We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comforts of a western hotel in a charming setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #17 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comforts of a western hotel in a charming setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Good quality service as one would expect in a Sofitel, charming rooms, beautiful grounds, superb swimming pool and great buffet breakfast. Perfect place to relax after having spent a day "climbing" 6 or 7 temples.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank philosopherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,458
    405
    73
    18
    14
See reviews for
552
1,398
152
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

This Sofitel is very charming. I like it a lot. Spacious rooms, very clean, nice pool area, nice bar, breakfast is great value with everything you might imagine. Staff is very helpful and friendly. This place is in between downtown and the temple area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroundtheglobe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

I panned the last Sofitel I stayed at - the miserable Sydney Wentworth - but not this one. The Sofitel Angkor is a beautiful property, the staff are (mostly) fantastic and best of all, the bed was great, unlike the disastrous travesty that passed for a Sofitel "My Bed" in Sydney. On arrival, you're struck by the gracious way each staff member gives you the traditional Cambodian greeting of a bow with hands brought together at chest level. Believe me, this is so totally disarming that you can't help be charmed, even if you have a complaint, which we had cause to do so only once. Service levels generally are fantastic, the rooms are spacious and practical and the food great. The breakfast buffet is especially impressive, with a myriad of fresh fruit cut up before you, great fresh juices and a vast array of European and Asian dishes. The French colonial veranda setting is also spectacular, if you choose to be outside under the whirring fans surrounded by the intense greenery of a tropical garden. In the centre of the property is a sizeable lake with beautiful reflections of the surrounding trees. And the pool area is also impressive, as is the spa, which Madam returned from literally reeling after a three hour massage and pineapple wrap ( Huh?) The one downside in Siem Reap generally is the constant battle against mosquitoes, which deterred us from making full use of our spacious balcony facing a waterlily moat. But the rest of the room couldn't be faulted and especially the bed, in which we slept like babies. The only trouble we had was with internet connection, something that is no longer a luxury and that hotels ignore at their peril. It shouldn't be an issue but at the Sofitel Angkor it was. Frankly, I find paying for a hotel internet connection nowadays irritating. But if that connection is uncertain, that irritation soon turns to annoyance. Each time I paid for a login, the connection would drop out after a couple of minutes. I got the resident "IT expert" around and he couldn't maintain a connection on my computer either. I'd been using it at other hotels with no problem in the proceeding weeks so there was nothing wrong with the laptop. So I was angered when after a good half hour of messing around in the room trying in vain to fix the problem, this guy said there was nothing wrong with the hotel system and wanted to take my computer away to have a look. No way Jose. All this meant I wasn't able to have the usual internet contact, which is just not good enough for a five star property. Making a connection every time but that connection dropping out every time is the system, buddy, so why not acknowledge the problem. Yet this was a minor irritation in an overall experience that was extremely pleasant. You go to Siem Reap to see the Angkor ruins and this is the perfect place for a base. Those ruins of the Khmer civilisation are amazing, up there with other world heritage sites we've seen in Jordan, Egypt and Mexico. The advice to go either early or late is wise. The middle of the day isn't just crowded but unpleasantly warm. And expect to be besieged at the entrances by an army of insistent kids selling postcards and other tourist paraphernalia. At the end of it all, you can go back to the Sofitel and relax or check out the rest of Siem Reap, a pleasant though unremarkable riverside town with a smattering of good bars and restaurants. There's a lovely young English girl right now by the name of Zoe Jones singing in the Sofitel lounge. She has a heavenly voice, a brilliant repertoire and, we'll wager, a big future ahead of her. It was world class entertainment in the most unlikely setting of rural Cambodia. Well done, Sofitel, just for that.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talanoaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Great Hotel with short ride to the town. US 5 takes you to the Pub-street by tuck tuck. The Hotel has a great outdoor area and pool and the rooms are very nice with lots of space. .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

A great hotel with lovely staff and well positioned for Visiting Angkor Wat. Good for shopping, try the Bazaar Angkor, come out of the hotel turn right and its a 10 minute walk on the same side. Really good selection of silks etc. Owners lovely and fluent in English but you have to negotiate the price a lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelcarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
629 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

From the moment we stepped into this hotel we were pampered. The staff were very fiendly and wanting to be of service. All public areas have this very nice fragrance, every time we came back to the hotel and smelt the fragrance it was like we are home.
My friend took ill while we were there and everybody in the hotel showed concern. The doctor who visited was very good and the hotel took good care. The ambience is beautiful and the food good. The breakfast buffett is well laid and made special by the attentive servers.
Every night the hotel would leave a small gift with the turn down service which fely nice and am sure all guests appreciate this gesture.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestarholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.0 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#53 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#38 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing