We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Khmer Taste

Khmer Taste
Ranked #171 of 898 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Cuisines: Cambodian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mississauge
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by our guesthouse as a really good place for Khmer comfort food place to eat. It's location is convenient, very close to Pub Street. The service is prompt and welcoming. The quality of the food was excellent. My favourite was the pumpkin soup! It was so good, I made a return visit just for the soup. The prices are very reasonable. Definitely a good find!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    97
    49
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Malacca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Money worth dinner”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I order 1 person BBQ at USD8.50. The waiter was friendly and helpful. I able to change my default 5 meat to other meat. A bowl of steam rice , vegetable and spaghetti were served together with the BBQ.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing special”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited here this evening just as a power cut hit. The staff were pretty efficient at getting the candles out and business as usual.

We had the Khmer BBQ for 2 at $15.50 which to be honest is half decent value. Beer slightly more expensive at $2 a glass for draft which is frankly expensive.

The meal it self was OK at best the soup in the BBQ was pretty tasteless and we had to stop them from topping it up, hoping that by reducing it there may be some flavour. Unfortunately not.

The BBQ was cooked on an individual gas hob that was brought to the table, If I am honest I think this is where the flavour lacked. We tried this a few nights ago where proper charcoal pots were used and it was much tastier.


So all in all an ok meal but much better out there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mad_Man_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Entertaining, delicious and fun for the whole family!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We went here because we asked for Cambodian BBQ and our tuk tuk driver took us! We ordered the combination plates which included beef, chicken, pork, shrimp and our new favorite, crocodile! You actually cook it at your table yourself! My picky 11 year old took control and started orchestrating our meal! Fun and delicious food was had by all! Very authentic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daltxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“5 course meat dish for $ 15 per two to share.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Down a little alley in the heart of the bustling city of Siem Reap, it is difficult to choose between the array of restaurants side by side.

Expensively priced for Siem Reap, but you get the novelty of having your own gas cooker and eating crocodile.

Beef, pork, squid, chicken and crocodile are delivered in hand woven bamboo baskets, decorated with banana leaves. They gas up your little oven, boiling vegetables and noodles around the rim and frying your meat dishes for you, as you tuck away with chopsticks, while many people walk by your table with the hunger of envy.

Worth the experience, good quality food and plenty of it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quintin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khmer Taste also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Khmer Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing