We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Tranquil Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel for 7 nights. The staff were helpful, and polite. We were given a welcome drink and cold towels upon arrival which was nice after the heat, while they checked us in. The check in process was slow, it was really a case of only 1 thing at a time, but after we stayed for a few days and went around town, we realised this was the norm, everyone runs on Cambodian Time.
We stayed in a Junior Suite room 511 which was a fabulous room, very spacious with walk in robe, bath tub, and a lounge room with 2nd TV, and a dressing table in the wardrobe area. Everything was very clean and immaculate. The welcome fruit basket was yummy. Although slow the staff are very thorough. Every night we received a gift with the turn down such as a Khmer scarf, spices etc.. which was a nice touch. The only thing I did not like was the room above us I think it must be room 611, had someone staying there who really walked like an elephant, very heavy stomping, which was annoying at times but nothing serious.

The pool was fantastic, go mid morning as it is the quietest then, afternoons can get busy. The pond and gardens were beautiful to walk around in after the heat from templing and town.
The buffet breakfast was very good. It was a nice selection and very good quality, but not too much variety like in Thailand or Fiji or Australia. BUT then we went to the Le Meridien next door to check out their breakfast and it was really bad. The food was messy as they had a very small area with hordes of people jostling and diving in, guys it's a holiday not an eat fest! And the rice and noodles were hard and chewey like rubber, the only good things there were the yoghurt and juices only. The buffet dinner had great food, and the Apsara dance show was pretty good.

My sister stayed in a standard room overlooking the pool and she was very happy. We enjoyed walking around the grounds and it was a welcome respite from templing and crowds, to have some space and quiet to yourself. The cocktails and coconuts by the pool were great, the cocktails were $AUD 6!

We hired the tuk tuk driver from the hotel. It was a bit expensive comparatively at $18 per day, extra $7 for sun rise or to go to Banteay Srei, but the driver knows his stuff, and all the roads and locations of all the spas, restaurants etc. He was professional and I guess if we had any problems we can report back to the hotel. Twice we flagged down a tuk tuk on the road outside the hotel to go to Frangipani Spa, and also once to go back to the Hotel from town, and we ended up directing the drivers as they did not know! One did not speak any English at all, but he was very poor from the way he was dressed so I gave him a tip just the same. But yes I had to direct him, and me a female, I thought I did a pretty good job!

We tried Le Spa as well at the Hotel. We all had the Indian Head Massage with Oil, and it was not good. The therapists kept asking us personal questions during the treatment, I could not relax, and just vege out. Where are you from, what do you do etc...It was not very professional. Also the massage itself was not good. My head was being scratched with very light strokes, and when she did put pressure on it was on my bones, not on muscles so it hurt. My husband had the same experience. My sister said hers wasn't as bad. However the atmosphere was very quiet and peaceful with the sounds of water etc, but the treatment itself I did not enjoy. I think for the same price you can try both Frangipani and Bodia spas.

Room Tip: The junior suite was worth the money but the standard rooms are also very nice. Book months in advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and your kind comments about the service and facilities. Our culinary brigade will be delighted to hear your praise about the quality of food. Furthermore, we appreciate that you pointed out some concerns with the Indian Head Massage. Our newly appointed Spa Manager is currently working on a new massage offer and will take your valid comments into account. It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back … soon. Fabrice Ducry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,568 - 2,574 of 3,446 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

This hotel was first class all the way, 5 stars plus ! The rooms were comfortable and immaculate, bathroom facilities-modern and luxurious. The food was excellent. The grounds were truly beautiful. We especially enjoyed the outdoor barbeque and entertainment. We have stayed in many Sofitels, not all were acceptable but most were very nice...This property beat them all. I highly recommend this hotel during your stay in Cambodia

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Excellent service, besides the fact that we arrived almost 19:00 and the room was not ready...We had to wait for 1 hour...
The room is really confortable but it needs a renovation, looks tired..
Good spa, amazing garden, pool and lobby.
The staff is really well trained and welcoming!!!!!! The concierge team was fantastic and really made things easier for us!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDUDUSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at this very good Sofitel during our tour in Cambodia at the end of Dec and enjoyed New Years Eve Gala dinner around the swimming pool. Hotel is well located, close to temples (with tuk tuks you can get anywhere in 5 - 15 min). We loved the style of the hotel infrastructure (not high building), gardens and the large swimming pool. Rooms and facilities are 5*. We enjoyed a deluxe room on 3rd level with view on swimming pool. Extra bed for our daughter was comfortable. Nice bathroom. Relaxing atmosphere. In between the am and pm temple visits, we enjoyed a long lunch break with lunch around the pool. Nice food at reasonable prices.
Breakfast buffet is very good (warm and cold, also asian). Dinners at hotel were good, but there were some coordination problems with the kitchen (timing of dishes....).
Buffet dinner with traditional dance is good if you want to enjoy the dancing. Buffet is not spectacular however, but show is nice. Staff at live cooking stations hardly spoke English.
Staff is very friendly. 'Bonjour, Bonsoir ' but no further French.
Very good service of the concierge team. Visal arranged our temple tours and guide and booked a restaurant for us (Cuisine Wat Damnak => very nice)
We would certainly return to this hotel and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: we were very happy with room 325 on 3rd level with view on swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cvhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and your kind comments about the facilities, the service and the food. Furthermore, we appreciate that you pointed out some concerns about the Asian buffet. Such feedback enable us to consistently re-evaluate our product and services. We will rotate our “Ambassadors” of the live cooking station to ensure English is spoken. It has been a pleasure having you stay with us over the holiday season and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Fabrice Ducry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Lovely property. Huge reception area and the welcome was nice. Concierge and staff was very helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable. Both living room and bedroom both has a walkout patio door to the grass area and pool. In-house coffee machine to make espresso, latte or cappuccino with Lavazza coffee (great touch). A bottle of Tattinger on the coffee table as a welcome gift was also a wonderful touch.

The negative is the large property that the Sofitel occupied so it is quite lack in charm and personal feel. You really have to walk quite a bit from place to place... ie. room to lobby and to dinning. The breakfast and dinner buffett selections were quite poor especially for a Sofitel chain hotel. This really was the difference from a good resort to the better one but will stay again none the less.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tristan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor. Whilst we are in the process of further upgrading the hotel with modern features, it is our aim to preserve the lush gardens and colonial aspects. Please note that our Executive Chef is currently re-working our offerings in all our restaurants… I had the pleasure to do some food tasting and it is a true delight :) . Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Fabrice Ducry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We moved here after staying at The Victoria. This hotel is further away form town large and impersonal. The service from the reception and concierge was excellent however it lacks any kind of charm. The breakfast was very adequate.

I think there ate much better places to stay in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

A wonderful hotel to stay at whilst in Siem Reap. Located between the temples and the town, it is an absolute haven of tranquillity to return to after trips out and about. Staff are exceptional and make your stay a delightful experience. Pool and gardens are gorgeous. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough - we stayed for 14 nights (!!) and even then it was a wrench to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmandSime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 373 in Siem Reap
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 373 in Siem Reap
3,174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 373 in Siem Reap
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $169 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing