon arrival. The staff was charming and helpful and made us feel right at home. This hotel is a five star for the area it is situated in, it might not compare to a five star in Bangkok or Singapore, but for Cambodia, it is top-notch. (Until the early 1990's, this country was considered a war-torn country. The progress this country has made is amazing.) The breakfast buffet was wonderful, with a good choice of asian and western food choices. The pool bar was the only negative, a beer was $8 US dollars! The rooms were extremely comfortable, we had a first floor room, facing the pool with a covered deck and two deck chairs. There was a small computer room, I was able to check in for our return flight and print off boarding passes. This hotel was about a 10 minute tuk tuk ride into town (night market and Pub Street) and is between town and Angkor Wat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigo10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing you experience at Sofitel Angkor on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and certainly pleased that you find us a good choice for hotel in Siem Reap. I also take your comments with regards to the pricing for beer at the pool seriously and will personally review it with my F&B Manager. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A beautiful resort hotel, with gorgeous grounds. The room was comfortable, with L'Occtaine amenities. The breakfast was delicious, with lots of choices. It was great to have a pool to relax and cool off in after a very HOT morning at Angor Wat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwaldbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at the Sofitel Angkor. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that we could provide a little oasis to relax and cool down after a warm day roaming the Angkor temples. We all very much look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Siem Reap – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 344 in Siem Reap
1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#60 of 344 in Siem Reap
2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 344 in Siem Reap
673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing